Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Questions on new installation of Genie


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SueG10

SueG10

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2012

Posted 10 November 2012 - 08:01 PM

Hi. We currently have Dish (since 2007) - with a receiver DVR that records 2 programs at once and connects to 2 TV's - but the box only gives one TV HD & the other is in SD - so then we are wasting a HD TV and seeing poor quality. We have an extra Hd box for a 3rd TV - but it doesn't have a DVR which I would like to have for the pause/rewind feature and skip the commercials feature! Instead of switching to their Hopper so we can get HD and DVR on all TV's and because we now have another son that moved back home and he is a sports (football) fan , we are thinking about switching to Direct TV with the Genie and 2 mini genie. I don't like change - or opening an "can of worms" so I have a lot of questions.

1. Will Directv want to rewire the house or use what Dish has in place???
2. The mini genie - they will provide HD to all TV's ? ??? (if the program is transmitted in HD of course)
3. We will be able to use all 3 tv's at the same time to watch 3 different live programs - right? Because I have seen a commerial and read something about going from room to room in your house and flipping on the tvs as you go and watching the same show on each TV - picking up from where you left off.
4. Will Dish want their Dish back? Or can we ask the new installer to remove it for us?
Thanks for any responses!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 November 2012 - 08:20 PM

Hi. We currently have Dish (since 2007) - with a receiver DVR that records 2 programs at once and connects to 2 TV's - but the box only gives one TV HD & the other is in SD - so then we are wasting a HD TV and seeing poor quality. We have an extra Hd box for a 3rd TV - but it doesn't have a DVR which I would like to have for the pause/rewind feature and skip the commercials feature! Instead of switching to their Hopper so we can get HD and DVR on all TV's and because we now have another son that moved back home and he is a sports (football) fan , we are thinking about switching to Direct TV with the Genie and 2 mini genie. I don't like change - or opening an "can of worms" so I have a lot of questions.

1. Will Directv want to rewire the house or use what Dish has in place???

That will depend on how / what the tech finds when he arrives at the location.

2. The mini genie - they will provide HD to all TV's ? ??? (if the program is transmitted in HD of course)

One client for each TV for HD TV. The Genie is the HR34 HDDVR.

3. We will be able to use all 3 tv's at the same time to watch 3 different live programs - right? Because I have seen a commerial and read something about going from room to room in your house and flipping on the tvs as you go and watching the same show on each TV - picking up from where you left off.

The HR34 ( Genie ) has 5 tuners.
The Whole Home feature is the last thing you described. If you start watching a movie in one room you can stop it ( not pause like the commercial says ) and resume playing it in any of the other rooms.

4. Will Dish want their Dish back? Or can we ask the new installer to remove it for us?

The DTV tech will not take down you old dish. You must do that. It is recommended that you leave the base plate in place so that you do not leave holes in the roof. I have done this with 2 old dishes that I had on my roof.

Thanks for any responses!


Others will also give thir opinion. Good luck.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,196 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 November 2012 - 08:22 PM

Welcome to DBSTalk!

1.) Probably
2.) Yes.
3.) Yes
4.) Couldn't say! If the installer is willing to remove it, I'd be inclined to do so for aesthetic reasons.

Best of luck!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 November 2012 - 08:34 PM

The HR34 ( Genie ) has 5 tuners.
The Whole Home feature is the last thing you described. If you start watching a movie in one room you can stop it ( not pause like the commercial says ) and resume playing it in any of the other rooms.
Others will also give their opinion. Good luck.

The clients seem to be a bit closer to the ad, than the DVR/receivers were.
If a client tunes to the same channel as the Genie is on, the client has access to the live buffer of the Genie, which then pops up with a message about <<< to start over from the beginning.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   SueG10

SueG10

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2012

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:03 AM

Well the tech was supposed to get here yesterday between 2 & 4 - no show! After multiple phone calls he finally arrived around 5:30 pm - pitch dark outside! Tech said there were a lot of angry customers because Directv overbooked installs! Anyway - even though the order person told me that tech would remove my DISH and replace with the new Directv dish - tech said he couldn't touch it! My Dish is attached to the outside wall of the house by a bracket (near the roof line) - but he said he can't do that type of install - the new dish will be too heavy??? He insisted that he will have to mount to the roof? So now we will have leaks when it rains??? There really is no way to wall mount these things??Anyway he then said the supervisors were telling them to stop installs because it was dark and unsafe but since he had already started he could finish mine but he told me it wouldn't be done right - would be sloppy (his words) and not grounded! But that as long as I signed off - he wouldn't be responsible!! I said STOP. They can't set new apt. now until Tuesday.

