Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

AM21 and Genie/C31


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bob Coxner

Bob Coxner

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2005

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:25 PM

Will the AM21 work with either/both/none of these receivers?
Sony 34" HD-CRT KD34XBR970 and Sceptre 40" LCD
Roku
R22 DVR / HR20-700 HD DVR
DirecTV since 1999
Waco/Temple/Bryan DMA

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:26 PM

Will the AM21 work with either/both/none of these receivers?

It works with the Genie, and since the 31 is a client, the OTA channels are in the 31's guide too.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Bob Coxner

Bob Coxner

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2005

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:40 PM

It works with the Genie, and since the 31 is a client, the OTA channels are in the 31's guide too.


Thanks! That was quick!
Sony 34" HD-CRT KD34XBR970 and Sceptre 40" LCD
Roku
R22 DVR / HR20-700 HD DVR
DirecTV since 1999
Waco/Temple/Bryan DMA

#4 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 19 November 2012 - 12:42 PM

I'm using the AM21 on my GENIE and have two C31 clients. Works wonderfully.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#5 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:54 PM

I just talked with DTV and they said the AM21 definitely does not work with the HR34 (Genie). Who's right? I hope DTV is wrong.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#6 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,099 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:03 PM

We're right of course.
The HR34 even works better than other DVRs with the AM21 as it scans for channels rather than simply tuning what is in the Guide database.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#7 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:01 PM

Well, I guess I gotta call them back. I wonder how I tell them they're wrong?

BTW, how much is the AM21?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#8 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,399 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:17 PM

We keep hearing situations where the CSRs are giving this completely incorrect information.
My HR34 and AM21 work fine together.
The AM21 is about $50....

#9 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,553 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:24 PM

And if it turns out you can't get an AM21 out of DirecTV, simply order it from a third party vendor such as Solid Signal.

I also have an AM21 connected to my HR34, and it works just fine.

#10 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:25 PM

Well, I guess I gotta call them back. I wonder how I tell them they're wrong?

BTW, how much is the AM21?


No need to call them back and tell them anything quite honestly. You can order one right from your directv acct page, they are $50 and are usually there in a couple of days or less. Many of us know they work with any H/HR21 model or higher and the HR34 as many of us are using them exactly that way.

#11 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,751 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:29 PM

The only "gotcha" with the AM21/HR34 combo is you're limited to 2 simultaneous OTA recordings, even though the HR34 can record up to 5 channels simultaneously.
/steve

#12 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:51 AM

What kind of hookups are used in connecting the AM21 to the HR34 and to connect the AM21 to the OTA antenna? Any cables come with the AM21?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,553 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:27 AM

What kind of hookups are used in connecting the AM21 to the HR34 and to connect the AM21 to the OTA antenna? Any cables come with the AM21?


The AM21 comes with a built in power pigtail. You unplug the power cord that goes to the HR34 and plug the pigtail into the HR34. Then plug the power cord into the AM21. You connect the AM21 to the HR34 with a USB cable (should be provided, but if not it is a standard USB cable). Regular TV antenna coax connector on the AM21 for the antenna input.

#14 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:29 AM

Thanks, Carl. I've got a box 'o electronic junk and there's plenty of usb cables in there. So all the info is passed via usb. Full 1080p/i and digital sound?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#15 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,553 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 04:01 PM

Yep. USB does it all between the AM21 and the HR2x/HR34.

#16 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 24 November 2012 - 10:44 AM

Thanks, Carl. I've got a box 'o electronic junk and there's plenty of usb cables in there. So all the info is passed via usb. Full 1080p/i and digital sound?


Remember its just a transport stream, whatever the transport stream has in it gets recorded by the dvr or displayed by a non dvr.

