Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

C31 does not see remote play lists?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gregturek

gregturek

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: May 07, 2011

Posted 03 December 2012 - 06:12 PM

First, let me apologise if this has been discussed, but I was not able to find it.

We have an HR34, 3 - HR24s, H23, and a Samsung RVU client. We just activated the C31 for a TV in the kitchen. It works OK, but can only see the local play list from the HR34. The HR34 can see all of the HR24 play lists, and each HR24 can see all of the other HR24s play lists plus the HR34 play list given the appropriate filering.

The C31 has the option to filer the play list to all or local only as on the HR DVRs, but changing the filer makes no difference in the programs listed on the C31.

With the DTV activation rep on the phone he was unable to fix this and after about 30 minutes asked for help and returned saying this doesn't work. This doesn't make sense. If the only play list you can see is on the HR34, then it makes no sense to filter the play list from the 31, which is available by hitting the yellow button while viewing the list.

The rep reset our HR24s, and the C31, but not the HR34. This had no effect. Is this a software bug, or do I have to reset/reboot in a particular order?

Does anyone have remote play lists working on the C31?

Thanks for your help!
Greg

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 06:48 PM

It may be a software issue, but even if you could see them [mine does] you can't yet play them from the C31.
That will take another software update, which has yet to be functional or seen.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:20 AM

Thats a HUGE downfall! That sealed the deal on me ever getting a C31. Never happen.

They should have just giving the H25s a software update to do exactly what these clients do. Atleast they bring a tuner with them.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:31 AM

They should have just giving the H25s a software update to do exactly what these clients do. Atleast they bring a tuner with them.

I think that would be hard to implement, as RVU is completely different than MRV. I don't think the H25 has the hardware to support both, and then how would it know which to use, if it had it?
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:35 AM

I think that would be hard to implement, as RVU is completely different than MRV. I don't think the H25 has the hardware to support both, and then how would it know which to use, if it had it?

The H 25's ask you now what DVR do you want to record too.
They record where you tell them too. It would be no different.

If I want my H25 to record and watch anything off either DVR in my house they can!

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:39 AM

The H 25's ask you now what DVR do you want to record too.
They record where you tell them too. It would be no different.

If I want my H25 to record and watch anything off either DVR in my house they can!

You know understand or have experience it seems with how these work and what the differences are.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:43 AM

You know understand or have experience it seems with how these work and what the differences are.

I know how they work. The clients Are fully functional DVRs, But they use the HR 34's Tuners to do it. But guess what, they can't see the other DVRs in your system, then I don't see the point.

The H25's can!
If a client box can 2 live tuners from and HR 34, why can't the H25 use one.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:51 AM

I know how they work. The clients Are fully functional DVRs, But they use the HR 34's Tuners to do it. But guess what, they can't see the other DVRs in your system, then I don't see the point.

The H25's can!
If a client box can 2 live tuners from and HR 34, why can't the H25 use one.

You turn on a H25, it looks at the SWiM and using its internal tuner as it boots.

You turn on a C31, it looks for a HR34, then checks the client status, then "logs in" and uses the software/hardware of the 34 to supply video and the GUI.

Completely different protocol.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:00 AM

You turn on a H25, it looks at the SWiM and using its internal tuner as it boots.

You turn on a C31, it looks for a HR34, then checks the client status, then "logs in" and uses the software/hardware of the 34 to supply video and the GUI.

Completely different protocol.

I understand. But you say" Looks"

Thats Software, Not hardware.

If they stuck a tuner in a client, how much difference would it make. It would be an H25.

I don't see the Value in a client.


HR34 with 3 Clients. Only 4 can watch Live TV, and only 1 recording can be done durring. Thats a problem!
So to avoid this, one would add another HR24 to their setup, But guess what... Clients can't utilize this at all.
Thats a problem!

HR34 + 3 H25 4 can watch live tv, and 4 can record at the same time. Problem solved, So you can't rewind live TV or Pause it. Big deal. Hit the red Record button, Problem solved!

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:05 AM

I understand. But you say" Looks"

Thats Software, Not hardware.

I think this would be more like trying to boot a PC with Windows & Linux at the same time. Two completely different types of an operating system.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,614 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:07 AM

Yes, diff strokes, diff folks.

Many household will never have that many watching live TV, or even recorded programs at once. Some of us seldom watch any live TV. But for your scenario, it looks like the extra tuners are needed.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:09 AM

I think this would be more like trying to boot a PC with Windows & Linux at the same time. Two completely different types of an operating system.

Maybe, but fact is Clients can't view anything other then the HR34, So what happends if you have the need for 6 rooms HD DVR MRV, What does directv Give you. They can't give you 2 HR 34s and 4 C31s? So what happends in 5 and 6 MRV room installs?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,644 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:14 AM

Maybe, but fact is Clients can't view anything other then the HR34, So what happends if you have the need for 6 rooms HD DVR MRV, What does directv Give you. They can't give you 2 HR 34s and 4 C31s? So what happends in 5 and 6 MRV room installs?

DirecTV's basic focus is for a four room install.
"The numbers show" this covers most customers.
In time, things may develop beyond this.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:21 AM

Yes, diff strokes, diff folks.

Many household will never have that many watching live TV, or even recorded programs at once. Some of us seldom watch any live TV. But for your scenario, it looks like the extra tuners are needed.

I agree.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#15 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:23 AM

In time, things may develop beyond this.

I agree, I'm sure at some point more HR34's will be available to customers. But they still would need to access each other.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 





spam firewall