Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to get a Genie


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:54 PM

I would like to get rid of the hr21 and hr22 in my den and replace with the Genie. Right now I am still just using my home network for sharing and still have 2 lines ran to the 5 receivers. Thanks Michael

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:58 PM

You'll need to call DirecTV and get one from them. You'll need to go to a SWM16 setup, which will be included in the install.

It is possible to order directly from a reseller, but the SWM16 isn't cheap.

#3 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:03 PM

1-800- DIRECTV

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#4 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:26 PM

What can I expect to pay?

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#5 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,249 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:30 PM

The max you'd pay is $299 for the HR34 plus $50 install. You could pay as low as $0.00, but that is not typical for existing customers. But it does happen. Call.

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:35 PM

Since you are in Texas, do you have the Protection Plan?

#7 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:52 PM

No protection plan.

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#8 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:54 PM

What is the series limit on these?

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#9 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

The limit is 100.

#10 OFFLINE   mak

mak

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:09 AM

I just got one I payed 299+45

#11 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:53 AM

install set for tomorrow...:) Once I get my programs watched I want to do away with 2 boxes, does it really matter which 2? Is one better than the other? Thanks Michael

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:49 PM

The R22s and HR21 has the smaller hard drives. That's the only real difference for your situation.

#13 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 01:22 PM

I want to start by saying I don't completely understand the swm system. My installer today made such a big deal that I needed to hook up 15 tuners from 5 hr's and the new hr34. Doesn't the switch with the 2 splitters allow 16 outputs? He keep talking I might have some channels go in and out...I have no clue but I don't understand what the problem might be. Thanks

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#14 ONLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,834 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 01:28 PM

The key is that the SWM-16 can have two banks of 8 tuners, not just one big pool of 16 tuners. So you have 5 HR2x DVRs. If he set it up properly, 4 DVRs are on one "SWM leg" as we call them, and one HR2x DVR and the HR34 are on the other SWM Leg. You shouldn't have a problem. If he didn't set it up right, it will have problems.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#15 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 05 December 2012 - 01:30 PM

The SWM LNB maxes out at 8 tuners. You'll need the legacy LNB (4 outputs) connected to the SWM16. Each of the two outputs on this can handle up to 8 tuners.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#16 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,774 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 05 December 2012 - 01:36 PM

There several models of SWM multiswitches, but the two most commonly seen in residential installs are the SWM-8 (max of 8 tuners) and the SWM-16 (max of 16 tuners, but on two "legs" of 8 tuners each).

I have a SWM-16 set up with a HR34, 2 HR24s, 2 HR21s and 2 H25s, for a total of 15 tuners. From the SWM-16 I have the two legs connected to one 4-way splitter each. One 4 way feeds the HR34, one HR24 and one H25 for a total of 8 tuners on that leg. The other 4-way feeds the other HR24, one HR21 and the other H25 for a total of 5 tuners. The other H21 is connected to the "legacy" feed-through ports on the SWM16 simply because we haven't gotten around to reconnecting the cables in the attic (the HR21 replaced an old SD Tivo unit). eventually, the second leg will support both HR21s, a HR24 and a H25 for total of 7 tuners on the leg, or 15 tuners in all.

As long as you don't exceed 8 tuners per leg, you will be fine. The SWM-16 bridges DECA internally, so MRV works across all the receivers.

My wiring diagram:
Posted Image

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#17 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,774 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 05 December 2012 - 02:04 PM

The SWM LNB maxes out at 8 tuners. You'll need the legacy LNB (4 outputs) connected to the SWM16. Each of the two outputs on this can handle up to 8 tuners.


You can tell if you have a SWM LNB by looking at the wires coming out of the dish itself. If there is only one, you have a SWM LNB and will need a swap to a "legacy" design with 4 wires and a SWM-16.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#18 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 02:07 PM

Yes he did install a swm 16 with it feeding 2 spitters with 8 connections. I guess just only needing one cable per box is throwing me off. I guess I just find it amazing that 1 line will feed the five tuners on the HR34. So there can only be a max of 8 tuners per splitter even though there are physically only 2 lines hooked to it from one HR22 and Hr34? Thanks

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#19 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 05 December 2012 - 02:56 PM

Yes, a max of 8 tuners per output on the SWM, not matter how many splitters, boxes, etc.

Your installer really shouldn't have done two 8 way splitters, but it seems like that is what they all tend to do. You would be better off with a 4 way splitter feeding the 4 DVRs, and a 2 way splitter feeding the HR34 and other DVR. The smaller the splitter the less loss of signal.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#20 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 03:08 PM

I am calling it a splitter but it doesn't look like a normal splitter.

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100





spam firewall