Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What is the best way to take shows off a DVR


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Peter67

Peter67

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2012

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:01 AM

I am replacing a couple of my DRV's and putting in a couple of Genie's. How can I take shows off of my old DVR and safe them to another media? Thanks for the help.

Peter

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,908 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:05 AM

Something like the Elgato Game Capture would probably work. Play it back and capture it in real time.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 600 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:16 AM

I use my Hauppauge 1212 connected to my PC. I can then view the recording on my PC or use TMPGEnc or MultiAVCHD to create a blu-ray or AVCHD disc. The discs must be played on a blu-ray player.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x0987
DirecTV since 1997


#4 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:47 AM

I use the Hauppauge 1212 also, and then VideoRedo to edit/convert to other formats.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#5 OFFLINE   Peter67

Peter67

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2012

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

thanks for the info. I will pick up the Hauppauge 1212 tonight. Hopefully I will not have any issues hooking it up. Thanks again

#6 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,503 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

So... there are no programs like PVRExplorerPro that can directly read the hard drive on say an HR34 and copy the transport stream to a PC hard drive?
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#7 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,954 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

So... there are no programs like PVRExplorerPro that can directly read the hard drive on say an HR34 and copy the transport stream to a PC hard drive?


No..the recordings on a DirecTV DVR hard drive are encrypted with a unit specific key. You can copy the recordings, but they won't play back on any device other than the original DVR that recorded them.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:34 PM

Are customers allowed more than one Genie active on an acct yet?

#9 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:52 PM

Are customers allowed more than one Genie active on an acct yet?


Nope, unless you want a commercial account.

#10 OFFLINE   hound9p

hound9p

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2008

Posted 03 December 2012 - 03:05 PM

I'm getting a Genie tomorrow. I've been burning useful recordings from my soon-to-be-gone units to DVDs on a DVD recorder. No HD, of course, but they're in 480p, which isn't too bad.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...