Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Newbie install :low signal, Terk ota, 771 problems


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hinge

hinge

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 16, 2011

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:38 PM

my 1st time installing, going from 18" to non SWM 5lnb HD Slimline using TV meter only, after doing setup of sat, max signal is 73 on 101, I blocked lnb with my hand and signal did not go to zero, 99 and 103 zero's even with BBC installed,they want their clip-on TERK ota so I then installed that at the dish, then got 771 error, took TERK off, still getting 771 even after power downs and unplugs , mixture of RG6 and RG59 cable, tomorrow going to run RG6 from dish straight to H21-200, if still 771 maybe bad lnb???

Hooked up old 18" dish for tonite and picture is OK , so receiver has to be OK

I'm guessing w/o a meter I can't test lnb ??

I wired the Terk wrong at 1st, maybe cooked lnb??

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,901 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:02 PM

First, you should have signals in high 90's for 101. Signals for 99 and 103 need to be in high 80's or 90's. Anything lower is just future problems.

Second, is there a multiswitch? If so, it MUST be a Zinwell WB68 (or an SWM8). Older multiswitches won't pass the new signals.

Third, you can't diplex, so get rid of all diplexers. Straight coax from dish to receivers, or through WB68.

#3 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:44 AM

With max signal of 73 on 101, your dish is way off alignment. On 101 you should see a few signals at or near 100 when the dish is aligned. How many transponders are you seeing on 101? You might be pointed at the wrong satellite.
And unless the dish is aligned reasonable close to correctly, you will see no signals on 99 and 103.
Are you "dithering" the dish to find the center of the 101 beam?

This is unlikely (although possible) to be a cable or LNB issue

#4 OFFLINE   hinge

hinge

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 16, 2011

Posted 23 November 2012 - 08:10 AM

I had 70's on all transponders on 101 no matter how much I turned or tilted the dish, what is bothering me is the dish did not zero when I completely blocked the lnb, like the reciver was stuck, but when I rehooked the 18" up the recvr is working fine, I'm going there now to run a RG6 cable straight to rcvr and try the "repeat sat setup" in menu.

Carl, there are no mutiswitches, this is 5lnb non swm install, 4 outputs from dish,only 1 recvr in this house, there is RG6 from dish to house, then inside house is RG59. The dish did come with PI 21V power inserter, I don't know why ,again this is non swm dish so its not installed

went to Dishpointing.com to see 101 orientation for that neighborhood, so I feel confident I'm looking at 101

Edited by hinge, 23 November 2012 - 08:45 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,901 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:22 AM

I had 70's on all transponders on 101 no matter how much I turned or tilted the dish, what is bothering me is the dish did not zero when I completely blocked the lnb,


That sure sounds like a bad LNB. Moving the dish any amount should change levels, and moving it very far (inches) should drop all transponders to zero.

You also want RG6 with solid copper center conductor for your coax. RG59 is really not acceptable, as it does not have the current carrying capacity for the Slimline LNB which draws a lot more power than the 18" dish did (from the receiver, you are correct to not use the PI).

Try the new coax run first, but if that doesn't help then replace the LNB.

#6 OFFLINE   hinge

hinge

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 16, 2011

Posted 23 November 2012 - 01:30 PM

Man, you guys were right. I wasn't on 101 sat. What happened is I zoomed in too much on Dishpointer and was just using the neighbors house as only reference to where to point dish at 101. As I zoomed out the angle changed , so I moved dish accordingly , everything after that went good, all sat's in the 90's.

The lnb stuck/not zeroing story is embarrising. There are cable splitters, inline connectors, old sat cables all coming in this house at one area. When I brought my new RG6 line into the house, I thought I connected inline to the room receiver using the existing RG59 wiring, but connected to cable jacks instead, so all along yesterday the receiver was still connected to OLD dish, no wonder numbers weren't changing when tweaking the new dish.

Thanks to all who helped

#7 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,901 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 03:43 PM

Glad you got it sorted out and going good.

#8 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,894 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 23 November 2012 - 04:12 PM

Also worth noting that those clip-on OTA antennas usually use diplexing to integrate the OTA signal into the sat coax. That won't play we'll with the 99 or the 103cb. Leave it unhooked :lol:
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#9 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:18 PM

Also worth noting that those clip-on OTA antennas usually use diplexing to integrate the OTA signal into the sat coax. That won't play we'll with the 99 or the 103cb. Leave it unhooked :lol:


Yes, if you don't have SWM, you can't use diplexing because the frequency bands overlap. If you have SWM and "whole home', ditto - diplexing is out. If you have SWM without whole home, diplexing can be made to work with the right diplexers (only some models will work) but DirecTv does not support diplexing in ANY situation so it's best avoided, unless you know exactly what you are doing.

#10 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,894 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:43 PM

Yes, if you don't have SWM, you can't use diplexing because the frequency bands overlap. If you have SWM and "whole home', ditto - diplexing is out. If you have SWM without whole home, diplexing can be made to work with the right diplexers (only some models will work) but DirecTv does not support diplexing in ANY situation so it's best avoided, unless you know exactly what you are doing.


I figured that since a BBC was mentioned, they were working with a conventional system :lol:
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#11 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 23 November 2012 - 08:53 PM

I figured that since a BBC was mentioned, they were working with a conventional system :lol:


Yes, I read that too. I just thought I would post the complete diplexing situation for anyone who was reading the post.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...