Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Cable Run


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   slowlane

slowlane

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2003

Posted 23 January 2004 - 04:16 PM

I’m changing the location of my satellite receiver, I need to add approximately 22 feet of cable, and my present cable run length is approximately 50 feet.
If I use a cable coupler (f-81BGP) to add the needed length, will I have any signal loss or noticeable reduction in the picture quality?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sikma

sikma

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 471 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2003

Posted 23 January 2004 - 04:21 PM

I've done it before with longer runs that you are talking about with no trouble

#3 OFFLINE   retiredTech

retiredTech

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 654 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2003

Posted 23 January 2004 - 06:44 PM

only thing watch for "in splices" (if the slice is outside) is future corrosion. use some silicon grease (or at least silicon spray)
if the slice is inside then you should have no trouble

#4 OFFLINE   ChillinInTheBurgh

ChillinInTheBurgh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 23 January 2004 - 11:54 PM

If your cable run will be as you describe you have nothing to wory about. Legacy LNBFs can support a cable run of up to 100 ft and Dish Pro LNBFs can support cable runs of up to 150 ft without the need for an inline power amplifier. Make sure you are using RG-6 cable and a satellite grade barrel connector.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...