Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Confused on HD dish selection for HR21 receiver


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hinge

hinge

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 16, 2011

Posted 19 November 2012 - 03:39 PM

Going fron SD to HD, I have SD locals on 119 (from Lyng sat), looking at non-SWM 3lnb with 4 outputs, but then I'll lose my SD locals on 119, correct, otherwise use 5lnb with 4 outputs, right?

Edited by hinge, 19 November 2012 - 04:18 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,557 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 19 November 2012 - 04:14 PM

Other than LOS issues, there isn't much to recommend the 3LNB over the 5LNB.

Are you losing sight of 119W?

If you're moving entirely away from SD, you could conceivably get away with the 3LNB but you may have storm fade issues that 119W might survive better.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,407 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 November 2012 - 04:19 PM

I could be wrong but it appears from this spread sheet that your locals are on the 103.
The Sd locals are on the 119.

link: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=206618

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,877 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 19 November 2012 - 04:25 PM

If it's a professional install they will give you a Slimline 5 dish since Scranton is a 119 market.

The HD locals for Scranton are on 103, so if you want to do it yourself, you can use the Slimline 3, but you will no longer get the locals on any SD receivers you might still have. You'll also lose several national English language channels that are on 119 like mun2, Jewish Life TV, Hope Channel and CCTV News, as well as some English language Sonic Tap channels like Rat Pack, Holidays & Happenings, Groove Lounge, Jazz, Metro Blend, Great Standards, PUMP!, Piano, Familiar Favorites and Tranquility.

While the Slimline 3 dish came out more recently, the Slimline 5 is not obsolete. The Slimline 3 was mainly created for those with line of site issues who can't get access to 119, since until it came out, much of the northeast was screwed if you wanted HD channels and you have any trees to the southwest.

Edited by KyL416, 19 November 2012 - 04:37 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   hinge

hinge

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 16, 2011

Posted 19 November 2012 - 05:41 PM

Ok, I'll go with the 5LNB slimline, I'll install it, and going to try without meter, hit or miss from what I'm reading, any meter recommendations for $100 to $125?

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    πŸ™ˆπŸ™‰πŸ™ŠπŸ“‘

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,276 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:37 PM

Ok, I'll go with the 5LNB slimline, I'll install it, and going to try without meter, hit or miss from what I'm reading, any meter recommendations for $100 to $125?


none. UNLESS you want to spend $450+ on a REAL meter

#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,407 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 November 2012 - 10:25 PM

Ok, I'll go with the 5LNB slimline, I'll install it, and going to try without meter, hit or miss from what I'm reading, any meter recommendations for $100 to $125?

I have aligned 2 dishes so far by using the signal strength on the TV screen and someone to relay the readings as I moved the dish. It is not a problem and for a one time deal , to me buying a meter at all is a waste of money.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,557 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:50 AM

none. UNLESS you want to spend $450+ on a REAL meter

Since the OP is contemplating a non-SWiM LNB, any signal finder ($10) and many of the professional meters will work. I don't think there are any meters at the desired price point (new or used).

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    πŸ™ˆπŸ™‰πŸ™ŠπŸ“‘

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,276 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

Since the OP is contemplating a non-SWiM LNB, any signal finder ($10) and many of the professional meters will work. I don't think there are any meters at the desired price point (new or used).


Disagree completely. Buying a signal finder is a waste of money, they are all junk! The OP asked what kind of meter was available at the $100 range. At that range, all is junk. As Jimmie57 says, is better to use the signal meter screen built in on the receivers instead of wasting the money in junk meters.

#10 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,557 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 21 November 2012 - 09:23 AM

Buying a signal finder is a waste of money, they are all junk!

If the DVR signal meter responded more quickly to changes, you might have a point.

Patience is expensive and spending minutes just finding the general azimuth comes off of the patience you have left for dialing it in.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#11 OFFLINE   djrobx

djrobx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 502 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2009

Posted 22 November 2012 - 12:05 AM

If the DVR signal meter responded more quickly to changes, you might have a point.

Patience is expensive and spending minutes just finding the general azimuth comes off of the patience you have left for dialing it in.

The DVR's meter responds pretty quickly. As long as you plumb the mast it's pretty darn easy to find the azimuth.

Functionally the DVR's meter is fine. The problem is convenience - I used to drag an old small CRT and a receiver outside. Now I don't even need to do that. I point my iPad at the TV, fire up FaceTime and then look at the signal strength on my iPhone. :)

#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    πŸ™ˆπŸ™‰πŸ™ŠπŸ“‘

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,276 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:31 AM

If the DVR signal meter responded more quickly to changes, you might have a point.

Patience is expensive and spending minutes just finding the general azimuth comes off of the patience you have left for dialing it in.


The DVR's meter responds pretty quickly. As long as you plumb the mast it's pretty darn easy to find the azimuth.

Functionally the DVR's meter is fine. The problem is convenience - I used to drag an old small CRT and a receiver outside. Now I don't even need to do that. I point my iPad at the TV, fire up FaceTime and then look at the signal strength on my iPhone. :)


That is really ingenious. :lol:




spam firewall