Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

More then 1 HR34


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,135 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 06 December 2012 - 03:32 PM

The DTV infrastructure isnt setup for 2 HR34's....theres a reason for not allowing two yet....dont call for troubleshooting or you will lose one of them...SS site also states only one per account


I've said it before, Directv is setting themselves up for trouble if they allow multiple HR34's to be "purchased" and then activated (so you can no longer return one of them) only to later force the customer to give it back because of this "policy" - thus allowing Directv to "re-sell" that same HR34 to another customer while pocketing the money from the original "sale".

By the way, is this no multiple HR34s policy in the terms and conditions?
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 06 December 2012 - 03:53 PM

But isn't commercial pricing higher.


Yep.

#23 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,353 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 06 December 2012 - 06:17 PM

You can have multiple HR34s on commercial accounts. You don't have to be a business to have a commercial account, either. Just get enough tuners on your system and you'll qualify.


How many tuners would that be. Are we saying that if someone like me already has a HR34 and I order another one from Solid Signal that Directv wont install it?
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#24 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,182 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 06 December 2012 - 09:13 PM

How many tuners would that be. Are we saying that if someone like me already has a HR34 and I order another one from Solid Signal that Directv wont install it?

Directv isn't going to install a receiver from solid signal. Period.
Solid signal will send you the HR34, and when you try to activate it through Directv, you will be SOL!:nono2:

 

 

 


#25 OFFLINE   Joe Spears

Joe Spears

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 109 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2010

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:37 AM

You can have multiple HR34s on commercial accounts. You don't have to be a business to have a commercial account, either. Just get enough tuners on your system and you'll qualify.


Don't forget DirecTV Titanium customers can also have multiple ones ;)

#26 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:29 AM

Directv isn't going to install a receiver from solid signal. Period.
Solid signal will send you the HR34, and when you try to activate it through Directv, you will be SOL!:nono2:


Actually, you can have DirecTV come out to install a receiver that you ordered from SS, however, you will be responsible for the cost of the tech visit, which would probably be $50. That being said, when the tech tries to activate the second HR34 there will be issues.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#27 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,182 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:41 AM

Actually, you can have DirecTV come out to install a receiver that you ordered from SS, however, you will be responsible for the cost of the tech visit, which would probably be $50. That being said, when the tech tries to activate the second HR34 there will be issues.

- Merg

It would be more then $50, its $50 when Directv provides the equipment.

You would be paying what ever that sub contractor company charges, which in my area is $85 flat rate and $65 per hour.

Its just like calling a plumber.:)

 

 

 


#28 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,353 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 07 December 2012 - 03:31 PM

It would be more then $50, its $50 when Directv provides the equipment.

You would be paying what ever that sub contractor company charges, which in my area is $85 flat rate and $65 per hour.

Its just like calling a plumber.:)


Not always. I would be asking them when I called before scheduling anyone out if they are able to install a 2nd HR34 but it should not matter if its a new leased one from SS or a new one you purchased (own) from someone. The call would simply be to run another line and possible a bigger or 2nd SWM switch. I would have to have a 2nd SWM 16 installed if I added another HR34. Not sure how that would work but I assume if I chose to do it they would find a way to make it happen for the normal install price of $50.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#29 OFFLINE   Hornnumb2

Hornnumb2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 07 December 2012 - 03:43 PM

It would be more then $50, its $50 when Directv provides the equipment.

You would be paying what ever that sub contractor company charges, which in my area is $85 flat rate and $65 per hour.

Its just like calling a plumber.:)


Not sure if my installer was telling the truth, but he worked 3 hours on mine and said he would get paid $27. That sucks...

Michael

My system:
HR44 Genie
HR23-100
(2) R22-100


#30 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,182 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:02 PM

Not sure if my installer was telling the truth, but he worked 3 hours on mine and said he would get paid $27. That sucks...

I would find a new job.:lol:

 

 

 


#31 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,121 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:52 PM

OK type the word in google and see what happends. Thats far from Taboo as well. Your competition Site took care of that a long time ago.:rolleyes:

Mods can close this thread if they wish. Since 2 can't be had, then there is no point to contine. But another request ,maybe have them signatures removed and keep this topic conversation in the special area. Thanks. Just a suggestion!:)


I have a feeling that some time next year multiple genies will be acceptable to DIRECTV. They have some things to get figured out first though, and I'm guessing they are far down the list in comparison to other things right now, especially considering how few people will likely want to have multiple genies.

#32 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:39 PM

Don't forget DirecTV Titanium customers can also have multiple ones ;)


JOE!!! You weren't supposed to mention Titanium level!

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#33 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,939 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:43 PM

JOE!!! You weren't supposed to mention Titanium level!


Yea, they are going to have to start downgrading everyone to keep with the metal reference. Basic will soon be iron or maybe ore

#34 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,312 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:45 PM

..especially considering how few people will likely want to have multiple genies.


Yeah, no one here wants to have multiple Genies.... :D

#35 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 08 December 2012 - 12:48 AM

Yeah, no one here wants to have multiple Genies.... :D


If they look like Barbara Eden in her prime, I do!!! :P

Edited by harperhometheater, 13 December 2012 - 01:20 PM.
change emoticon

HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#36 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,121 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:55 AM

!rolling

#37 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,916 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:15 AM

Yeah, no one here wants to have multiple Genies.... :D


Most of us aren't exactly normal customers :)

#38 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 579 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:11 PM

Prob classify me as dirt....no probs and dont ever bother DTV except for an install...
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#39 OFFLINE   PGA

PGA

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2012

Posted 13 December 2012 - 01:14 PM

After disabling NAT-PMP on an Apple network and assigning static IPs to the HR34s, my system works great with two 34s and six HD receivers all talking to each other via CAT5 on a Cisco Gigaswitch. I duplex closed circuit TV on the Coax on channels 113-120.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...