Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Satellite 118 Transponder 16


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gorseelai

gorseelai

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:46 AM

Hi all,

Long time Directv Subscriber, and new to Dish Network. Just had a Hopper and Joey installed two days ago. Was running Menu > Systems > Diagnostics > System Status on the Hopper. After running the Diagnostics, on System Status Page 1 I found Satellite 118 contains a yellow box and the rest of the Satellites 119 110 & 129 all have Green box. Under the details page, it shows status is Good, but shows that between 7:36am 11/30 and 10:35pm 11/30 it had 1 signal loss.

So I decided to see what the signal strength on each satellites and found Satellite 118 transponder 16 has no signal at all, but the rest of the satellites on 119 110 & 129 are running fine.

Does anybody has this same issue? I don't believe Satellite 118 Transponder 16 is carrying any programming on Dish Network. Just want to see if I need to schedule a technician visit.

Thanks in advance,

Gor

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   chiodo

chiodo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2008

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:33 AM

Transponder 16 on 118.7 is not operational for Dish.

Also does your Dish have an LNB for 118? You would have either a 500+ or 1000+ dish to get 118., most likely you have a 1000.4 or 1000.2 dish that does not receive 118.7

And it would not normally be installed unless you are subscribing to international channels.

#3 OFFLINE   gorseelai

gorseelai

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 01 December 2012 - 11:16 AM

Yes, I did subscribe to Top 200 and Jadeworld (international package). I am not sure which dish I have, but I do receive channel 9583, 9598 and 9599.

So I shouldn't concern about transponder 16 on Satellite 118 at all?

Thanks!

Edited by gorseelai, 01 December 2012 - 11:22 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 909 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 01 December 2012 - 11:46 AM

Do you lose signal while watching your international programming? Please let me know. Thanks.

Yes, I did subscribe to Top 200 and Jadeworld (international package). I am not sure which dish I have, but I do receive channel 9583, 9598 and 9599.

So I shouldn't concern about transponder 16 on Satellite 118 at all?

Thanks!



#5 OFFLINE   gorseelai

gorseelai

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 01 December 2012 - 11:51 AM

I don't but every time I do a system status test, the 118 satellite always has a yellow box and the detail page shows I had 1 signal loss on a certain time. Would that particular signal loss message refers to the non operational transponder 16 on Satellite 18?

Edited by gorseelai, 01 December 2012 - 12:34 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   gorseelai

gorseelai

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:03 AM

Finally I was able to find out where is the problem. Satellite 118 Transponder 1 on Tuner 3 is getting extremely low signal strength (around 10%). I will need to set up a service call. Hopefully Dish will not charge me the $15 service visit since the install was only completed last week.




spam firewall