Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can Two TVs Share one C31?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jerry in OC MD

Jerry in OC MD

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:33 AM

Having DirecTv installed on Tuesday, and I totally forgot about one of the (way too many) TVs in our house. I only ordered 4 Genie Clients, and I want to avoid another $6 a month for one of the TV's that we rarely use. Is it possible for two TV's to share a single C31 receiver? I know that both TV's would have to watch the same thing, but that's just fine with me. Thanks for your suggestions.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:08 PM

Yes. But you'll need resolve HDMI signal distribution.
It would require HDMI splitter and another probably LONG HDMI cable to other room.

#3 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:18 PM

Yes it can drive 2TVs but we need more info. What type of TVs are they, SD, HD, inputs? How far apart? You can do multiple things such as HDMI splitter, get the dongle for the round multi out connector (component or composite) and use that and the HDMI together, Slingbox with a slingplayer capable device (WD TV Live, Boxee, GoogleTV, Slingcatcher (I'm selling one BTW), etc.

Once there's more info then your choices can be narrowed down.
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:24 PM

Yes, all the outputs are active at the same time. Get a component adapter and run component to the closer tv and HDMI to the other, if it is less than 50 cable feet away.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 November 2012 - 03:14 PM

HDMI splitter is more desired:
- digital signals
- no degradation
- one cable for video and audio
- length of cable could be 50' without using other components




spam firewall