Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers and R22: 0x062C (Winter 2013) Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
119 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 December 2012 - 07:36 PM

One way of doing it which could be a PITA would be swapping DVR's to where the main DVR that's directly connected from the dish (at least that's how it worked for me since I have I don't have swm setup on slimline 5 dish) to which I understand they push updates faster that way but also changing locations on directv website under "my equipment" has worked for me but can be a PITA moving around especially if you also have EHD connected to each DVR.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 09:24 PM

One way of doing it which could be a PITA would be swapping DVR's to where the main DVR that's directly connected from the dish (at least that's how it worked for me since I have I don't have swm setup on slimline 5 dish) to which I understand they push updates faster that way but also changing locations on directv website under "my equipment" has worked for me but can be a PITA moving around especially if you also have EHD connected to each DVR.


Where did you hear that? Not sure what was going on, but simply changing locations in your house will/should have no effect on when you get the update. Its usually based on zip codes and account numbers in general, and maybe even access cards, assuming that each individual model has an update to be released in the first place. Nothing to do with how its connected to your dish. You likely got the update because of the restart and maybe updating the sat settings or something, forcing it to look for new software, but not because it was in a different location or connected differently. Changing designations on the web site also should have zero affect. Again, its not based n these things.

Truth is though, if you haven't gotten the update yet, there is likely a reason they have stopped pushing it out to everyone, and you might be best served waiting rather than trying to get it now.... Just a thought....

#53 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 09:28 PM

I dont understand my HR21-700 hasnt received a software update since June i'm still stuck on 0x5d2


There hasn't been a full rollout to everyone since that update as far as I know, which is why you haven't gotten it yet. Your likely on the end of the list, and they haven't made it that far yet.

#54 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 240 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 13 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

I am not sure if this is related to this software update, but I noticed tonight, the recordings set up in my series recordings are not automatically moving to a later time if available, but instead just show a "will not record" on the To Do list.

“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#55 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:29 PM

Where did you hear that? Not sure what was going on, but simply changing locations in your house will/should have no effect on when you get the update. Its usually based on zip codes and account numbers in general, and maybe even access cards, assuming that each individual model has an update to be released in the first place. Nothing to do with how its connected to your dish. You likely got the update because of the restart and maybe updating the sat settings or something, forcing it to look for new software, but not because it was in a different location or connected differently. Changing designations on the web site also should have zero affect. Again, its not based n these things.

Truth is though, if you haven't gotten the update yet, there is likely a reason they have stopped pushing it out to everyone, and you might be best served waiting rather than trying to get it now.... Just a thought....


It worked on my HR22 and HR24 connected to the same tv from the coax connection from the dish all other receivers are connected from zinwell switch, BTW I received SW on HR22 first where the main coax is coming from and then moved HR24 to same place after moving back HR22 to it's original place.

Edited by acostapimps, 13 December 2012 - 11:35 PM.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#56 OFFLINE   Delroy E Walleye

Delroy E Walleye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 332 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2012

Posted 14 December 2012 - 03:13 AM

Got the update a couple of days ago (HR21-700). So far, there've been no seriouss lockup issues, yet, as with the previous release (DVR would lock up, not responding to remote commands for 30 to 90 seconds maybe a couple of times per hour).

Noticed with this release that the On Demand channels seem to have been reset - not there anymore - as if never connected to the net, so I don't know as of yet whether they've fixed those horribly-slow On Demand screens. (I don't keep a permanent net connection, but this is the first time those channels have disappeared). I'll probably try connecting when I get more caught-up with other viewing. Sure hope that's fixed...

Also, guide banners not causing freezes, either so far (Yay!) but this could also be because OD functions haven't yet been restored. We'll see.

#57 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 14 December 2012 - 03:56 PM

It worked on my HR22 and HR24 connected to the same tv from the coax connection from the dish all other receivers are connected from zinwell switch, BTW I received SW on HR22 first where the main coax is coming from and then moved HR24 to same place after moving back HR22 to it's original place.


Um. How exactly is your system wired? You shouldn't have any lines coming directly from a dish if you have a mult switch in the system as well. That makes no sense at all to be honest. Could be that is causing you an issue, whether you know it or not.

#58 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 14 December 2012 - 04:03 PM

Got the update a couple of days ago (HR21-700). So far, there've been no seriouss lockup issues, yet, as with the previous release (DVR would lock up, not responding to remote commands for 30 to 90 seconds maybe a couple of times per hour).

Noticed with this release that the On Demand channels seem to have been reset - not there anymore - as if never connected to the net, so I don't know as of yet whether they've fixed those horribly-slow On Demand screens. (I don't keep a permanent net connection, but this is the first time those channels have disappeared). I'll probably try connecting when I get more caught-up with other viewing. Sure hope that's fixed...

Also, guide banners not causing freezes, either so far (Yay!) but this could also be because OD functions haven't yet been restored. We'll see.


