Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Screen saver: PLEASE MAKE IT STOP!


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 18 November 2012 - 11:22 PM

WTH? I'm watching TV and the screen saver comes on. Huh? WTH? (This has been an on going thorn in my side). The tuner is on a channel that is broadcasting, Why do I want the screen saver to kick in? :confused: Please stop it! Dtv should be smart enough, repeat, should be smart enough to know what channels are broadcasting 24/7 and which are not, if I'm tuned to a music only channel then maybe the screen saver makes sense, otherwise STOP IT! At least give me the option to indefinitely disable the screen saver. Dear Directv, I don't want or appreciate your screen saver. PLEASE MAKE IT STOP! :mad::nono:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,485 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 19 November 2012 - 01:44 AM

What model Receiver/DVR do you have?
Have you tried resetting it?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,354 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 November 2012 - 08:38 AM

And what software version?

#4 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 294 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 November 2012 - 08:49 AM

MIne does that also ! Sleep mode Reset doesnt work :mad:
Channel guide hangs when you scroll the guide :nono:

HR22-100 software 0x5d2

#5 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,122 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:08 AM

MIne does that also ! Sleep mode Reset doesnt work :mad:
Channel guide hangs when you scroll the guide :nono:

HR22-100 software 0x5d2


Have you turned the scrolling feature off and tried it ?
Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences, Scrolling Effects : OFF

It made a huge difference on my 3 receivers.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,122 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:18 AM

From a previous thread he has the HR22-100 receiver unless his equipment has changed recently.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 294 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 November 2012 - 10:03 AM

Have you turned the scrolling feature off and tried it ?
Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences, Scrolling Effects : OFF

It made a huge difference on my 3 receivers.


Yea did all of that long time ago. No joy :(

Yea got confused which reciever was goofin on me my other is a HR21-700. They both look the same from the front

#8 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,354 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:04 PM

I never had that happen to me unless I have the tv on for a long time on the same channel, or using pandora or music channels, which receiver model you have AFAIK the HR34 does it from what posters are reporting, make sure you reset the receiver and turn off scrolling effects in the settings menu and power saving off.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 
Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:45 PM

I'm guessing it's happening when you haven't touched the remote for an extended period.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 294 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:49 PM

I'm guessing it's happening when you haven't touched the remote for an extended period.


Nope in fact it just happen this morning to me ! Was watching TV at 6am went to my office then back to the kitchen 45 minutes later turned on my TV and ther it was DTV Logo Floating around my screen.

#11 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:45 PM

I'm guessing it's happening when you haven't touched the remote for an extended period.


Not sure in most cases. I don't need a screen saver, after all, the image is constantly changing as it is tuned to a 24/7 channel. Aren't all channels 24/7 now? Infomercials in the middle of the night.

Just don't get why there is a screen saver except for maybe music (audio only channels). :confused:

This has been happening a lot lately.

HR22/100, 0x628

#12 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,122 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:08 PM

This would require some work but might be worth it to try.
Take pictures of your series settings first so you can refer to them to rebuild the settings.

Do a software reset and choose the second one in the list "Reset Defaults".
This is going to reset all settings that you have done to the receiver. This choice will not erase your recordings like the third one in the list will do.
After you do this you will need to remake your favorites list, series recording list, resolution choices, etc.

Do this also: check the signal strengths of each of the satellites on each of the tuners and see if they are different. It has been suggested that if one tuner is not getting a good signal that it can trigger the Screen Saver.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,676 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:48 PM

Just don't get why there is a screen saver except for maybe music (audio only channels).


The reason there's a screensaver is for when you've paused playback. It's not supposed to pop up while you're watching tv and there's been activity on the remote.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,480 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:57 PM

Not sure in most cases. I don't need a screen saver, after all, the image is constantly changing as it is tuned to a 24/7 channel. Aren't all channels 24/7 now? Infomercials in the middle of the night.

Just don't get why there is a screen saver except for maybe music (audio only channels). :confused:

This has been happening a lot lately.

HR22/100, 0x628


Screen saver prevents burn in if you've left it in Pause. Is it remotely possible some how Pause is being activated?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#15 OFFLINE   Ken Stomski

Ken Stomski

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2011

Posted 21 November 2012 - 01:22 PM

It is a power save mode. In communications from Directv there is supposed to be a setting to turn it on or off, but I can't seem to find any such setting in the menu systems on several different model receivers. My r22-100 goes into this power saving mode randomly.

#16 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,122 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 November 2012 - 01:24 PM

It is a power save mode. In communications from Directv there is supposed to be a setting to turn it on or off, but I can't seem to find any such setting in the menu systems on several different model receivers. My r22-100 goes into this power saving mode randomly.


Menu, Settings, Power Saving

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#17 OFFLINE   Mark40930

Mark40930

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:13 PM

I know a version of screen saver kicks on when watching News Mix channel. Can disable that one by pressing the Dash key twice on your remote, but not sure if that will turn this one off.

D* Setup:
1 x HR24-500 DVR

FTA Setup (in storage):
HotDish 90cm dish
Invacom Linear/Circular LNBF
Openbox S16 HD receiver

Another circumstance, too, worried me in those days: that there was no on like me and I was unlike anyone else. - Dostoyevsky


#18 OFFLINE   Igor

Igor

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2005

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:34 PM

Do you have two tuners enabled?
HR21, HR23, HR34 (HDMI, no OTA),
Slimline5 + SWM-16
iPhone and iPad with DIRECTV app :)

#19 OFFLINE   mark40511

mark40511

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
  • LocationLexington KY
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:10 PM

Oh Oh Oh------

This has happened to me SEVERAL times. I occasionally watch live tv but usually it's DVR recorded programs and this has happened to me three times. Once on Live, and twice watching DVR recordings.....I was like WTH? I did a reboot. I haven't seen this in a few months. I am going to turn scrolling effects off.

#20 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:56 PM

The reason there's a screensaver is for when you've paused playback. It's not supposed to pop up while you're watching tv and there's been activity on the remote.


Thanks Runner,

Pause will resume after 90 minutes right? Are we really worried about burn-in after only 90 minutes? I'm not. I watched years of HGTV while it was still 4:3 aspect ration, only channel I tuned to, guess what? I don't see brighter images where the wider 16:9 images display. OK, maybe it would burn-in if I had a Plasma, but the majority of TVs are LCD, at least give us an option to disable the screensaver, it's become a real annoyance lately.




spam firewall