Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Great Customer service Experience


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:44 PM

Since sometimes bad experiences can generate posts here, I thought I would share a good one. I've been a sub since 1994 and have a variety of experiences with Directv under my belt but this was a good one.

On Sunday we had a very close lightning strike that took out the HDMI Outputs on two of our four units. (HR21, H21) Component outputs still work on both of them but not HDMI. (I had already verified the inputs on the TV weren't fried.)

I do have the protection plan so I got through to one of those reps (Oregon call center) right away. She processed the replacements in under five minutes, gave me the confirmation numbers and I was out of there.

She did try to upsell me to the Premium Protection Plan but i didn't commit.

Very smooth process from a very helpful agent. wish it was always that way.

DIRECTV Subscriber since 1994

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:03 AM

Since sometimes bad experiences can generate posts here, I thought I would share a good one. I've been a sub since 1994 and have a variety of experiences with Directv under my belt but this was a good one.

On Sunday we had a very close lightning strike that took out the HDMI Outputs on two of our four units. (HR21, H21) Component outputs still work on both of them but not HDMI. (I had already verified the inputs on the TV weren't fried.)

I do have the protection plan so I got through to one of those reps (Oregon call center) right away. She processed the replacements in under five minutes, gave me the confirmation numbers and I was out of there.

She did try to upsell me to the Premium Protection Plan but i didn't commit.

Very smooth process from a very helpful agent. wish it was always that way.


I am a DirecTV CSR and I approve of this message.

But seriously, thanks for the good words.

#3 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:37 AM

That's awesome! I had an HR21 with an HDMI port that died a year or so ago and they refused to replace it stating that component still worked.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:37 PM

That's awesome! I had an HR21 with an HDMI port that died a year or so ago and they refused to replace it stating that component still worked.


Technically thats true...
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#5 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:19 PM

That's awesome! I had an HR21 with an HDMI port that died a year or so ago and they refused to replace it stating that component still worked.

Yes it still works but it certainly doesn't deliver HD. If you're paying for HD, you should get HD.

DIRECTV Subscriber since 1994

#6 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:26 PM

ummm component delivers 1080p
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#7 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:28 PM

I thought component only delivered 1080i. Are you sure?

#8 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,553 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:34 PM

ummm component delivers 1080p


DirecTV restricts 1080p to HDMI only.

#9 OFFLINE   tazzboo

tazzboo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2008

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:36 PM

That is great that they helped you out. I have to say that for 95% of my transactions with Directv they are Spectacular. I always treat the CSR as I would want to be treated. The other 5% well I just kindly hang up and call back and get a person that is more intune with helping. I figure everybody has a bad day sometime or another.

Nice to see a positive post....

I like my Directv been with them since 1996 or longer....:D

#10 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:57 PM

ummm component delivers 1080p

Pretty sure Compnent doesn't do 1080p...I was confused though and thinking A/V rather than the actual component jacks.

DIRECTV Subscriber since 1994

#11 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:03 PM

Technically thats true...


I didn't say it wasn't true.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:04 PM

ummm component delivers 1080p


The best DirecTV allows on component is 1080i. Not to mention audio isn't carried over component so it's 2 sets of cables you have to run to replace 1 single cable because DirecTV doesn't/didn't see a failed HDMI port as a problem.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:07 PM

I quit using HDMI after losing 2-3 cables to lightning storms...I have been using component for over a year
when I choose a 1080p Cinema on Demand, my 1080p light on my HR34 lights up and my TV says its receiveing a 1080p signal.
PLus I have always been under the impression that HDMI and component are interchangeable with out loss of HD quality.
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#14 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:08 PM

I didn't say it wasn't true.


Just verifying that what you were told is policy
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#15 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:18 PM

Hmmm...from sam sungs website

Video Quality
Although HDMI and component can both support 1080p video resolution, that doesn’t mean the picture quality is equal. HDMI is a digital cable, so there’s no wasted conversion from your digital Blu-ray disc, as there is over an analog component cable. HDMI maintains a digital signal, and the TV knows exactly where to place the edges.

HDMI supports high-definition content protection (HDCP), which is required by many high-definition downloads and Blu-ray discs. If you connect with component, you might see a lower-resolution version of the content. To retain the higher quality HDCP link, connect every device that touches your video signal—such as an audio/video receiver—through HDMI.


My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#16 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,505 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:22 PM

Just verifying that what you were told is policy


Does the policy only extend to HD connections? Not likely, but if say the only one that worked was S-Video and composite, would that be replaceable or because a video output worked, you're out of luck?

#17 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:05 PM

No just applies to hdmi/component
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#18 OFFLINE   inf0z

inf0z

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 265 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2011

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:18 AM

1080P is only used for PPV and an HDMI cable would be needed for 3D, so for most people component cables are just fine opposed to replacing the entire box.

#19 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,505 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:25 AM

Kind of ironic. If you have an HR20 and want 3D, policy is they'll send a box that supports it once you give the code displayed. Later, HDMI port goes out, and policy states you can't get 3D functionality back.

#20 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:47 PM

Kind of ironic. If you have an HR20 and want 3D, policy is they'll send a box that supports it once you give the code displayed. Later, HDMI port goes out, and policy states you can't get 3D functionality back.


"It is what it is"

#21 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:02 AM

Kind of ironic. If you have an HR20 and want 3D, policy is they'll send a box that supports it once you give the code displayed. Later, HDMI port goes out, and policy states you can't get 3D functionality back.


Huh?
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#22 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,505 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:46 AM

Wasn't the policy that if you have an HR20 and try to tune to a 3D channel when you get a 3D TV, that you'd get a code to give to a CSR and they'd swap you out for an HR21-24 free of charge to add 3D?

Or has that changed?

#23 OFFLINE   Brubear

Brubear

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:53 AM

The 3d swapout is still current policy. 3d has turned out to be a non-event, as predicted by various posters not long after launch, however.
The replacement policy is, in fact, that we do not replace for failed HDMI ports, so that csr actually went outside policy to accomodate the poster. Often what the customer thinks is a failed HDMI port is actually a handshake issue anyway. You can test the hdmi port through the internal diagnostics to verify.

my comments and opinions are my own and do not suggest endorsement by my employer


#24 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,328 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 11:05 AM

I may be mistaken but aren't HBO and some of the other premium providers in the process of requiring HDMI connections in order to support and enforce HDCP?

If so, then a failed HDMI port should force a replacement because your box is now incapable of delivering the premium channels in HD.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#25 OFFLINE   Brubear

Brubear

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 16 November 2012 - 12:00 PM

I may be mistaken but aren't HBO and some of the other premium providers in the process of requiring HDMI connections in order to support and enforce HDCP?

If so, then a failed HDMI port should force a replacement because your box is now incapable of delivering the premium channels in HD.


No the hdcp error is resolved with a switch to component cables. HDCP is the encoding technology used in hdmi. HDMI is not an organic, evolved product - it's an engineered technology that is designed to protect the copyright of program providers. In fact, HDMI is a company that sells its technology to device manufacturers and so on. I don't see hdmi being required anytime soon. Desirable, yes, required, no.

my comments and opinions are my own and do not suggest endorsement by my employer





Protected By... spam firewall...And...