Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Phone Connection wont work - new Hopper Installation


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hdcl

hdcl

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 11:49 PM

I just had my 2 Hopper - 3 Joey installation today which went pretty well overall.

I have a phone line hooked up to both hoppers the way it was with my previous 625 and 722 DVR receivers. The only reason I connect the phone lines is for the Caller ID feature. The reason I noticed a problem is that I had several calls today that did not display anything for Caller ID. I checked on both Hoppers and Caller ID was turned on.

When I checked Settings->Network->Phone Connection or Diagnostics, both Hoppers claim they are not connected to a phone line. The phone lines are fine - I tested them with an actual phone. I don't have VOIP - this is an old school wired AT&T land line. It just looks like they can't "see" the hard wired phone connection.

Any ideas before I call Dish?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 30 November 2012 - 12:51 AM

Give it 24 hours. It should start working by then.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#3 OFFLINE   hdcl

hdcl

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:10 PM

Apparently waiting was all that it took. After 24 hours all the Hoppers and Joeys now display Caller ID information.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...