Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR-24 vs Genie... New Install


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pdcolemanjr

pdcolemanjr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:05 AM

So I am getting a new install up here in Alaska on Friday... It's actually a reinstall of old service we had disconnected six months ago because the apartment I was living in couldn't get directv due to line of sight... So I had to send the boxes back...

So we are now getting new boxes and have to pay full retail.. we previously had an HR 24 with the whole home setup, which we absolutely loved... I now have the option of paying a 100 dollars more to get a Genie, but yet I hear a lot of people are having problems with them... So if you guys had a choice between paying 199 for an HR 24 or 299 for a Genie.. Which one would you choose? If you guys say HR 24... Which model (100-700) is the best of them.. I tend to remember some were better than others.

I appreciate any feedback, we have to decide by Thursday... Hate paying full retail for either box, but giving the choices for TV in Alaska.. DTV wins by a long shot...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,556 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:11 AM

Getting three more tuners for $100 is a good deal. And get the C31 for any other TVs.

As for the HR34 having problems, remember that only problems get reported here and DirecTV is working on fixes. Think back when the HR2x series first came out. They also had growing pains and some of those were worse than what's being reported for the HR34.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:50 AM

If you need the 3 more tuners, PIP and the "Genie" functions where it recommends programming then it may be worth $100. For me it wouldn't be.

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:37 AM

You don't say how many rooms of service you are going to get, or what equipment/receivers you are planning in addition to the DVR itself.

The Genie is a good unit, and has the advantage of additional tuners. But that advantage goes away if you get 3 additional rooms with the C31 client (as each client will use one of the tuners in the Genie). If you expect to do a lot of recording, the Genie is probably better. If you only record a very few shows, then that advantage goes away.

So the best answer for you depends on a combination of how many tv locations you have, plus your personal use patterns.

#5 OFFLINE   pdcolemanjr

pdcolemanjr

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:42 AM

Theres only two rooms for now .. eventually a third for a guest bedroom... there is only two of us... she does like to record a lot.. every law and order for example. . Buy I guess the wuestion is are the extra tuners worth the headaches?

#6 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 427 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:33 AM

I can say my HR34 has been relatively problem free, the extra tuners are worth every penny... have had zero conflicts on that box, and now only use the other DVR's for backup recording...
HR34, HR20x3, HR21, HR22, H24, H21

-BAHitman

#7 OFFLINE   txfeinbergs

txfeinbergs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:19 AM

A quick question. Let's say I have a HR-34 and 2 C-31s. Are you saying that that will reduce the number of tuners available for recording even if the C31s are not being used (off)?

#8 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:54 AM

A quick question. Let's say I have a HR-34 and 2 C-31s. Are you saying that that will reduce the number of tuners available for recording even if the C31s are not being used (off)?


No. But when you are viewing live on a C31, it is using one of the tuners from the HR34. If you are viewing live from two C31's, then the HR34 would only have 3 tuners available. Etc.

In your case, it seems likely you would only be using one C31 at any given time, and even then it may or may not be live viewing. So the impact on available tuners would be minimal.

As "extra headaches", I don't hink that is going to be an issue. My HR34 has given me no particular problems.

#9 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:27 PM

What kind of dish is needed for Alaska? Does Slimline work that far north? I guess I could Google it...just lazy.

#10 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:12 PM

I think Alaska uses 1.2 meter dishes, not the Slimline.

#11 OFFLINE   pdcolemanjr

pdcolemanjr

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:37 PM

It is in fact a 1.2 meter dish.. Does this affect equipment? If so how?

#12 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,242 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:59 PM

You said $199 for a 24 and $299 for a Genie. Where are you leasing those from? If DirecTV, they can't guarantee that you will get a 24 for that $199. It will be one of their HR2X series DVRs, but it depends on what the installer has on his truck. With third-party retailers, you can specify the 24.

#13 OFFLINE   pdcolemanjr

pdcolemanjr

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:07 PM

They claimed it was the "latest" equipment they had... If anything is less than an HR 24 then it's not latest, and I refuse install as its not what I was promised.

#14 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,242 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:08 PM

Your initial question was was it worth the extra $100 to go from a 24 to a 34. Since you don't know if you'll even get a 24 (they show a picture of a 24 on their site but under it is the disclaimer that your actual unit may vary), I'd say spend the $100 for the 34. Or order from a 3rd party retailer.

The only thing I see on their site about 'latest' is concerning the 34 where it says 'state-of-the-art'.

But for $199 you can get the 24 from other retailers.

#15 OFFLINE   pdcolemanjr

pdcolemanjr

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2012

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:41 AM

Dumb question but can one "refuse" installation if they are not given an HR24? My last install was an HR24 .. But as I said I gave up that box 6 months ago...

I guess we should just get a genie to be safe..no?

#16 OFFLINE   TigersFanJJ

TigersFanJJ

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,546 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:41 AM

Dumb question but can one "refuse" installation if they are not given an HR24? My last install was an HR24 .. But as I said I gave up that box 6 months ago...

I guess we should just get a genie to be safe..no?


You can refuse any install. Just make sure to tell the installer before he gets started. He probably won't get paid a dime for any of the time that he spends with you, so try to get him back on the road as soon as possible.

And don't be surprised if he cancels your install all together. No specific model is guaranteed and he has no control over what DVRs are in stock, so it would make no sense for him to continuously reschedule your install.

As others have said, your best route is to either get the Genie or go with a retailer. That is the only way to guarantee you will get what you are wanting.

#17 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:03 PM

It is in fact a 1.2 meter dish.. Does this affect equipment? If so how?


Good question? Is it a different LNB? Is SWiM available? Almost sounds like 2 dishes are required...multiswitch...anyone?




spam firewall