Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Question about whole home DVR


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:33 AM

You do need a PI in that case though too to go along with the DECA.

- Merg


Why would you need a PI for a DECA?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,853 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:48 AM

Why would you need a PI for a DECA?


If you are using a DECA as a network interface, it is not connected to, and therefore not powered by, a DVR. Thus the need for a PI.

#23 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:26 AM

Wireless is subject to noise, interference, reflections, harmonics, etc so any way it's spun it's still inferior to a good hard wired connection.


Yes, it is inferior to a good hard wired connection, but in many cases it is much more than good enough. I'm all wireless for my entire network and everything I want to do works just fine.

Streaming, VOD and such all work fine, even the HD stream from Netflix.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#24 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 16 November 2012 - 01:09 AM

Yes, it is inferior to a good hard wired connection, but in many cases it is much more than good enough. I'm all wireless for my entire network and everything I want to do works just fine.

Streaming, VOD and such all work fine, even the HD stream from Netflix.


Totally agree, but all it takes is one new "electrically noisy" neighbor, etc. and that can change in the blink of an eye. All I'm really saying is that it sounds like he has the easy opportunity to use wired, so there's no real reason why he, in his situation, shouldn't.

Edited by harperhometheater, 16 November 2012 - 01:30 PM.

HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations




spam firewall