Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S229 S230/Joey S278 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,236 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:14 AM

New software ... expected to support OTA and other changes.
Details as reports from the wild appear.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:36 AM

Still no manual timers :/ . Recycle bin feature is already useful! When you delete things they are stored under "Deleted Recordings" for the next 48 hours. You can also restore them if you want. Deleting recordings instantaneously gives you more space, even though they are not 100% deleted. In other words, once stored in the "recycle bin" the recordings no longer occupy the users' recording space, unless restored.

Still no ability to change nightly update time : / . However the menu system has been improved in which now you can individually select recordings to delete/add to folder from within the sub-menu e.g. "Folders by Title" when you click on a show with multiple entries, once in the sub-menu (list mode) you can now "edit" just like in the top menu. The menu options for the colored shortcuts are also more colorful now. Instead of having a colored dot next to each menu option the menu options are now entirely colored.

One minor bug, on the Joeys, pressing INFO twice while viewing live TV no longer reveals which sat you are currently tuned into.

OTA options are indeed now included with the new software.

Overall, the newer software also feels smoother than any of the previous iterations.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#3 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:33 AM

If you can use OTA this is good, Bluetooth if you use it, Apps if you use them. "Hot Stuff" (in menu and guide) recommended to view by popularity.More colorful menus, smoother, easier to alter, delete, etc recordings...much prettier the generic brownish grayish whatever has been replaced with splashes of very bright color.
They fixed the delete row button in Caller ID....I'm sure I've missed stuff...first look.

Geez it appears not many got 229, or it's a "oh well" update....
Interestingly I got it on both Hopper, that a first for me.

Edited by 356B, 13 November 2012 - 06:33 PM.

Thank you and
Best of luck

#4 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:06 AM

I think it's much more than a flub update. I'm sure that they are rolling it out in waves to make sure that there are no major issues. I gave the OTA adapter on the way as we speak. Can't wait to check it out!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:37 AM

I'm not 100% sure if full support there, but have seen OTA mentions in previous FW, before S2.22 ..

#6 OFFLINE   RASCAL01

RASCAL01

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:08 AM

Yes, there was full OTA support before this update but it was not released to the public.
RASCAL01
DISH 622, Hopper, Hopper2, Joey
TOSHIBA REGZA 55 LED/LCD 24O HZ
SONY AV 5.1 SOUROUND SOUND
SONY 3D BLUE RAY PLAYER

#7 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:05 AM

I'm not sure if this is related but, I had a HDMI issue same day as the update. I use a 50", 24 gauge cable in a remote area. Until the update all was well, then last night I noticed sparkles, dropouts and audio issues, this stuff can be the sign of a defective cable. Since the bend for connection to TV is rather harsh I added a coupler and another short HDMI to relieve stress, problems went away. Granted it could have been HDMI connector at the TV and the relief fixed it but, I did the usual jiggling, changing inputs, etc. to no avail, couplings usually step a signal down? ....anyway...so far, so good....no such thing as coincidence.......?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#8 OFFLINE   bobiii

bobiii

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2003

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:28 AM

New software ... expected to support OTA and other changes.
Details as reports from the wild appear.


Changing channels is slowwww!

#9 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:33 AM

Hi all , where is the deleted folder? or do i not have the update on my hopper yet? How do I tell? also to get an update do I have to have phone line plugged in? I have nerver had it pulled it due to problem with phone jack on that wall.Or does the update come thru the sat? does the sat have to be on for the download? I turn off mine when i go to bed (as in no lights left on hopper.thanks for the info

#10 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:51 AM

The software updates only occur when all receivers are off via the satellite. The Delete folder is located on the DVR screen (press the DVR button) after scrolling down, the last folder. If you have further questions, please let me know. Thanks.

Hi all , where is the deleted folder? or do i not have the update on my hopper yet? How do I tell? also to get an update do I have to have phone line plugged in? I have nerver had it pulled it due to problem with phone jack on that wall.Or does the update come thru the sat? does the sat have to be on for the download? I turn off mine when i go to bed (as in no lights left on hopper.thanks for the info



#11 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:14 PM

I assume you mean there is no green light on the receiver? I always turn off my tv and sat at night.I checked my dvr still no deleted program folder. I have 2 hoppers in my house no joeys.Do both hoppers have to be off? also i noticed on the menu screen under updates,where it has nevr,2 hours,4 hours etc,ect,, I have never for inactivity standby.do I need to change this? thanks

#12 OFFLINE   RASCAL01

RASCAL01

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:04 PM

No you do not need to change the inactivity time. Press menu twice and it will show you what update you have. I have not received S229 either. They are looking into it.
RASCAL01
DISH 622, Hopper, Hopper2, Joey
TOSHIBA REGZA 55 LED/LCD 24O HZ
SONY AV 5.1 SOUROUND SOUND
SONY 3D BLUE RAY PLAYER

#13 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:27 PM

thanks for the info...i still have s222 software which was downloaded on 10-10 this was when they put in my new hopper, the first one went kaput. if you find anything out let me know, thanks

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:36 PM

Spooling at 61.5W:
PID=08E0h	 11/12/12 23:02:44
 DownloadID:40NA
 Upgrading parts of new FW with filters:
 S229:'S040'-'S0ZZ','S223'-'S228','AYA7'-'AYA7'
 S229:'1[A-D0-2]1[A-B0-1]'&'S040'-'S0ZZ','S223'-'S229','AYA7'-'AYA7'
 New FW:'S229'&'S229'
 List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN:
'1...'&'NA[CFJ].': 	{XiP813}  R0000000001-R4000000000

Strange criteria: by BootSW version and for S2.23 and up

#15 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:42 PM

Changing channels is slowwww!


Also upon checking my EHD I have found the thumbnails, pictures...have become an abstract nebula generic graphic thing.....and the blanks are still there also. :nono2:
Thank you and
Best of luck

#16 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:55 PM

Changing channels is slowwww!


OMG! I've seen other subs say this. My main reason for leaving D* was similar problems with my HR-21.

2H/1J


#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,236 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 November 2012 - 06:11 PM

Spooling at 61.5W:

PID=08E0h	 11/12/12 23:02:44
 DownloadID:40NA
 Upgrading parts of new FW with filters:
 S229:'S040'-'S0ZZ','S223'-'S228','AYA7'-'AYA7'
 S229:'1[A-D0-2]1[A-B0-1]'&'S040'-'S0ZZ','S223'-'S229','AYA7'-'AYA7'
 New FW:'S229'&'S229'
 List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN:
'1...'&'NA[CFJ].': 	{XiP813}  R0000000001-R4000000000

Strange criteria: by BootSW version and for S2.23 and up

So not targeting us with S222 ... which may be the reason why some are not getting it.

Only those who got S223 or other interim versions get S229 (plus other matching criteria).

#18 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 06:56 PM

So not targeting us with S222 ... which may be the reason why some are not getting it.

Only those who got S223 or other interim versions get S229 (plus other matching criteria).


I never got S223.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:20 PM

I never got S223.


Perhaps it was "night shot" from 129W ?
Right now no one WA sats spooling the new versions.

#20 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:42 PM

I was just doing some deleting in "My Recordings" and found a "deleted file", kangaroo logo in red, with the recordings I thought I just deleted....there is an option to restore those recording. I this feature new? I can't remember ever seeing it....
I just received confirmation this feature is new.

Edited by 356B, 14 November 2012 - 09:48 PM.
updated

Thank you and
Best of luck




Protected By... spam firewall...And...