Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Are any receivers responsive?


  • Please log in to reply
544 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:41 AM

Speed is relavent.
For instance, the difference in the time it takes to change channels between a HD DVR and an HD receiver.
How long is that ?
What would we do with that bit of time if we had it change instantaneous ?
Would we get up out of our recliner and go play a game, have a meal, enjoy the company of a lady. Nope, not enough time to really count.
OK, let's say that we had instant channel changes. I could go around the guide a few more times per day. Did that get me more or better programming ? No. Did that get me enough time to complete any task ? No.
Did it let me go make any more money. No.

What did the speed up of the receiver get me ? Nothing, other than the fact that I can now look and say "Wow, that changes channels fast". Whooopeeee.

If you do not like the system and have left it, why are you here ?
Are you looking for help ?
Are you trying to help others ?

I am here to learn and to try to help others with some minor problems that can be changed with settings, etc.


I personally don't care so much about the slow channel changes. I rarely watch live TV. I know some do and for channel surfers the HR series is certainly not going to make you happy.

I do care about inconsistent scrolling through the guide and menus and the delay of acting on remote button pushes etc. The complete 30+ second lockups are also rather annoying!

I do appreciate your willingness to jump in and help!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:43 AM

Well it's been about 8 hours since the install. Been playing with it quite a bit waiting for guide data so I can reenter my season passes. Everything seems great. Fast, responsive, no problems... yet.?


Glad to hear the install went well and so far so good.

Keep us posted on how it performs over the next couple of weeks.

#53 OFFLINE   SledgeHammer

SledgeHammer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,277 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:46 AM

It is also possible that the remote is just worn out.


This was my issue. I "noticed" that my HR20 was not responding to remote commands, but it just happened that those commands were the play, pause and FF :D. Replaced the remote and issues went away. Well, the responding to the remote issues :D.

#54 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:52 AM

I personally don't care so much about the slow channel changes. I rarely watch live TV. I know some do and for channel surfers the HR series is certainly not going to make you happy.

I do care about inconsistent scrolling through the guide and menus and the delay of acting on remote button pushes etc. The complete 30+ second lockups are also rather annoying!

I do appreciate your willingness to jump in and help!


Thanks, I like helping when I can.

Lockups and 30 second channel changes should not be happening.
What all have you tried to remedy your problems ?

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#55 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:55 AM

I have been reading this thread and am amazed at the raw emotion expressed over performance and the fact the he provider "owes" us new and better equipment.


I think DirecTV does 'owe' me equipment that works. I paid $600 to get 3 HR24-500s that worked pretty well until they messed them up with the HDGUI. Why should I be out the $600 I paid to get HD DVRs that responded to the remote etc?

Are you suggesting that I should expect to pay $600 every year or two to keep up with DirecTVs software engineers? Maybe I should say lack of software engineers?

There is no amount of money I can pay to get back to the performance of my pre-HDGUI HR24s is there? From all appearances the HR34 also suffers from similar response issues. Maybe they'll fix them because the HR34 is still pretty young but they never did fix the HR20/21/22 or 23 so why should we expect anything different?

I should just be happy that the $600 I paid to get responsive DVRs was only a temporary fix?

So many questions.... So few answers!:rolleyes:

#56 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:26 PM

Dr. Welby, and others: Many folks circumvent this via custom channel guides.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#57 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:31 PM

Mr. Greer-

IIRC I've said this to you before: If you have three HR24s and they are all acting bad, it's most likely you use them in a manner different from the rest of us, or something. Perhaps one is bad and you're projecting? Perhaps the batteries have all worn down the same? Many more perhapses.....
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#58 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:50 PM

Thanks, I like helping when I can.

Lockups and 30 second channel changes should not be happening.
What all have you tried to remedy your problems ?


I've tried just about everything I think... Including your suggestions.

#59 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:52 PM

I've tried just about everything I think... Including your suggestions.


OK

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#60 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:03 PM

Mr. Greer-

IIRC I've said this to you before: If you have three HR24s and they are all acting bad, it's most likely you use them in a manner different from the rest of us, or something. Perhaps one is bad and you're projecting? Perhaps the batteries have all worn down the same? Many more perhapses.....


When I first got them to replace my HR22s they all acted about the same except for the caller ID which has always been screwy.

When the HDGUI came along they all went downhill but they don't all behave the same way. One of them, the one I use the least, is more responsive than the others. It will still occasionally miss a remote command and is painfully slow navigating through the guide and menus but not too big of a deal.

The one I use the most I have to restart every week or two or it will start going unresponsive out of the blue. Once in a while I'll FFWD and it will start to FFWD but then I can't stop it. The receiver completely ignores ALL remote AND front panel button pushes for 30 seconds up to 3 or 4 minutes. It will then go back to normal. If I keep pushing buttons while it is out-to-lunch at least some of the button pushes are acted on when it comes back. The onscreen clock also stops.

