Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Maybe moving to DISH


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:46 AM

Have DTV for 10 years but thinking of making the switch since we can save some bucks and our prized TIVO is dying. We have had it for years, maybe 5, and she has never had a problem but now reboots all the time.

So we might get an HDTV and move to dish.

I found this site and LOVE all the info, wow.

Anyway, I have a newbie question.

We just changed from ATT to Comcast for internet and phone. When we signed up they wanted a SSN for some reason per the web sign up. OK no problem I guess.

But DISH in their process flow to sign up shows they want a credit card with an "amount due now". Am I paying for something not even installed yet?

What am I missing. I have talked to a sles person there when I first started investigating other options. We like DISH, a lot. We would want the 722.

I told the guy call me back next (this) Friday after I complete my research of u-verse etc.

Well I get a call from a different guy at DISH and he offers $75 MORE in discounts if we sign up today or tomorrow, but he asked for all this info. But it does seem what he was asking for is the same as the website.

So my question is, need to learn to post shorter, is why do they need a CC and doesn't your billing cycle start AFTER you have service?

With Comcast we had it for a month before I paid a mailed bill to us and then we signed up for auto-pay, like all our other bills.

I guess they don't have a 30 day money back guarantee, I asked about that, if the jump from our tivo is too steep.

Anyway, found this forum and thought I would ask about the billing. I just called them but was on hold a long time so hung up and typed this out.

Sorry if it is a silly question.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:53 AM

Our billing is in advance depending upon the type account you qualify for. The billing doesn't begin until the installation is completed. The cc is for qualification purposes. Please let me know if you have further questions. Thanks.

Have DTV for 10 years but thinking of making the switch since we can save some bucks and our prized TIVO is dying. We have had it for years, maybe 5, and she has never had a problem but now reboots all the time.

So we might get an HDTV and move to dish.

I found this site and LOVE all the info, wow.

Anyway, I have a newbie question.

We just changed from ATT to Comcast for internet and phone. When we signed up they wanted a SSN for some reason per the web sign up. OK no problem I guess.

But DISH in their process flow to sign up shows they want a credit card with an "amount due now". Am I paying for something not even installed yet?

What am I missing. I have talked to a sles person there when I first started investigating other options. We like DISH, a lot. We would want the 722.

I told the guy call me back next (this) Friday after I complete my research of u-verse etc.

Well I get a call from a different guy at DISH and he offers $75 MORE in discounts if we sign up today or tomorrow, but he asked for all this info. But it does seem what he was asking for is the same as the website.

So my question is, need to learn to post shorter, is why do they need a CC and doesn't your billing cycle start AFTER you have service?

With Comcast we had it for a month before I paid a mailed bill to us and then we signed up for auto-pay, like all our other bills.

I guess they don't have a 30 day money back guarantee, I asked about that, if the jump from our tivo is too steep.

Anyway, found this forum and thought I would ask about the billing. I just called them but was on hold a long time so hung up and typed this out.

Sorry if it is a silly question.



#3 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

Thanks. So it is normal to take a CC but billing doesn't start right away.
This site is great, I love the thread about the eastern and western arcs.

thanks again.

#4 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:15 AM

Thanks. So it is normal to take a CC but billing doesn't start right away.
This site is great, I love the thread about the eastern and western arcs.

thanks again.

What DISH isn't telling you is your first bill is a 2 month bill. You are paying for the current month and the next month so that the programming DISH is providing is always paid for.

#5 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:27 AM

What DISH isn't telling you is your first bill is a 2 month bill. You are paying for the current month and the next month so that the programming DISH is providing is always paid for.


It's been a loooooong time since the first bill was a 2 month bill. A new customers 1st bill is paid prior to activation with all following bills due prior to each subsequent service month.

#6 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:39 AM

What DISH isn't telling you is your first bill is a 2 month bill. You are paying for the current month and the next month so that the programming DISH is providing is always paid for.


I don't think so, or at least not for everyone. In July I helped someone get Dish and it was the first month cc payment.

#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:01 PM

Dont forget that Directv has a new Tivo model that is HD....you could kill 2 birds with one stone and keep what you're accustomed to.

#8 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 04:25 PM

It's been a loooooong time since the first bill was a 2 month bill. A new customers 1st bill is paid prior to activation with all following bills due prior to each subsequent service month.


Yes I see his as happening. I signed up with DISH from DTV for 11 years.

