Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

swm not detected- new install


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pataphysical

pataphysical

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:03 PM

I am installing a Au9 swm5 dish for a single h25 700 receiver. the previous dish was a pre slimline so removed it and installed new one, Im using the exsisting coax into the house( it was working with the previous dish up until a few days ago) I plugged that into the power inserter and then ran a coax from the power inserter to the receiver and when I turned it on it wasnt working. I ran the system test and it says the swm not detected. Just curious if anyone has advice on this

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,228 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 November 2012 - 09:23 PM

The coax, did it go directly from dish to receiver before, or through a multiswitch of some type? Also, confirm you got the two connections on the PI correct and not reversed.

#3 OFFLINE   pataphysical

pataphysical

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 10 November 2012 - 06:54 AM

it was directly hooked up before, I had 2 wires coming out of the lnb( I was hooking this up at sunset so am going to double check I hooked up the right one today, I am pretty sure I did since one was silver and one bronze) I dont think this would cause this error but I do need to double check my azim and elevation today

#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,814 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 November 2012 - 07:52 AM

If the receiver was already plugged in when you attached the coax it can cause this problem.
Try unplugging the power to the receiver, wait a minute and then plug the power in again.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,066 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 10 November 2012 - 08:37 AM

Are you certain the lnb is a swm type?

#6 OFFLINE   pataphysical

pataphysical

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 10 November 2012 - 09:39 AM

Figured out what was going on- turns out the coax I hooked up was the one that ran to the bedroom originally( for some reason the coax that is the living room has a brass colored end on it), now Im trying to set the azimuth with my compass app on my phone and keep getting a different reading every time I try

#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,814 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 November 2012 - 10:28 AM

Start about 10 to 15 degrees too far to the east and slowly rotate it to the west until the 101 lights up on the TV screen.
Give it a few seconds each stop to let it pick up the signal.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...