This trouble is not the remote or anything to do with the remote because the clock stops and the buttons on the front panel also do nothing.

The third HR24 will do this once in a while but nowhere near as much.

Neither of them do it as long as I remember to restart them - I've been doing that on Sundays and that at least keeps them from losing it completely. Doesn't do anything to speed up scrolling through the menus.

Bottom line as I said earlier in this thread.... If you want to use DirecTV you just have be able to get past these kinds of troubles. Pretty pathetic because before they forced the HDGUI (that really doesn't give us anything) on all of us life was pretty good with all three of my HR24s.

#61 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:08 PM

Scrolling thru the menu / Guide should be very fast if you have turned the scrolling feature to OFF.
Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences, Scrolling Effects : OFF.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#62 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:23 PM

Scrolling thru the menu / Guide should be very fast if you have turned the scrolling feature to OFF.
Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences, Scrolling Effects : OFF.


Yep - its off.

Part of the trouble may be what you consider 'very fast' and what I consider 'very slow' could be the same speed!

I used to have Comcast and their Motorola DVR was/is horribly slow - I mean painfully awfully slow. It was still usable because it was very consistent and never missed remote buttons etc. You knew what to expect and always did its thing - just slow slow slow.

Then I had Dish Network and their receivers are FAST! I used Dish for years with 622 receivers. Lightening speed all the time no matter what - even when recording two satellite channels and 1 over-the-air channel and scrolling through the guide. The 622 is a receiver from back in the days of the HR20 and is still much much quicker than an HR24 even before HDGUI fiasco.

If I had gone from the Comcast Motorola DVR straight to the HRs from DirecTV I would still be annoyed by the missed remote commands and the inconsistent speed... But I probably wouldn't call them 'slow'.

Basically using Dish Networks lightning fast DVRS made switching to DirecTV quite the painful slowdown that I still have problems with today. I was mostly content with the HR24s before they slowed them down with HDGUI.

There is an independent satellite reseller not too far from me that has an HR24 and a Dish network 722k sitting side-by-side. Moving around the menus and scrolling through the guide is multiple times faster and smoother on 722k. The saddest thing of all is the guide from Dish Network has much more information on the screen at once... You'd expect it to be slower not much quicker.

#63 OFFLINE   rmmccann

rmmccann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
  • LocationND, USA
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:24 PM

Scrolling thru the menu / Guide should be very fast if you have turned the scrolling feature to OFF.
Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences, Scrolling Effects : OFF.


+1 I did this on all my receivers and although only a small improvement was noted, it was an improvement nonetheless.
If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, you will live your whole life believing it is stupid.

#64 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:34 PM

I appreciate all of where you have been but that does not help.

You have turned the scrolling to OFF. That is good.

My HR23 speed: Press button for guide until guide is on the screen, 2 seconds.
Scroll the guide thru all 84 channels in my Favorites list, 6 seconds. I can not read it when it is moving this fast. What I do is use the channel up or down button and jump a screen at a time until I get in the area I want to be or type in a new number to go directly there.


What is the time for this with your receiver ?

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#65 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:49 PM

I appreciate all of where you have been but that does not help.

You have turned the scrolling to OFF. That is good.

My HR23 speed: Press button for guide until guide is on the screen, 2 seconds.
Scroll the guide thru all 84 channels in my Favorites list, 6 seconds. I can not read it when it is moving this fast. What I do is use the channel up or down button and jump a screen at a time until I get in the area I want to be or type in a new number to go directly there.


What is the time for this with your receiver ?


I was just trying to give you an idea of why we may be looking at the same thing but not seeing the same thing.

When I hit guide it usually takes 2 seconds or less to come up but sometimes can take as long as 10 seconds. Not consistent so I hit it again and then it picks both guide pushes up!

I don't have favorites so I can't directly compare the speed but one example is that when I hit guide and hit channel down to scroll to the next page it may stick there for 2-3 seconds then move. Or if hit want to go down the list quickly to get skip a few pages... I hit channel down 4 times - sometimes it moves down 2 sometimes 3 sometimes 4 pages.

The worst part is moving ahead in the guide - when I arrow over you never know what you're going to get... If there are in-guide ads especially. I have to slow down and use the arrow once, wait for it to move, then hit it again etc. If I want to go two hours ahead it is a pain to scroll.

Maybe if the guide is smaller, like your favs, it works better. I'll try and setup some favorites and see how the guide works there.

#66 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:04 PM

I changed my guide to all channels I get and it took over 1 minute to go completely around.
It especially slowed down when I got to the PPV channels with all those banner ads in there.

My Favorite list has only HD channels in it. The Channels I get has HD and SD and the SD duplicates of the HD channels.

Edited by jimmie57, 20 November 2012 - 03:05 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#67 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:00 PM

I changed my guide to all channels I get and it took over 1 minute to completely around.
It especially slowed down when I got to the PPV channels with all those banner ads in there.