#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:15 AM

Well the tech was supposed to get here yesterday between 2 & 4 - no show! After multiple phone calls he finally arrived around 5:30 pm - pitch dark outside! Tech said there were a lot of angry customers because Directv overbooked installs! Anyway - even though the order person told me that tech would remove my DISH and replace with the new Directv dish - tech said he couldn't touch it! My Dish is attached to the outside wall of the house by a bracket (near the roof line) - but he said he can't do that type of install - the new dish will be too heavy??? He insisted that he will have to mount to the roof? So now we will have leaks when it rains??? There really is no way to wall mount these things??Anyway he then said the supervisors were telling them to stop installs because it was dark and unsafe but since he had already started he could finish mine but he told me it wouldn't be done right - would be sloppy (his words) and not grounded! But that as long as I signed off - he wouldn't be responsible!! I said STOP. They can't set new apt. now until Tuesday.


I would have thought you would be first on the next work day because you are already started.

As for the leak, I doubt if you will have a leak. They have a custom made pad / seal / gasket that goes under the mounting foot plate and it seals it really well. I have had 2 on my roof for about 6 years now and no leaks.

I have had techs out 3 times for installs / upgrades and once I got a bad tech that I had to make leave the property. The supervisor came out the next day and saw what he had done. He apologized for it and sent another tech. He was very good as were the other 2.

Sorry you have had a bad experience.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:19 AM

Irritating as it is, setting a new appointment to get it done right is the smart move. Letting an installer do a half-baked install is just asking for problems down the road.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#8 OFFLINE   SueG10

SueG10

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2012

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:31 AM

The installer seemed upset that he wasn't getting off at regular time. When he finally called me (After I called DirecTV to ask what happened to my 2 - 4pm install) he said he had just been given our install because someone else was too busy to handle it, was still at another job, it would be at least 45 min before he could get to our house (6 pm) and that DirecTV had overbooked. He tried to get me then to reschedule - for whatever the next day was that was available - not today! I told him I had scheduled my whole day around this - and had to have it done on a weekend when I am off work. Is it normal for them to install systems in the dark?

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 December 2012 - 11:00 AM

The installer seemed upset that he wasn't getting off at regular time. When he finally called me (After I called DirecTV to ask what happened to my 2 - 4pm install) he said he had just been given our install because someone else was too busy to handle it, was still at another job, it would be at least 45 min before he could get to our house (6 pm) and that DirecTV had overbooked. He tried to get me then to reschedule - for whatever the next day was that was available - not today! I told him I had scheduled my whole day around this - and had to have it done on a weekend when I am off work. Is it normal for them to install systems in the dark?

I can see both sides of this and am sympathetic to both of them.

It's very hard to know how long a job is going to take, so I ALWAYS go for an early appointment, so the schedule hasn't been delayed that long.

If the 9 AM turns out to be 11 AM, it's still going to be done.

The 2-4 PM window is just too risky for a full install. I've had a receiver install turn out to be at 6 or 7 PM, but as it was inside, the installer was still trying to meet his appointments and as it turned out still had another he had to go to after mine.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,196 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 02 December 2012 - 11:50 AM

Regret your experience, but this can happen with all manner of installs of just about anything.

A roof install should be no problem with leaks when done right. Mine is in its third location on the roof (long story, one of which was a new roof) and there have been no leaks.

Sorry you were expecting the old dish to be removed, but it's really up to the installer.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 OFFLINE   i3rown

i3rown

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 05 December 2012 - 12:10 AM

I can see both sides of this and am sympathetic to both of them.

It's very hard to know how long a job is going to take, so I ALWAYS go for an early appointment, so the schedule hasn't been delayed that long.

If the 9 AM turns out to be 11 AM, it's still going to be done.

The 2-4 PM window is just too risky for a full install. I've had a receiver install turn out to be at 6 or 7 PM, but as it was inside, the installer was still trying to meet his appointments and as it turned out still had another he had to go to after mine.


8-12 12-4 4-8 (but 4-8 is closed typically this time of the year)

I would suggest 12-4 if you haven't heard anything by 1 call dispatch if they aren't gonna a there by 230 .. Reschedule

#12 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:24 PM

8-12 12-4 4-8 (but 4-8 is closed typically this time of the year)

I would suggest 12-4 if you haven't heard anything by 1 call dispatch if they aren't gonna a there by 230 .. Reschedule


I had my install done on a 4-8. Installer didn't leave until 10:00 PM, and that was with me helping.
LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, H25, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, H25, Xbox 360.

Bonus: 73" mitsubishi 73742, HR24, SnapAV HDMI balun

#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,672 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:40 PM

working in the dark is up to the installer, as they cannot be force to work due to safety concerns.

#14 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:59 PM

darkness makes no diff to me, i have two HID spot lights that turn darkness into daylight.

No one sees the problem with a wall mount and bracing????? I always choose siding mount with osb behind over the roof anyday.

Why was he told there is no such thing as a sidewall mount?
Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's




Protected By... spam firewall...And...