Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Anyone with Jadeworld channels?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   etong

etong

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 10:04 PM

I have just subscribed it couple days ago. The pictures quality is same when the programming was on Directv. They now have added 2 temporary channels to rebroadcast the 2 prime time dramas.

I added the Jadeworld programming over Top 200 package, so only cost $29.99.


I just got mine installed. I think the picture quality is slightly worse. I can tell it's a bit more grainy at times. HD channels are not as sharp either. But channel surfing seems quicker than directv. You were right about those two "replay" channels. They replay dramas from a week before i think? Not sure if they will keep those temporary channels but it would be nice. I also had two dishes installed because of HD option. The installer took down the old dish but did not take off the mounts attached to the roof. He said he didn't have anything that can fill the mount holes so he didn't want to remove everything. I feel kind of strange that an installer does not have tool to seal the holes. But i understand that he wasn't obligated to take it down.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,642 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 December 2012 - 10:13 PM

I feel kind of strange that an installer does not have tool to seal the holes. But i understand that he wasn't obligated to take it down.

It is a liability ... if he patches your roof and it leaks would you say "oh well, he tried" or be angry and possibly sue DISH and the installer? If everyone just said "oh well" then more installers would attempt to patch the holes. But a few angry customers keep installers within their responsibility.

#28 OFFLINE   etong

etong

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

He actually agreed to do it at first and changed his mind in the end. I think he was in a hurry to leave. But thank god i do not have 3 dishes on the roof now.

#29 OFFLINE   gorseelai

gorseelai

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 01 December 2012 - 11:46 PM

In Los Angeles, we only need one dish to receive both International and HD channels. The installer also took the Directv dish off the roof per my request, but can't use the same pole because the mount of the Dish has different size.

I am curious the move from Directv to Dish. Rumor is that TVB was asking for a price increase on their package on Directv, but Directv refused. But now, Dish is selling the package for the same price with some additional English channels, plus if you subscribe to one of the English programmings, Jadeworld will only cost $29.99. From a profit standpoint, it doesn't make sense for TVB. Maybe Directv was asking for a higher retransmission fee?

I notice Dish does carry TV Japan in HD. I am hopefully Dish and Jadeworld will offer TVBHD in the near future. That would be really nice.

#30 OFFLINE   etong

etong

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2007

Posted 02 December 2012 - 12:17 AM

I think it's the other way around. Directv asked to take more money from TVB. A lot of people are still under Directv's contract and could not switch. TVB would have nothing to gain asking for a price increase. As far as HD option, TVBUSA is so far behind on that. When I was in Hong Kong a year ago, almost every channel was in HD. Their SD format looks especially terrible and I think it's from the result of PAL vs NTSC mismatch resolutions.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...