#17 OFFLINE   Brubear

Brubear

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 24 November 2012 - 12:50 PM

We keep hearing situations where the CSRs are giving this completely incorrect information.
My HR34 and AM21 work fine together.
The AM21 is about $50....


the reason is that they are not familiar with the product and the verbiage on the resources does not say which ones WILL work, just which ones WON'T. I'll submit that suggestion for an update - thanks for the feedback!

my comments and opinions are my own and do not suggest endorsement by my employer


#18 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 24 November 2012 - 06:20 PM

No need to call them back and tell them anything quite honestly. You can order one right from your directv acct page, they are $50 and are usually there in a couple of days or less. Many of us know they work with any H/HR21 model or higher and the HR34 as many of us are using them exactly that way.


And they also work with the R22. In fact, even if you don't have DirecTV HD if you hook an AM-21 to an R22 you can record all off-air channels in HD. Trust me, I know!!

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#19 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,474 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 24 November 2012 - 06:56 PM

My HR34 and AM21 work fine together

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-700

HR24-100

H25-100

Denon AVR-X2000

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360

Xboxone

IMAC 21.5
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#20 OFFLINE   digitalbrad

digitalbrad

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2012

Posted 24 November 2012 - 11:05 PM

I'm about to upgrade to the HR34 Genie. Directv tells me that the USB ports on the back are not active and are for future use only. I will lose ABC HD if I can't use my AM21 OTA box - don't want to do that. So you users had no issues when connecting the AM21 to the USB of the HR34?

Thanks

#21 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 25 November 2012 - 10:45 AM

And they also work with the R22. In fact, even if you don't have DirecTV HD if you hook an AM-21 to an R22 you can record all off-air channels in HD. Trust me, I know!!

That brings up a couple of questions: 1) Do you get a guide when using the AM21 this way? and 2) Would my old HR20 (which has OTA built-in) be usable to record OTA and would I have a guide with info in it?

Here's a third question: why the heck did they get rid of built-in OTA? I don't want OTA to get rid of DTV, but to supplement it when there's rain fade.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#22 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:18 AM

That brings up a couple of questions: 1) Do you get a guide when using the AM21 this way? and 2) Would my old HR20 (which has OTA built-in) be usable to record OTA and would I have a guide with info in it?

Here's a third question: why the heck did they get rid of built-in OTA? I don't want OTA to get rid of DTV, but to supplement it when there's rain fade.


1) Yes, you get guide data for the channels that are tunable in your zip code(s) entered during setup.

2) The HR20 works the same way it always has but you have to keep it activated if thats what you're asking. They are door stops if they arent activated on your account.

They got rid of built-in OTA because most dont use it at all so to add the cost of OTA to each and every unit was not cost effective. They removed it and made it an option for that small percentage of customers that still use it.

Rain fade or not I use OTA for all my network recordings/viewing, mpeg 2 is much smoother when it comes to trickplay functions, always has been and probably always will be, and I dont have to horse around with switching recordings back and forth between OTA and SAT locals...OTA just works, always unless the local station is having issues which is rare. I also see a slight improvement in PQ. MPEG2 takes more disk space but I use 2TB drives on all my DVR's so its not an issue for me. Another added bonus to OTA is if a dvr dies, all the OTA recordings can be played back on any other dvr because they are not encrypted or "married" to the dvr that recorded them. This is a real bonus for me.

#23 OFFLINE   JosephB

JosephB

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,163 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, AL
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 29 November 2012 - 07:18 PM

Does this include the older AM21? I'm looking at coming back to DirecTV and have one of the first generation AM21s (not the smaller, slimmer one)

#24 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 528 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:24 PM

Does this include the older AM21? I'm looking at coming back to DirecTV and have one of the first generation AM21s (not the smaller, slimmer one)


I'm using one of the first AM21's ever made (part of the beta way back when) and I'm using it just fine with an HR34 and Samsung RVU--both work great.

#25 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:39 PM

Another added bonus to OTA is if a dvr dies, all the OTA recordings can be played back on any other dvr because they are not encrypted or "married" to the dvr that recorded them. This is a real bonus for me.


I did not know that. Are you using external esata drives?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...