I paid the first month but won't get installed until after Thanksgiving. But like you say, you are always watching paid for stuff, nice for their cash flow and a little interest free loan for DN.

#9 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 04:31 PM

It's been a loooooong time since the first bill was a 2 month bill. A new customers 1st bill is paid prior to activation with all following bills due prior to each subsequent service month.


Dont forget that Directv has a new Tivo model that is HD....you could kill 2 birds with one stone and keep what you're accustomed to.


Cheap post to get over 5 here :)

Yes I called retention at DTV and the offer wasn't so good. So I made the change. My wife says the jump from dual buffer tivo might be large for we will see. We did want to try to get to that tivo HD like you said.

The BIG thing that has me worried, and I don't think the TIVO to 722 will be THAT bad, is I got a call from dish Wednesday, I talked to them the previous Firday, and they said if you sign up today or tomorrow I can give you an additional $75 credit. It would be applied as $44 the second month and $31 the 3d month. I could not pass that up. The agent said call back this # leave a message and I will call you back. Well I did, he remembered me, but then it was strange conversation and he was like you are all set welcome to dish network.

Also, I wanted to make sure I get the 722, NOT the hopper. It didn't give me a chance to pick a DVR. So the agent said "you will get a 722". I said yeah I won't let the installer install without a 722. I would prefer the 722k.

So my 2 Dish issues are a) the aditional $75 being applied, my wife will kill me if we don't get that and B) how can I ensure I get a 722.

When I look online it says my equipment due to come is a Hopper and 1 joey. We have a 2nd TV in the basement that is used like once a month, if that. So the 722 is perfect.

Anyway, thanks for the replies, this site is awesome. I love the whole eastern and western arc stuff on the satellites.

Maybe this note is more directed at the first reply in this thread.

Edited by tdfxman, 14 November 2012 - 04:58 PM.


#10 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 592 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:56 AM

We have a 2nd TV in the basement that is used like once a month, if that. So the 722 is perfect.


Dish really needs to make the Joeys available without a monthly fee. There is simply no reason for an outlet fee, other than wanting to extract every dollar they can from customers.

That said, are you using the 2nd TV at the same time as the 1st? If not, then the Hopper could serve two TVs just as well as the 722.

#11 ONLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,175 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:00 AM

Dish really needs to make the Joeys available without a monthly fee. There is simply no reason for an outlet fee, other than wanting to extract every dollar they can from customers.


Well they have to pay to have those Joeys manufactured for them somehow, it's not like they get them free, plus they have to pay techs for their labor when installing them and of course the more outlets the longer the install takes and the more they have to pay the tech to get the job done. So they've decided they way to do it is that anyone that wants to have them pay extra per month. Seems fair to me as the other obvious way to do it would be to just have a general programming price increase. Seems to me the people who want more equipment and a bigger install should pay more and not have those of us with only one tv pay more to subsidize people with 6 tv installs.


"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#12 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:11 AM

Dish really needs to make the Joeys available without a monthly fee. There is simply no reason for an outlet fee, other than wanting to extract every dollar they can from customers.

That said, are you using the 2nd TV at the same time as the 1st? If not, then the Hopper could serve two TVs just as well as the 722.


For $11 more a month, it isn't worth it. We literally use the one downstairs once a month, max, maybe once every 2 months. So being able to record something upstairs and then watch it if needed is fine. Matt here on this site made the changes to get me the 722, when I could not pick it originally. I also understand the accounting of what happened, so all good. We will see how install goes. I hope to get the installer to remove old dish and install this one maybe at same site so no roof changes.

I read a thread that simply said "negotiate" with your installer to see if they can use the dtv support but it said not to remove the bottom plate. I will see what I can do on that when the time comes.

#13 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,367 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:43 PM

For $11 more a month, it isn't worth it. We literally use the one downstairs once a month, max, maybe once every 2 months. So being able to record something upstairs and then watch it if needed is fine. Matt here on this site made the changes to get me the 722, when I could not pick it originally. I also understand the accounting of what happened, so all good. We will see how install goes. I hope to get the installer to remove old dish and install this one maybe at same site so no roof changes.

I read a thread that simply said "negotiate" with your installer to see if they can use the dtv support but it said not to remove the bottom plate. I will see what I can do on that when the time comes.


Hope your not a sports lover switching to DISH. If so you will most likely be unhappy.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#14 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 15 November 2012 - 01:50 PM

Hope your not a sports lover switching to DISH. If so you will most likely be unhappy.


don't worry about it

#15 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 15 November 2012 - 02:24 PM

Hope your not a sports lover switching to DISH. If so you will most likely be unhappy.