They sometimes completely clear out all guide data with new firmware pushes (which I think they should do every time they have new firmware) and that likely purged all your on demand channels and such.

#59 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 14 December 2012 - 04:40 PM

Well there's no ill effects and my recorded shows are all still there...


Scott's point is still valid. When you force a download, you have no certainty what you are going to get, and some temp code will not let you go back to the prior version without losing all your recordings.

The point he was making is particularly important in that you were advising someone to do something that put their system at risk. It's one thing for you to do as you like, taking risks with your own equipment. It is quite another to cavalierly recommend a risky procedure to someone else, with little thought to the consequences and then follow that up with an utter dismissal when warned.

Not the advice anyone should be taking, without the appropriate caveats.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#60 OFFLINE   Coca Cola Kid

Coca Cola Kid

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,634 posts
  • LocationMt. Morris, MI
Joined: Jul 19, 2009

Posted 14 December 2012 - 04:59 PM

Scott's point is still valid. When you force a download, you have no certainty what you are going to get, and some temp code will not let you go back to the prior version without losing all your recordings.

The point he was making is particularly important in that you were advising someone to do something that put their system at risk. It's one thing for you to do as you like, taking risks with your own equipment. It is quite another to cavalierly recommend a risky procedure to someone else, with little thought to the consequences and then follow that up with an utter dismissal when warned.

Not the advice anyone should be taking, without the appropriate caveats.


I didn't mean any harm by it, since I was unaware it was "risky".

DIRECTV customer

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of other DIRECTV customers


My giant list of missing or wrong logos


#61 OFFLINE   Pauley

Pauley

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2007

Posted 14 December 2012 - 11:15 PM

Hmmm, thought I would see a flurry of complaints around 0x62c. I have had it since 12/4 and my button lag time (and ignores) are much worse. I can see the light flicker on the DVR, so I know it is receiving the signal. This goes in streaks where it may take 3-4 seconds, and then it plays through the presses it has buffered, and then it will react quickly to future remote button presses.

Also, my closed captioning no longer works. This is for both the 'DirecTV Subtitles' and 'Closed Captioning'.

This is on an HR20/100.

Since no one else seems to have these issues, I guess I'll RBR.

Pauley

#62 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 15 December 2012 - 07:42 AM

Hmmm, thought I would see a flurry of complaints around 0x62c. I have had it since 12/4 and my button lag time (and ignores) are much worse. I can see the light flicker on the DVR, so I know it is receiving the signal. This goes in streaks where it may take 3-4 seconds, and then it plays through the presses it has buffered, and then it will react quickly to future remote button presses.

Also, my closed captioning no longer works. This is for both the 'DirecTV Subtitles' and 'Closed Captioning'.

This is on an HR20/100.

Since no one else seems to have these issues, I guess I'll RBR.

Pauley

My experience has been the opposite. IMO, this release, so far, has been the best release ever. I have 9 HR20s which took the update on 11/28. Also have a H23 which took 0x462c on 12/5 which is dedicated to music channels. Dish and M/S: AU9, Zinwell WB68 and WB616.

Some of the important differences for me:
1. No more spontaneous restarts or manual restarts needed because unit will not respond to IR commands.
2. DirecTV subtitles now work consistently instead of becoming unintelligible after a while, requiring a channel change to fix. However, in the few days right after 0x62c, 3 HR20s just stopped producing any subtitles (CC) requiring a restart (has not occurred since).
3. Remote response time is generally quicker, especially menu navigation and channel changing with native resolution on.

Nothing negative to report so far. Now if they would just leave it alone for a while. :D
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#63 OFFLINE   Narnboy1

Narnboy1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 15 December 2012 - 12:06 PM

Firmware UPdate - 02468

If there is not a software update for your specific model number, it will keep searching the streams. Then time out, Reboot and reacquire Satellite Info by itself. - Time Waster...

If the stream is available, it will download and compare the firmware to what it has. If newer, old firmware is overwritten. If the same, the firmware is ignored then receiver reboots.

Technicians are advised to use 0,2,4,6,8 during the "Hello, Welcome to DirecTV" screen when received from the warehouse and installed at customers house. This is because most have not 'Seen the of Satellite (Day)' since released from DirecTV. DirecTV doesn't want to interrupt customers viewing experience within the first couple of hours.

DirecTV sets a priority on the streams if the IRDs firmware is to old. This usually starts the downloads in the first twenty to thirty minutes.

Up-to-Date Firmware tracker: http://www.redh.com/dtv/index.php

Otherwise, DirecTV tells the IRDs to download at 0' Dark Thirty when nobody is usually watching TV. This is done on a regional, and customer/hsp customer specific basis. (HSP Customers sometimes get a pre-release, so that technicians can "Study" the nuances.)

