Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Upgrading HR24 - Error Message


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 19 November 2012 - 03:33 PM

I've been following the instructions on upgrading my (owned!) HR24-200. I'm booted into Ubuntu and have installed all neccessary tools. I have 4 bays for HD's, so I'm using sda for the new 2TB drive, and sdb for the old 500GB drive with my old material on it.

I've gotten to this place in the instructions:

Type mkdir /mnt/fap
Type mkdir /mnt/hr24
Type mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
Type mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2 /mnt/hr20
Type xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J - /mnt/fap

At this point, I'm getting this output:

xfsdump: WARNING: write to stdio failed: 32 (Broken pipe)
xfsdump: ending media file
xfsdump: media file size 18874368 bytes
xfsdump: dump size (non-dir files) : 13698056 bytes
xfsdump: NOTE: dump interrupted: 16 seconds elapsed
xfsdump: Dump Status: INTERRUPT

And it's now just sitting there. Should I stop it? What did I do wrong?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 November 2012 - 07:26 AM

Use an older build of gparted instead....not all flavors of linux, especially the newer versions have a compatible version of xfstools. I use an old gparted ver like 0.3.4-1, for this application there has never been a reason to use a different one.

http://sourceforge.n...livecd-0.3.4-1/

#3 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,007 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:46 AM

That seems more like one of, if not both, of the drives were not removed at the proper time from the unit. You can't remove them after an RBR. You have to do a menu reboot and pull the power from the unit at the moment the front panel lights go out or the drive is locked.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:37 AM

I did. I made sure of it each time.

But I'll try it again for each drive and let you know.

Here's an updated version of my output. It's now saying I need to use the -R option. But I don't know where to use it:

root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2 /mnt/hr20
root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J - /mnt/fap
xfsrestore: using file dump (drive_simple) strategy
xfsrestore: version 3.1.1 (dump format 3.0)
xfsdump: using file dump (drive_simple) strategy
xfsdump: version 3.1.1 (dump format 3.0)
xfsdump: level 0 dump of jeffrey-MacPro:/mnt/hr20
xfsdump: xfsrestore: ERROR: -R option required to resume or -Q option required to force completion of previously interrupted restore session
xfsrestore: Restore Status: ERROR
dump date: Tue Nov 20 10:33:17 2012
xfsdump: session id: 6142d59d-e808-42de-99b6-044ab1594f18
xfsdump: session label: ""
xfsdump: ino map phase 1: constructing initial dump list
xfsdump: ino map phase 2: skipping (no pruning necessary)
xfsdump: ino map phase 3: skipping (only one dump stream)
xfsdump: ino map construction complete
xfsdump: estimated dump size: 450384360768 bytes
xfsdump: creating dump session media file 0 (media 0, file 0)
xfsdump: dumping ino map
xfsdump: dumping directories
xfsdump: WARNING: write to stdio failed: 32 (Broken pipe)
xfsdump: ending media file
xfsdump: media file size 0 bytes
xfsdump: dump size (non-dir files) : 0 bytes
xfsdump: NOTE: dump interrupted: 13 seconds elapsed
xfsdump: Dump Status: INTERRUPT

#5 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:48 AM

You do need to go through the graceful shutdown procedure for each drive again. I also highly recommend using an older version of gparted as I pointed out above.

#6 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,007 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:51 AM

You do need to go through the graceful shutdown procedure for each drive again. I also highly recommend using an older version of gparted as I pointed out above.


Ditto
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,007 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:53 AM

root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2 /mnt/hr20
root@jeffrey-MacPro:~# xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J - /mnt/fap


Wait, are you doing this on a Mac Pro or using the gparted disk? You have to use a gparted disk.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:01 AM

I'm on a Mac using Ubuntu. I can't use gparted. It won't boot my Mac Pro5,1. I've been using this successfully for the last couple of years, but now it's failing.

#9 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:20 AM

Is this the exact same distro you were running a few years ago and the same Mac Pro? I'm sure there is way to find a pc and use the gparted boot disk. Everyone has at least one pc.

#10 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:07 PM

Is this the exact same distro you were running a few years ago and the same Mac Pro? I'm sure there is way to find a pc and use the gparted boot disk. Everyone has at least one pc.


No. That distro was erased when the drive it was on needed repair. But yes, it's the same Mac Pro.

I'm out in the middle of nowhere. I'm afraid I don't have any access to a PC.

#11 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:22 PM

You do need to go through the graceful shutdown procedure for each drive again. I also highly recommend using an older version of gparted as I pointed out above.


I reformatted the new drive to free space, allowed the unit to reformat the drive on startup. Brought it fully up and functioning, then gracefully shut down the unit. I then replaced the original drive, again booted the unit and allowed it to come fully up, then gracefully shut down the unit.

I also trashed the /mnt/fap and /mnt/hr20 directories and started from scratch.

The INTERRUPT error is still happening.

#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,007 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:05 PM

At what point are you pulling the power to remove the drives? Right after pressing - or do you wait for the front panel lights to go out?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 20 November 2012 - 04:52 PM

I'm choosing Reset from Settings. Entering a "-". Waiting for the unit to fully power down and the lights go off. Disconnecting the power cord and removing the drive.

#14 OFFLINE   vitoasaro

vitoasaro

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:26 PM

I'm having the exact same problem as rlinsurf, and I'm gracefully shutting down each drive on e DVR. I've tried Gparted 0.3.3-1 and 0.14.1-6.

Was this ever resolved, and if so, how?

#15 OFFLINE   rlinsurf

rlinsurf

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:41 PM

No, it hasn't. I would send a report to the XFS developer's group, http://oss.sgi.com/m...an/listinfo/xfs.

They know of the issue, but don't have enough information yet to fix it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...