Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Network Satellite Dish Types


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lazyman

lazyman

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:04 PM

What are the specific types of Satellite Dishes that Dish Network uses? Shapes, types, size, etc.

Are DirecTV dishes compatible with Dish Network?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:35 PM

What are the specific types of Satellite Dishes that Dish Network uses? Shapes, types, size, etc.

Are DirecTV dishes compatible with Dish Network?

Try googling DISH Network satellite dishes. No Directv dishes are not compatible except in very rare cases.

#3 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 720 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 02 December 2012 - 12:53 PM

See http://www.dishuser.org/dishes.php for dish types.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#4 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 298 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:14 AM

What are the specific types of Satellite Dishes that Dish Network uses? Shapes, types, size, etc.

Are DirecTV dishes compatible with Dish Network?


We install our 1000 series satellite dishes, they have an oval shape and are 18 x 23 and receive up to three satellite locations. If you have any further questions please PM me and I am happy to help you.

#5 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:05 AM

We install our 1000 series satellite dishes, they have an oval shape and are 18 x 23 and receive up to three satellite locations. If you have any further questions please PM me and I am happy to help you.

Mike for a DIRT member I would consider your answer poor or uneducated. There is the 1000/1000+/1000.2 EA & WA/1000.4EA & WA. How many of those are 18"x23"? Which one only receives 2 satellites and which one receives 4 satellites?

#6 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 298 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:21 AM

Mike for a DIRT member I would consider your answer poor or uneducated. There is the 1000/1000+/1000.2 EA & WA/1000.4EA & WA. How many of those are 18"x23"? Which one only receives 2 satellites and which one receives 4 satellites?


When I posted our 1000 series satellite dish it was to mean all 1000 series (1000, 1000 +/1000.2 & 1000.4). All of our 1000 series satellite dishes are 18 by 23. Three is the most satellites you can pick up from any dish. To pick up for satellites, you need two dishes.

#7 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,459 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:10 PM

Dish 1000+ gets you 4 satellites - 110, 119, 118.7 and 129.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#8 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 04 December 2012 - 06:13 PM

When I posted our 1000 series satellite dish it was to mean all 1000 series (1000, 1000 +/1000.2 & 1000.4). All of our 1000 series satellite dishes are 18 by 23. Three is the most satellites you can pick up from any dish. To pick up for satellites, you need two dishes.

Thank you Mike your answer proves to me you don't belong on the "DIRT" team you need to go back to the training class and try again. The 1000 is the smallest the 1000.2 EA only receives 61.5 and 72.7 the 1000.4 is larger than the 1000.2 and the 1000+ dish is the largest and as Jim5506 explained it receives 4 satellites.

#9 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 05 December 2012 - 06:32 AM

When I posted our 1000 series satellite dish it was to mean all 1000 series (1000, 1000 +/1000.2 & 1000.4). All of our 1000 series satellite dishes are 18 by 23. Three is the most satellites you can pick up from any dish. To pick up for satellites, you need two dishes.


lol. DIRT members are copy and pasting straight from community now?

#10 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 05 December 2012 - 06:55 AM

Thank you Mike your answer proves to me you don't belong on the "DIRT" team you need to go back to the training class and try again. The 1000 is the smallest the 1000.2 EA only receives 61.5 and 72.7 the 1000.4 is larger than the 1000.2 and the 1000+ dish is the largest and as Jim5506 explained it receives 4 satellites.


You're wrong; the 1000.2 EA receives 61.2, 72.7 and 77. Back to training with you, too.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#11 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:04 AM

You're wrong; the 1000.2 EA receives 61.2, 72.7 and 77. Back to training with you, too.

Are you sure, 61.2??? also check on the satellites received by 1000.2 EA.

#12 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 05 December 2012 - 06:00 PM

Are you sure, 61.2??? also check on the satellites received by 1000.2 EA.


Typo. 61.5. Why are you being such a scutch about this? Felt the need to belittle people today or what? I don't need to check what sats the 1000.2 gets, I have one.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#13 OFFLINE   Satnovice

Satnovice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2012

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:48 PM

Dish 1000+ gets you 4 satellites - 110, 119, 118.7 and 129.

Correct Jim, if you can read a protractor you can make your own permitation and come up with 3 sats in arc provided you have the right LNBs.
me too I know hwat I have and that is, 110, 119 and 129 from my 1000.2
but still, you can have 61.5,72.7 and 77 you got to know the arc.

#14 OFFLINE   njk986

njk986

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2010

Posted 13 December 2012 - 02:46 AM

You're wrong; the 1000.2 EA receives 61.2, 72.7 and 77. Back to training with you, too.


The 1000.2 EA only picks up 61.5 & 72.7.
You will need a 1000.4 EA to pickup 77. Only needed if your HD locals are on it or for Dish Latino packages. Just to clarify. :)




spam firewall