I would have agreed but the lines on that are blurred now.(NY market excluded)
Dish has some sports Direct TV does not, neither has the new LA Lakers channel. While Direct TV does have full time RSN's, Dish this year was 90% better at getting the actual games in HD, what most people really want. And Dish has the Red Zone for $7, Direct TV does not offer it unless you get the full NFL Sunday package. (Yes there are some exceptions, some have managed to get it)

If Sports is the ONLY reason, then yes Direct TV still is the leader, including having the NFL package, full time HD RSN's, and most games on alternate channels in HD, with Dish Alternate is more hit and miss. For the majority of people who like sports but it's not the first priority, it's not as much a difference as it was.

#16 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,985 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 15 November 2012 - 02:28 PM

I would have agreed but the lines on that are blurred now.(NY market excluded)
Dish has some sports Direct TV does not, neither has the new LA Lakers channel. While Direct TV does have full time RSN's, Dish this year was 90% better at getting the actual games in HD, what most people really want. And Dish has the Red Zone for $7, Direct TV does not offer it unless you get the full NFL Sunday package. (Yes there are some exceptions, some have managed to get it)

If Sports is the ONLY reason, then yes Direct TV still is the leader, including having the NFL package, full time HD RSN's, and most games on alternate channels in HD, with Dish Alternate is more hit and miss. For the majority of people who like sports but it's not the first priority, it's not as much a difference as it was.

Lakers channel is coming any day/minute now.
Twitter - DIRECTV ‏@DIRECTV
We have an agreement to carry #TWCSportsNet on Ch: 691 in time for the next game (Friday 11/16).
LA Times - http://www.latimes.c...,0,334249.story
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#17 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 15 November 2012 - 02:28 PM

Yeah I had Center Ice for a few seasons but with this channel mix it has versus (now NBC sports) and NHL network.

So IF they play hockey again, I think I am fine. I don't have NHL network now on DTV. About a week to install date.

The one thing my wife asked me, and I like to cover all the bases, is how does the remote change the channel with no hardware on the 2nd tv, if we use it.

It is a sony trinitron from the early 2000's. So with the only "box" upstairs, I told her I asked when I called and they said a remote from dish. But the remote from dish tells the sony what to do? I didn't have a great answer on that one. But it's all good, looking forward to the change.

#18 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,367 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 15 November 2012 - 03:22 PM

don't worry about it


Not worried about it. As a sports lover, no way I would go to DISH. Lack of Sunday Ticket, MLB Extra Innings, Mega March Madness, Full Time FSN's, etc. All of that is more then enough for me to say thanks but no thanks. Sunday Ticket is a deal breaker for me no matter what.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#19 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,964 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:11 PM

Yeah I had Center Ice for a few seasons but with this channel mix it has versus (now NBC sports) and NHL network.

So IF they play hockey again, I think I am fine. I don't have NHL network now on DTV. About a week to install date.

The one thing my wife asked me, and I like to cover all the bases, is how does the remote change the channel with no hardware on the 2nd tv, if we use it.

It is a sony trinitron from the early 2000's. So with the only "box" upstairs, I told her I asked when I called and they said a remote from dish. But the remote from dish tells the sony what to do? I didn't have a great answer on that one. But it's all good, looking forward to the change.


It depends on how you connect the 2nd TV to the 722 and if you have the 722 in single or Dual mode. Most likely you will feed the TV2 UHF output from the 722 to the TV and then change the channels using the TV2 Remote (supplied) from Dish - it is RF so works pretty far away and can be extended with a splitter if you have spare coax installed. If you leave the 722 in Single mode so you have Dual Live Buffers I believe you flip the key over in the TV2 Remote to make it a TV1 UHF remote and it changes the channel. In single mode the same channel is shown on both TVs, in Dual you can watch different channels / recordings on both TVs but you lose dual live buffers.

#20 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:20 PM

Thanks. They could connect coax easily.

Most of the time we will be in single mode, so 2 live buffers on the main. I am assuming you can still watch a recorded show from downstairs in single mode.

We have a harmony 659 remote for the 722 and new hdtv upstairs. We will reprogram it when we get the new tv installed and the new 722.

I did look up in the database and the 722 and the tv ordered will work with it. Sorry if this is too much typing about my coming install.

Thanks for all the replies.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...