Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home DVR ?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:05 PM

So I just activated whole home with an HR24 and a H24. H24 recognizes and functions my question is on the HR24 it says no DVRs networked. Is this correct? Again it does appear to be working. The H24 says networked with family room which is correct. Its just the main HR24 unit says no DVRs networked. Just wondering.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:14 PM

So I just activated whole home with an HR24 and a H24. H24 recognizes and functions my question is on the HR24 it says no DVRs networked. Is this correct? Again it does appear to be working. The H24 says networked with family room which is correct. Its just the main HR24 unit says no DVRs networked. Just wondering.

Thanks

If the HR24 is your only DVR, then there aren't any [others] for it to find.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:29 PM

Well I do have a hr20 downstairs but I'm guessing it won't see that one.

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,610 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:32 PM

The HR20 should also show, provided it is either (a) connected to the DECA network with a DECA module, or (B) connected to your LAN and your HR24 is also connected to your LAN.

#5 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:36 PM

I don't have a lan ran for the h24. Do I need one? Or just for the DVRs?

#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,655 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:37 PM

The two DVR's should see each other, the H25 should see both, but the '25 won't show up on either recorder. Check Settings-> Whole Home, and Network settings.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,655 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:39 PM

I don't have a lan ran for the h24. Do I need one? Or just for the DVRs?


Are you on DECA or ethernet? If the H24 is seeing one DVR, it's fine as is.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#8 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:40 PM

Deca, I don't have a Deca adaptor for the hr20 though

#9 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:42 PM

I LAN lines for the hr24 and the hr20 but not the h24. Which would be the best set up for me?

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:01 PM

I LAN lines for the hr24 and the hr20 but not the h24. Which would be the best set up for me?

If you connect a ethernet to the HR24, it will disable the DECA of the HR24 that you're using to the H24.
To add the HR20, you'll either need a DECA for it, or add another DECA to connect to your router, where you then can connect the HR20 with ethernet.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:14 PM

Thanks all. I will stay Deca. Where is a good way to get a Deca for that hr20?

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:20 PM

Thanks all. I will stay Deca. Where is a good way to get a Deca for that hr20?

You might just call DirecTV.
BTW: which HR20 do you have?

The HR20-700 only needs one of these:
http://www.solidsign...ca--(deca1mr01)

If you have a HR20-100, you'll also need a 2-way splitter and maybe a bandstop filter.
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:35 PM

Crap I have the 100

#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:44 PM

Crap I have the 100

Look at this: http://www.dbstalk.c...386&postcount=6
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 05:55 PM

Thank you

#16 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:01 AM

How do I know which set up to do? The top one or bottom

#17 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:52 AM

How do I know which set up to do? The top one or bottom

either should work.

The top was how it was done in the beginning and the bottom was an update.
I've never understood why this update was released.
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 353 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:16 AM

Looks like I will need a Deca and filter for my hr 20 to work and I have an h20 thats not going to work for this. Any idea is D* will provide all of this for free?

#19 OFFLINE   i3rown

i3rown

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:04 PM

If you have the protection plan , call for service and tell them it's not working they will come with everything they need.

#20 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:06 PM

Looks like I will need a Deca and filter for my hr 20 to work and I have an h20 thats not going to work for this. Any idea is D* will provide all of this for free?


They might. Tell them you have Whole Home enabled, but need a DECA, BSF, and splitter for the HR20-100. Also, explain how you have a H20 and it needs to be swapped out. While they may not charge you for the new receiver, you will probably end up with a new 2-year commitment for activating the new (leased) receiver.

As for cost, while you might not be charged for any of the components, DirecTV might want a tech to come out and in that case you might be charged for the tech visit, which is usually $50.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#21 OFFLINE   i3rown

i3rown

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:14 PM

Will defiantly start his contract over




Protected By... spam firewall...And...