Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 needs to be unplgged for about 15 minutes - is that normal?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dan42353

dan42353

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 09:54 AM

How common is it for a receiver to need to be unplugged for 15 minutes to get it to work? Any time I move a receiver from one room to another I have to leave it unplugged for 15 minutes or it doesn't start. It gets caught in a boot cycle loop or a power cycle occurs every 15 seconds, I'm not sure how to describe it. Both of those seems to be pretty accurate. Is there a name for this so I can look it up?

How common is it and should I be concerned it will have more problems? It is an owned unit so I hope not.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,317 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:56 AM

A minute or so should do it. I have unpluged mine for less than 5 with no problems. If thats the only problem than I would not worry about it to much.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,230 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:31 AM

Are you plugging and unplugging this several times in the 15 minutes or do you just let it sit there until it works ?

If you let it sit for 15 minutes before plugging in the power does it start right up ?

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   dan42353

dan42353

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:44 AM

Are you plugging and unplugging this several times in the 15 minutes or do you just let it sit there until it works ?

If you let it sit for 15 minutes before plugging in the power does it start right up ?


At first I had no idea what was going on and I tried unplugging and replugging without waiting 15 minutes. That did not work. I also tried giving it some time while in that repeating boot sequence to see if it would work itself out. That did not work either.

Now when I move it I usually leave it off for 30 minutes but I believe I have have hooked it back up in as little at 15 minutes and it worked. It always works when I leave it unplugged long enough. I'm not exactly sure how long is long enough but anything over 30 minutes always works.

#5 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,658 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

How often do you move it?

Have you tried using a Menu Reset, and unplugging it when the lights douse?
Warning: I haven't done this and there's no guarantee of anything!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#6 OFFLINE   dan42353

dan42353

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:57 PM

How often do you move it?

Have you tried using a Menu Reset, and unplugging it when the lights douse?
Warning: I haven't done this and there's no guarantee of anything!


I move it every Sunday to watch 2 football games in the same room, then I move it back- so twice a week.


The lights never come on when this problem is occurring and it never makes it into the boot process far enough where getting in the menu is possible.

P.S. your new quarterback really chucked that ball at Gore haha!

Edited by dan42353, 03 December 2012 - 12:58 PM.
taunting


#7 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,268 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:08 PM

I move it every Sunday to watch 2 football games in the same room, then I move it back- so twice a week.


The lights never come on when this problem is occurring and it never makes it into the boot process far enough where getting in the menu is possible.

P.S. your new quarterback really chucked that ball at Gore haha!


By any chance is that a 24-500? They seem to be a bit wackier than the other two 24 models.

No, you should not have to wait 15 minutes, it should power right up each time.

Rich

#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,268 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:11 PM

I move it every Sunday to watch 2 football games in the same room, then I move it back- so twice a week.


The lights never come on when this problem is occurring and it never makes it into the boot process far enough where getting in the menu is possible.

P.S. your new quarterback really chucked that ball at Gore haha!


If you get an unmarked package that contains what looks like a chocolate bar in the mail, you will know you have really irritated the Laxguy.... :lol:

Rich

#9 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,230 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 December 2012 - 02:27 PM

How common is it for a receiver to need to be unplugged for 15 minutes to get it to work? Any time I move a receiver from one room to another I have to leave it unplugged for 15 minutes or it doesn't start. It gets caught in a boot cycle loop or a power cycle occurs every 15 seconds, I'm not sure how to describe it. Both of those seems to be pretty accurate. Is there a name for this so I can look it up?

How common is it and should I be concerned it will have more problems? It is an owned unit so I hope not.


The next time you are going to move it,
before you turn it off,
press the Info button on the remote and hold it. The system info will come to the screen, press more info. The internal Temp will be at the bottom of the page. Tell us what is the temperatiure.
Thanks

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#10 OFFLINE   DrummerBoy523

DrummerBoy523

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 479 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 03:15 PM

How common is it for a receiver to need to be unplugged for 15 minutes to get it to work? Any time I move a receiver from one room to another I have to leave it unplugged for 15 minutes or it doesn't start. It gets caught in a boot cycle loop or a power cycle occurs every 15 seconds, I'm not sure how to describe it. Both of those seems to be pretty accurate. Is there a name for this so I can look it up?

How common is it and should I be concerned it will have more problems? It is an owned unit so I hope not.


We have an HR24-200 that does this. About once a month we will come downstairs in the morning to find it trying to reboot - basically stuck in a loop.

I typically unplug it for about 2-5 minutes and then plug it back in. Sometimes I've had to wait as long as 15 minutes.

None of my other boxes do this (HR21-200 & H24).
  • Swim LNB
  • HR21-200 Bonus Room
  • HR24-200 Family Room
  • H24-100 Bedroom
  • MRV enabled

#11 OFFLINE   dan42353

dan42353

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:15 PM

Tell us what is the temperature


I didn't move it but it is 111 degrees.



We have an HR24-200 that does this. About once a month we will come downstairs in the morning to find it trying to reboot - basically stuck in a loop.

I typically unplug it for about 2-5 minutes and then plug it back in. Sometimes I've had to wait as long as 15 minutes.

None of my other boxes do this (HR21-200 & H24).



Yes sir, it is HR24-200. Can you tell me how long you have been doing that? If you have been doing it a long ass time maybe I don't have to worry about it dying :)

#12 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:19 PM

If you get an unmarked package that contains what looks like a chocolate bar in the mail, you will know you have really irritated the Laxguy.... :lol:

Rich


Ah, so it's short for laxative guy?

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#13 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,230 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:46 PM

[quote name='dan42353']I didn't move it but it is 111 degrees.




Well it is certainly not close to the overheating mark so I guess we can rule that out.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#14 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:49 AM

Ah, so it's short for laxative guy?


Not normally but in this case I guess you could say that applies!!! :lol:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#15 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,268 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:38 AM

We have an HR24-200 that does this. About once a month we will come downstairs in the morning to find it trying to reboot - basically stuck in a loop.

I typically unplug it for about 2-5 minutes and then plug it back in. Sometimes I've had to wait as long as 15 minutes.

None of my other boxes do this (HR21-200 & H24).


NONE of your boxes, or anybody's boxes are supposed to do that.

Rich

#16 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,268 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:39 AM

Not normally but in this case I guess you could say that applies!!! :lol:


Oh, he's gonna get mad at us again!!!

Rich

#17 OFFLINE   DrummerBoy523

DrummerBoy523

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 479 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 05:02 PM

I didn't move it but it is 111 degrees.






Yes sir, it is HR24-200. Can you tell me how long you have been doing that? If you have been doing it a long ass time maybe I don't have to worry about it dying :)



Well, it does this randomly. I'd say since we got the update for the new GUI/Guide it has done this a lot. If I try to plug it back in immediately, it loops through trying to start up, so I have to wait a few minutes. It has freaked me out numerous times because we have a ton of shows on it - but it eventually reboots.
  • Swim LNB
  • HR21-200 Bonus Room
  • HR24-200 Family Room
  • H24-100 Bedroom
  • MRV enabled

#18 OFFLINE   DrummerBoy523

DrummerBoy523

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 479 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 05:02 PM

NONE of your boxes, or anybody's boxes are supposed to do that.

Rich


of course they arent, I was just pointing out that only the HR24/200 does this.
  • Swim LNB
  • HR21-200 Bonus Room
  • HR24-200 Family Room
  • H24-100 Bedroom
  • MRV enabled




spam firewall