Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No 99 or 103 on HR24 w/ B-Bands


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   theloopboise

theloopboise

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:14 AM

Just finished what should be a super easy install with a Ka/Ku and two wires going to an HR24. No SWM, not even a 6x8.

Signal strengh is great, but sats 99 and 103 odd and even are failing. When I go into the signal strengh page, 103© and 99(s) show zeros. All other satellites show signals 65-85. I am in the Boise, ID market.

And this is on both tuners, so I don't speculate it is the b-band converters.

Anyone have an idea?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:18 AM

if all other satellites means satellite 101 is between 65-85 then your dish needs to be fine tuned.

#3 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,433 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:18 AM

Incorrect Post Deleted.

Edited by Curtis0620, 13 November 2012 - 11:45 AM.

HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#4 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:19 AM

b-bands would be required on the hr-24

#5 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:27 AM

HR24's require B-Band converters, but as others pointed out, those signal strengths are too low.

#6 OFFLINE   theloopboise

theloopboise

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:02 PM

Redialed the dish:

101: 87-97
110: 95
119: 92-95
99c: 58-65
99s: 0 (takes 30 sec/# to populate)
103s: 0 (takes 30 sec/# to populate)
103ca: 63-67
103cb: 68-74

I wouldn't worry about it but this means I don't get CBS-HD, which means no Person of Interest...very bad.

#7 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,386 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:03 PM

Redialed the dish:

101: 87-97
110: 95
119: 92-95
99c: 58-65
99s: 0 (takes 30 sec/# to populate)
103s: 0 (takes 30 sec/# to populate)
103ca: 63-67
103cb: 68-74

I wouldn't worry about it but this means I don't get CBS-HD, which means no Person of Interest...very bad.

I'd focus on the 99c & 103ca/b a bit more, as you should be able to get them better.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   theloopboise

theloopboise

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:07 PM

I'd focus on the 99c & 103ca/b a bit more, as you should be able to get them better.


I don't see how this will fix the 99s/103s issue. If it will, is this an elevation, azimuth, or tilt adjustment?

#9 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 921 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:09 PM

99s and 103s depend on your location most transponders will normally read 0...follow VOS's advice
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#10 OFFLINE   theloopboise

theloopboise

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:16 PM

I don't doubt that they could be better, but I should still be able to get CBS-HD, even with numbers in the 60s. I think something else is going on but I'm not sure what.

Could it be a bad LNB?

#11 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:33 PM

I live in Salt Lake City, so we are about the same angle to the satallites as you are in Boise. I don't get anything but 0s on 99s and 103s and never have. My readings on 101 are 92 - 100 and on 103ca/b 87 -92. Where do you think CBS-HD comes from? I get it.

HR10-250   550G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD x0803 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD x0803 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD x0808
DirecTV since 1997


#12 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:34 PM

Quite possibly you might only get any significant signal level on a few transponders between 99s, and 103s because your locals are most likely on only 1 transponder. ANyone know which one carries the Boise ID, locals in HD?

#13 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,386 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:45 PM

Quite possibly you might only get any significant signal level on a few transponders between 99s, and 103s because your locals are most likely on only 1 transponder. ANyone know which one carries the Boise ID, locals in HD?

103 tp 15 & 23 according to http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=206618
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,661 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:30 PM

I don't doubt that they could be better, but I should still be able to get CBS-HD, even with numbers in the 60s.


While you might get reception with numbers that low, a properly aligned dish will give you readings above 85 on every (active) transponder on every satellite. By "active", I mean transponders that you should receive, as you will see low or zero readings on spot beams for other markets.

If you have readings in the 60's, your dish is not properly aligned.




spam firewall