ALL Should Not Affect already recorded RECORDINGs --- Edited
(unless DirecTV missed this bug or the HDD became Defective)

#64 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 308 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 16 December 2012 - 05:25 AM

Hmmm, thought I would see a flurry of complaints around 0x62c. I have had it since 12/4 and my button lag time (and ignores) are much worse. I can see the light flicker on the DVR, so I know it is receiving the signal. This goes in streaks where it may take 3-4 seconds, and then it plays through the presses it has buffered, and then it will react quickly to future remote button presses.

Also, my closed captioning no longer works. This is for both the 'DirecTV Subtitles' and 'Closed Captioning'.

This is on an HR20/100.

Since no one else seems to have these issues, I guess I'll RBR.

Pauley


Been planning to post but have been really busy lately, like everyone else hasn't.
Got the 62c update about a week ago on my HR21-100 box and the channel change is much much slower than before.
Didn't realize at first that box had updated and I thought it had locked up when I first changed the channel. No other problems noted at this time.

J C

HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#65 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 16 December 2012 - 11:03 PM

Um. How exactly is your system wired? You shouldn't have any lines coming directly from a dish if you have a mult switch in the system as well. That makes no sense at all to be honest. Could be that is causing you an issue, whether you know it or not.


It's actually connected from dish to multiswitch sorry my mistake, but that particular room is where the main coax line used to be connected to and moved HR24 that was in the living room to that room and received the update the next day, then I switched another DVR HR22 to the same room and that next day receive update as well, so basically receive updates on both DVR's in 2 days

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#66 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:02 PM

It's actually connected from dish to multiswitch sorry my mistake, but that particular room is where the main coax line used to be connected to and moved HR24 that was in the living room to that room and received the update the next day, then I switched another DVR HR22 to the same room and that next day receive update as well, so basically receive updates on both DVR's in 2 days


Multi switches don't know one line from another. There is some other reason for th e updates taking place when they did.

#67 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,447 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:05 PM

It's actually connected from dish to multiswitch sorry my mistake, but that particular room is where the main coax line used to be connected to and moved HR24 that was in the living room to that room and received the update the next day, then I switched another DVR HR22 to the same room and that next day receive update as well, so basically receive updates on both DVR's in 2 days


That is most likely a coincidince.
I have 3 receivers. It took 3 nights for them to all update.
The HR23 was first, then the HR24 and last was the H21. They are all hooked up using the SWM SL3 system.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#68 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,326 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:35 PM

That is most likely a coincidince.
I have 3 receivers. It took 3 nights for them to all update.
The HR23 was first, then the HR24 and last was the H21. They are all hooked up using the SWM SL3 system.


Yep, they do sometimes push different models on different days too. Lots of reason that could happen, but switching which line its plugged into isn't one of them.

#69 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,599 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 18 December 2012 - 01:11 PM

Anyone know how far along the rollout is for 6c2?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#70 OFFLINE   TANK

TANK

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 885 posts
  • LocationFLORIDA
Joined: Feb 16, 2003

Posted 19 December 2012 - 09:58 AM

Anyone know how far along the rollout is for 6c2?


My HR 23 got yesterday in Central FL

#71 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:00 AM

My HR21 just got this yesterday, I noticed when the bright blue ring came back on on my bedroom DVR. As always, I go back to shut the d***ned thing off, and it would seem that the usual front panel trick to dim and shut it off feature is now gone?

It has also made this doggy DVR even doggier in general performance and responsiveness.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#72 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,447 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:20 AM

My HR21 just got this yesterday, I noticed when the bright blue ring came back on on my bedroom DVR. As always, I go back to shut the d***ned thing off, and it would seem that the usual front panel trick to dim and shut it off feature is now gone?

It has also made this doggy DVR even doggier in general performance and responsiveness.


It took 2 full days after my restart for the HR23 receiver to finish all it's downloads and speed up from there.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#73 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:30 AM

Got its update at 3AM, did not get used again for 18 hours. I would have expected better than 20 seconds to guide when I turned it on at the 18 hour mark. I expected my blue lights to go off as they always have from the front panel, and I would have expected a channel change to take less than the time it took my wife to brush her teeth. There is no excuse for these things.

It took 2 full days after my restart for the HR23 receiver to finish all it's downloads and speed up from there.


------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#74 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,447 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:59 AM

Got its update at 3AM, did not get used again for 18 hours. I would have expected better than 20 seconds to guide when I turned it on at the 18 hour mark. I expected my blue lights to go off as they always have from the front panel, and I would have expected a channel change to take less than the time it took my wife to brush her teeth. There is no excuse for these things.


Wow, that is a long time. Sorry that you are having that kind of problem.
My guide pops up in 3 seconds now.
Changing channels is variable. If I select a channel from the guide it takes it 7 to 8 seconds.
If I then use the PREV button it will switch between the two channels in 3 to 5 seconds.

Have you cleared the NVRAM since the new install of the new software ? If not, I would do that.
I did it to mine and it seemed to help. I did not actually time it before and after clearing it.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#75 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 19 December 2012 - 12:28 PM

My HR24 got it in upstate NY this morning (not sure about my HR21).
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003




Protected By... spam firewall...And...