Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Moving to different state


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   siciliansatman

siciliansatman

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2012

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:15 PM

When you move and change states, can you just change the zip code on your set up screen and adjust your dish accordingly so it can pick up the new spot beams and local channels or do I have to call Dish Network and then have them resend some kind of signal to my new location?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:33 PM

You need to change your service address, you can call dish, use chat when signed onto your MyDish account site or PM a DIRT member on this site to do it. Changing your zip on the setup screen will only give you the dish settings needed to aim your dish.

#3 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,845 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:42 PM

Deja vu - http://www.dbstalk.c...582#post3128582
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   siciliansatman

siciliansatman

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2012

Posted 11 November 2012 - 04:52 PM

Thanks guys

#5 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 587 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 12 November 2012 - 05:44 AM

The Dish Movers program is pretty nice. Why not call them and have them put up a new Dish for you?

#6 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:39 PM

Actually, unless you're already a Snowbird, you'll be required to have a tech out to install you when you move before Dish will change the address.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#7 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:36 PM

Actually, unless you're already a Snowbird, you'll be required to have a tech out to install you when you move before Dish will change the address.


NOT true!

#8 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:00 PM

NOT true!


Yes, true.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#9 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:49 PM

Yes, true.


Certainly not true. I've installed my own system at a few locations and never has Dish shown up to verify the address.

#10 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 03:27 PM

Thank you, Garys!

#11 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,920 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 November 2012 - 07:10 PM

Yes, true.

Since when? I did my own Dish Move in 2006. Has the rules changed since then?
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#12 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:25 AM

Then you've had agents do the wrong thing. Dish requires a professional install. For one thing, there's no guarantee your equipment's gonna work on that old crap someone left behind. Yes, the rules have changed in 6 years.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#13 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:45 AM

NOT TRUE, period. If you have an account now with Dish, you can install your own Dish, receiver, whatever at another address, simply call to change to that address while you are there.

I think Dishmover is being confused, yes to actually use Dishmover Dish wants to do the install, but of course they would, that is what Dishmover is. You don't have to use Dishmover.

#14 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:55 AM

NOT TRUE, period. If you have an account now with Dish, you can install your own Dish, receiver, whatever at another address, simply call to change to that address while you are there.

I think Dishmover is being confused, yes to actually use Dishmover Dish wants to do the install, but of course they would, that is what Dishmover is. You don't have to use Dishmover.


You do have to use Dish mover, period.
The only people who can move service without a mover are the RV/Snowbird users, everyone else HAS to use Dish mover according to Dish's ruls and regulations.

If customers are not snowbird/RV users and are moving services without the Dish Mover promotion the agent who set up the address changes is literally breaking more rules then you can count on one hand.

#15 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:17 AM

You are wrong, I can't say it any clearer. I did, my Father did it, I see posts all the time (in the other forum) of people who do EXACTLY that. They have a vacation home, install their own Dish, take their receiver with them. Call dish to make it legal, and to get the locals from that area. You do not have to use Dishmover unless you want Dish to pay for the install. The ONLY requirements Dish has is that all receivers be at the same residence so you are supposed to take all of them, and you must notify Dish when that equipment is at your vacation home.

So now, show me that rule please in the customer agreement.

"Physical Address/Change of Address. When setting up your DISH Network account, you must provide us with
the physical address where your Equipment will be located and your Services will be provided. A post office box does
not meet this requirement. You must give us immediate notice of any change of name, mailing address, telephone
number, or physical address where your Equipment is located. You may do this by notifying our customer service center
by telephone or in writing at the phone number, mailing address, or e-mail address set forth at the top of this Agreement
."

We do allow customers to take the receivers with them to vacation homes (known as snowbirds). The catch is that they have to take ALL of their receivers with them, and call to have the address updated every time they do so (you can have the dish permanently installed at the vaca home). What we do not allow is for the receivers to constantly be at the separate locations, as this violates terms in our residential customer agreement. The 1000.2 is what I would recommend.


Edited by tampa8, 14 November 2012 - 11:41 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:42 AM

Dish Mover is not, and never has been required to change addresses.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#17 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:51 AM

You are wrong, I can't say it any clearer. I did, my Father did it, I see posts all the time (in the other forum) of people who do EXACTLY that. They have a vacation home, install their own Dish, take their receiver with them. Call dish to make it legal, and to get the locals from that area. You do not have to use Dishmover unless you want Dish to pay for the install. The ONLY requirements Dish has is that all receivers be at the same residence so you are supposed to take all of them, and you must notify Dish when that equipment is at your vacation home.

So now, show me that rule please in the customer agreement.

"Physical Address/Change of Address. When setting up your DISH Network account, you must provide us with
the physical address where your Equipment will be located and your Services will be provided. A post office box does
not meet this requirement. You must give us immediate notice of any change of name, mailing address, telephone
number, or physical address where your Equipment is located. You may do this by notifying our customer service center
by telephone or in writing at the phone number, mailing address, or e-mail address set forth at the top of this Agreement
."


lol ok using anecdotal evidence to prove a point to people who work/have worked for Dish.
Thats a good one.

Im not saying its impossible.
Im saying its against the rules :)

#18 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:10 PM

And I'm saying it is not against the rules, you have yet to show us anything to contrary. I showed you more than anecdotal evidence, I showed you the passage that applies in the service agreement. Unless you can show me something in the agreement that says you must use dishmover you continue to be wrong.
And while somewhat anecdotal, if it was really a policy I find it hard to believe that many people have done it with no problem.

CSR's work for Dish, they are wrong all the time. So working for Dish does not indicate to me someone is correct. (Except DIRT members who are correct far more often than wrong) If there is some kind of poicy it certainly is not enforced, but in all these years well over 10 that I have been on the forms and have had Dish never have I seen a post or heard of anyone being forced to use Dishmover, unless they want the install for free.

Edited by tampa8, 14 November 2012 - 12:17 PM.


#19 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:09 PM

And I'm saying it is not against the rules, you have yet to show us anything to contrary. I showed you more than anecdotal evidence, I showed you the passage that applies in the service agreement. Unless you can show me something in the agreement that says you must use dishmover you continue to be wrong.
And while somewhat anecdotal, if it was really a policy I find it hard to believe that many people have done it with no problem.

CSR's work for Dish, they are wrong all the time. So working for Dish does not indicate to me someone is correct. (Except DIRT members who are correct far more often than wrong) If there is some kind of poicy it certainly is not enforced, but in all these years well over 10 that I have been on the forms and have had Dish never have I seen a post or heard of anyone being forced to use Dishmover, unless they want the install for free.


Misread.
My posts are pertaining to customers moving to a permanent (or "near" permanent) new address (i.e. there not going back later).

Again though CSR's are not to take every customer on there word for changing address unless its clear in the notes that changing happens from time to time so as to reduce the amount of customers who try to move services without getting charged for a tech fee (not everyone gets it free ;) ).

Cant show you the line of text regarding it, I dont work there anymore and even then Im sure a DIRT member would get pissed and report the breach in NDA and get me fired (i.e. not every rule and regulation is meant for customers and there not all on the website :lol: )




spam firewall