Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Screen saver: PLEASE MAKE IT STOP!


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 December 2012 - 06:47 PM

It's not clear what you're asking here. The buffer is only for the last 90 minutes. If you're paused for more than 90 minutes you only get the last 90 minutes. Pause doesn't automatically turn itself off after 90 minutes either.



Just because you're not worried about burn in doesn't mean others aren't.


I expected it to come out of pause after 90 minutes (didn't Tivo do this after its 30 minute buffer timed out?). Not saying this is a Tivo or should act like a Tivo, but that was my reference from years ago...

An option to enable disable screen saver would be nice. I am not worried about burn-in, so I would turn it off as it annoys the heck out of me. For those concerned about burn-in they could leave it enabled. Default of enabled is fine, just let me disable it.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,221 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 December 2012 - 07:29 PM

I expected it to come out of pause after 90 minutes (didn't Tivo do this after its 30 minute buffer timed out?). Not saying this is a Tivo or should act like a Tivo, but that was my reference from years ago...


No, TiVo did not come out of pause. You only got the last 30 minutes no matter how long you were paused for.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#28 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:27 PM

I have an older friend, and I was told about this today..... No fixes or explanations??

This is stupid, glad I found this thread....WOW!

#29 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,132 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 February 2013 - 09:55 PM

I haven't heard of anyone having the screensaver come on while playing content back in a few months.

#30 OFFLINE   supermod38

supermod38

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
  • LocationCentral VA.
Joined: Jan 16, 2013

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:10 AM

I have the HR34 and it will do the screen saver once in a while, not so often that it bothers me.:grin:

I'm not here for a long time, just a GOOD time!
HR34 lease- Vizio 26"
C-31-lease-32" Emerson
HR24-owned-RCA 46"

H24- owned- :righton:


#31 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,596 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:25 AM

I have the HR34 and it will do the screen saver once in a while, not so often that it bothers me.:grin:


Same here on my HR34;

Occurs rarely, so a really minor annoyance. Particularly after long periods of viewing live TV with no remote entry. Pressing any key brings the picture right back though.

#32 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,132 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:30 AM

Can't say that I have, but then for months I thought the other screensaver bug was fixed, until I finally saw it.

#33 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:37 AM

Same here on my HR34;

Occurs rarely, so a really minor annoyance. Particularly after long periods of viewing live TV with no remote entry. Pressing any key brings the picture right back though.


Still see it daily. Like you said, press any button and it comes back. But why does it come on in the first place? What better screen saver than ever changing content? HR21. At least you no longer loose the buffer. Last time this reared it's ugly head (several years ago) my DVR would dump the buffer.

Give us an option to enable or disable.

#34 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,596 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:05 AM

Still see it daily. Like you said, press any button and it comes back. But why does it come on in the first place? What better screen saver than ever changing content? HR21. At least you no longer loose the buffer. Last time this reared it's ugly head (several years ago) my DVR would dump the buffer.

Give us an option to enable or disable.


Oh, much agreed;

Not trying to trivialize this issue at all, just compared to the past I rarely see it, thus relegated it (so far anyway) to the my "minor annoyance" category. :)

But yes, there definitely needs to be an option to turn off the screensaver for sure. However, like other good ideas it seems to sort of fall on deaf ears in the decision making process of the code developers at DIRECTV.

A lot of good ideas get through, but then a good number of other seemingly very attainable ones don't for some reason.

Don't know whether its bureaucratic inertia or what that causes this kind of intransigence for a very needed feature like this.

#35 OFFLINE   Reggie3

Reggie3

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 553 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:15 AM

The reason there's a screensaver is for when you've paused playback. It's not supposed to pop up while you're watching tv and there's been activity on the remote.


That has been my experience with my receivers. Only when I had power saving turned on would the screen saver come on. I have found that after some updates the default would reset this to "on"

Basement: H21-100 to 60" Sony SXRD

Family Room: HR34 Genie HDMI to 70" Slharp Elite (Feb 22nd, 2013)

Main Bedroom:  HR22-100  to 50" Panasonic Plasma

Loyal DirecTV customer since 1996

 

 


#36 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,549 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:21 AM

Oh, much agreed;

Not trying to trivialize this issue at all, just compared to the past I rarely see it, thus relegated it (so far anyway) to the my "minor annoyance" category. :)

But yes, there definitely needs to be an option to turn off the screensaver for sure. However, like other good ideas it seems to sort of fall on deaf ears in the decision making process of the code developers at DIRECTV.

A lot of good ideas get through, but then a good number of other seemingly very attainable ones don't for some reason.

Don't know whether its bureaucratic inertia or what that causes this kind of intransigence for a very needed feature like this.


Why is this a needed feature?
Yes, the bug that brings it on should be fixed, but if you're watching actively and there's no screen saver, why....?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#37 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,596 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 February 2013 - 11:24 AM

Why is this a needed feature?
Yes, the bug that brings it on should be fixed, but if you're watching actively and there's no screen saver, why....?


That's my point;

I'm not confident the bug can ever be completely fixed. :)

It seems to keep making a come back to varying degrees in new versions of FW. DIRECTV should certainly keep trying to solve the problem, but save themselves and subscribers some headaches by giving the receivers the ability to turn it off if a sub. chooses to (at least for now).

