Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD DVR Upgrade


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:54 PM

Hello. I logged into my online account and it says that for a limited time I can upgrade to a free HD DVR. I currently have an HR24 and 3 H24's. My thought was to replace an H24 in a kid's room with the DVR and set all the kid's show timers on the that one. If I do this will all receivers be able to see the recordings on both DVR's. Thanks in advance for the help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:14 PM

If you have whole home already on the account yes.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:20 PM

I do have whole home dvr already. Now this might be too much to ask but can I make it so my existing HR24 recordings only show up in the master bedroom and that DVR but the kids' recordings show up everywhere?
Also would there be any additional monthly fees?

#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:29 PM

You can set the HR24 to not share its playlist, but then it won't show up anywhere else at all.

Also please keep in mind when ordering a DVR off of DirecTV's site, which by taking their offer you are, you are not guaranteed an HR24. You could get anything from an HR21 on up.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:58 PM

Would there be an additional DVR fee?

#6 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:16 PM

No
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#7 ONLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,082 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:17 PM

The DVR fee is per account. Then there is a $6 fee for each box. So if you activate a new DVR and deactivate one of your receivers, there wouldn't be any additional charges.




spam firewall