My Favorite list has only HD channels in it. The Channels I get has HD and SD and the SD duplicates of the HD channels.


Why would you want to show SD dups of HD channels? That might slow a tad.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#68 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:04 PM

Why would you want to show SD dups of HD channels? That might slow a tad.


I personally do not use the SD channels, nor do I use the Channels I Get. When a person has a question about an SD channel that I have in my list as only HD it is my easiest way to get to the SD channel.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#69 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:47 PM

Been watching this thread (and all others like it). I've been out of contract for years, and will stay that way, until DirecTV throws some horsepower at these DVRs.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#70 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,913 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:08 PM

I get your point but you sort of mixed things. You expect them "to work" which they do and apparently a diminished response time equates to in your thoughts "not working"?

You are right about Direct's evolving technology, it cuts not only through the receivers but also the infrastructure my wallet has felt that being in an obscenely large home and wanting things "just so" I have had to invest and re-invest. A choice I made. Yes I did grumble at times but now with my current set up I couldn't be happier.

And yes my HR23-700 sets the land speed record for an inanimate object at times. I've also seen firmware improve speed on machines and would not be surprised if such wasn't currently in the works.

You chose to make an investment and you have issues now with some of the changes. Your best recourse is to constructively address Direct TV with those issues and your feelings without berating people. (and I'm not saying you are)

I get where you are coming from though as I myself was there only but three years ago myself. I've had over 6k invested in initial infrastructure and changes to support the evolutions of the technology. I accepted that finally as I only have Dish or Direct as options (out in farmland).

In the end I respect your position Mike. I was just making observation that the overall tone of the thread was getting a bit heated is all.

Don "and now back to Cows With Guns on channel 392" Bolton


I think DirecTV does 'owe' me equipment that works. I paid $600 to get 3 HR24-500s that worked pretty well until they messed them up with the HDGUI. Why should I be out the $600 I paid to get HD DVRs that responded to the remote etc?

Are you suggesting that I should expect to pay $600 every year or two to keep up with DirecTVs software engineers? Maybe I should say lack of software engineers?

There is no amount of money I can pay to get back to the performance of my pre-HDGUI HR24s is there? From all appearances the HR34 also suffers from similar response issues. Maybe they'll fix them because the HR34 is still pretty young but they never did fix the HR20/21/22 or 23 so why should we expect anything different?

I should just be happy that the $600 I paid to get responsive DVRs was only a temporary fix?

So many questions.... So few answers!:rolleyes:


Go fast, turn left, repeat until done.


#71 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:15 PM

392! Darn, I can't get that one- it's the Eastern feed, no? Guide says it's from NY. Are they shooting new Chik-fil-A ads around there? :D
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#72 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:22 PM

Can you test using an iPad, iPhone or a web based control of your sets? That'd eliminate- or not- the remote being part of the problem.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#73 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,256 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:29 PM

I've been out of contract for years, and will stay that way, until DirecTV throws some horsepower at these DVRs.

Horsepower only fixes the problems for those fortunate enough to get the new hardware.

Fixing the software will surely improve the situation for EVERYONE.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#74 OFFLINE   racermd

racermd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:52 PM

Horsepower only fixes the problems for those fortunate enough to get the new hardware.

Fixing the software will surely improve the situation for EVERYONE.


I second that. I remember going through similar sluggishness issues with my old Ultimate TV units from WAAAY back when. They offered great features but were sluggish in everything they did. Eventually, once they were EOL'd, a final software release made things quite snappy. Not sure if it was removal of no-longer-needed functions or whether the code was simply optimized properly or something else entirely. But the hardware was obviously not the problem - the software WAS.

I get the same sort of feeling about the HR2x boxes. A little more time tweaking the code to run a little faster and more responsively would certainly go a long way to quieting some of these types of complaints. However, with multiple units made by multiple manufacturers, it could be a daunting task to make sure every optimization works on every unit, even if it's beta-tested by select users in the normal fashion (which shall not be named here).

The HR34 box was certainly an opportunity lost on doing a ground-up reassessment, reorganization, and reprioritization of how the software is written and tested.

Can the HR2x and HR3x boxes be made to feel snappy and responsive, seemingly instantly responding to user input? Make no mistake - it CAN be done. It's software that can be re-written to prioritize user input over other actions. The old Ultimate TV units are a good example of this. The question is whether or not the powers-that-be at D* think such an endeavor is worth the time and expense to do so on the existing equipment. Until now (and for the foreseeable future), the answer is clearly, "no."

#75 OFFLINE   bobcamp1

bobcamp1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:50 AM

Horsepower only fixes the problems for those fortunate enough to get the new hardware.

Fixing the software will surely improve the situation for EVERYONE.


Yep. Interestingly enough, the THR22s don't seem to have these problems. Same hardware, different software. So maybe that's one solution for the OP, depending on what features he wants.

Since it's been so long and they haven't fixed it, they're either unable or unwilling to fix the problems. Either way, it's not going to change.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...