Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

RF Remote


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TDK1044

TDK1044

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2010

Posted 16 November 2012 - 06:44 AM

I offer this as informational, because it took me a while to figure out how to do this.

I recently got an HR34 Genie system. I love it. Working perfectly. I changed the remote from IR to RF, simply because the device is not directly in front of the seating area in our living room.

Everything works great, but it occurred to me that if the remote got lost or damaged (as has happened before) I would have to use the physical menus on the front of the device in order to get back to IR...and then set up a new remote for RF....this is because, unlike IR, an RF remote is device specific, and you can't therefore talk to the HR34 with another RF remote.

So I searched for a way to remotely set up a second RF remote on the HR34, in case I lost or damaged the main RF remote. A kind user on another forum gave me the solution, and in about two minutes, I had set up a second RF remote on my HR34.

On any RF capable remote...

Press mute and select together
then press the number keys 9...6...1 and then press channel up
enter last 6 numbers of your receiver ID number (RID)
then press select

Now you have a second RF remote set up to work with your DVR. :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,808 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 16 November 2012 - 09:13 AM

Yep, glad you sorted it out. You can set up as many rf remotes as you want using that technique. Further, you can use the slider switch at the top and set up rf on each of the positions for different receivers in either rf or ir on each receiver as desired.

#3 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,892 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 16 November 2012 - 10:01 AM

This is a handy technique for setting up mirrored tvs. You have the ability to change channels in either room without having to remember to move the remote from room to room.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."




spam firewall