I mean, what's it really needed for nowadays anyhow? Aren't the days of screen burn in on flat panel TVs (formally plasma in particular) pretty much a thing of the past?

#38 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    An Awesome Dude

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:17 PM

I'm guessing it's happening when you haven't touched the remote for an extended period.

Yes and its UN-NEEDED!!!!!!!

One thing i worry about if im forced off my RCA box that doesnt do this crap....... (It luckily came out before they started this BS)

#39 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 16 February 2013 - 03:28 PM

Thanks to all!!!...This crazy old coot, all he does is record old movies at night..I find it hard to beleve that during a recording it does it?

Thats just not right!!!!....I feel bad for the guy, there is nothing I can do...he and his wife are wonderful people...

#40 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,132 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 February 2013 - 05:35 PM

Just to be clear, it would not affect the recording. Have you tried turning energy saver off?

#41 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 16 February 2013 - 08:12 PM

Just to be clear, it would not affect the recording. Have you tried turning energy saver off?


Just what the notification screen says on the power savings setting menu

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#42 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 17 February 2013 - 08:23 AM

Just to be clear, it would not affect the recording. Have you tried turning energy saver off?


Yes it is off.....I only know what Ive been told and it has messed up a few recordings...

I live 30 minutes away not like its easy to just drop by for me...

Thanks you

#43 OFFLINE   nowandthen

nowandthen

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 17 February 2013 - 07:53 PM

Just to be clear, it would not afct the recording. Have you tried turning energy saver off?


Just checked Power Saving with the hope this was the culprit. No luck. Power saving was off. What does power saving do anyway?

#44 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,132 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 17 February 2013 - 07:55 PM

Puts the receiver in standby after 4 hours of no remote buttons hit.

#45 OFFLINE   GolfWatcher

GolfWatcher

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • LocationOrlando, Florida
Joined: Apr 19, 2013

Posted 19 April 2013 - 02:45 PM

Good Afternoon,

Regarding receiver HR22-100 when on a channel for more than 4 hours of no activity the receiver goes into a screen saver/power save mode.  So to fix that...  every 3 1/2 hours someone has to hit a button on the remote so it sees some activity.  We have at least 30 screens that are all on the same channel through a DA.  So when it goes to screen saver people start to lose their minds.  Is there any fix for this...?   Any help is greatly appreciated.



#46 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,221 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 April 2013 - 03:03 PM

Good Afternoon,

Regarding receiver HR22-100 when on a channel for more than 4 hours of no activity the receiver goes into a screen saver/power save mode.  So to fix that...  every 3 1/2 hours someone has to hit a button on the remote so it sees some activity.  We have at least 30 screens that are all on the same channel through a DA.  So when it goes to screen saver people start to lose their minds.  Is there any fix for this...?   Any help is greatly appreciated.

 

No, just turn the power save feature off.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#47 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    An Awesome Dude

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 19 April 2013 - 03:46 PM

That sounds easy enough but does that work??

#48 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 19 April 2013 - 04:12 PM

That sounds easy enough but does that work??

 

 

NOPE....



#49 OFFLINE   teesee150

teesee150

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2011

Posted 02 January 2014 - 03:55 PM

I can't believe there isn't a fix for this. I have a HR22-100 that has been doing this for a couple months. The screen saver randomly pops on about 30-40 times a day. Sometimes it will pop on after 5 minutes, sometimes it will pop on after 60 minutes, but its usually a 3 or 4 times an hour. It will also turn itself off randomly. Sometimes its on for a couple minutes, sometimes its on for an hour and then will randomly go back to live tv.

 

I have tried completely resetting the receiver, changing the scrolling option, turning power safe mode off, nothing has made a single difference.

 

DirecTV wants me to PAY to fix the problem to...not sure why they think I should pay to fix equipment that I do not own, absolutely ridicioulus.

 

*EDIT*

 

It actually went to screen saver, and back to live TV while I was typing this post out....sigh


Edited by teesee150, 02 January 2014 - 03:56 PM.


#50 OFFLINE   inf0z

inf0z

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2011

Posted 02 January 2014 - 08:06 PM

I can't believe there isn't a fix for this. I have a HR22-100 that has been doing this for a couple months. The screen saver randomly pops on about 30-40 times a day. Sometimes it will pop on after 5 minutes, sometimes it will pop on after 60 minutes, but its usually a 3 or 4 times an hour. It will also turn itself off randomly. Sometimes its on for a couple minutes, sometimes its on for an hour and then will randomly go back to live tv.

 

I have tried completely resetting the receiver, changing the scrolling option, turning power safe mode off, nothing has made a single difference.

 

DirecTV wants me to PAY to fix the problem to...not sure why they think I should pay to fix equipment that I do not own, absolutely ridicioulus.

 

*EDIT*

 

It actually went to screen saver, and back to live TV while I was typing this post out....sigh

 

Is your system SWIM or non-SWIM?  Also in regards to DTV wanting you to pay for a service call that's 100% normal.  Your user agreement states that you will be charged for service calls and equipment replacement, and you would be hard pressed to find a TV provider that won't charge you for a service call or at least build it in to your monthly price. That's pretty much the status quo for the industry. 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...