Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR34 install - 5 or 6 tuners ?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rynorama

rynorama

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:12 AM

I am adding an HR34. It will go where a HR22 currently sits. Currently there are two coax cables run to it. One to a DECA into the HR22, and the other to a DECA then to cat5 to my router.

From what I'm reading I can eliminate BOTH of these DECAs and simply plug the CAT5 into the back of the HR34. (I know I'll have to move one for the HR22's new location)

Does this count as 5 or 6 back at my SWIM 16? Is it 5 tuners plus 1 for the network like I currently have?

When it's all done I just want to make sure all 4 of my HRx's and H24 still all see each other.

Thanks
HR34-700 on a 73" Mitsubishi 1080P
HR22-100 on a 23" Acer Monitor (3 input w/Dual monitor and Home server on KVM )
R22-100 on a 42" Vizio 1080P
R22 on a 32" Sylvania 1080i
R22 on a 32" Sanyo 1080i
H24 on a 26" Westinghouse 1080i
Plus 3 D12's on other TVs

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,413 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:18 AM

DECAs have nothing to do with the SWiM, so they don't count as a tuner.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   rynorama

rynorama

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:27 PM

Oh Ok, so that extra DECA I have behind the HR22 going to the splitter is simply a way to get the internet access to the rest of the boxes.
Thanks
HR34-700 on a 73" Mitsubishi 1080P
HR22-100 on a 23" Acer Monitor (3 input w/Dual monitor and Home server on KVM )
R22-100 on a 42" Vizio 1080P
R22 on a 32" Sylvania 1080i
R22 on a 32" Sanyo 1080i
H24 on a 26" Westinghouse 1080i
Plus 3 D12's on other TVs

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,925 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:31 PM

Just make sure you don't exceed the 8 tuners per side of your SWM16.

#5 OFFLINE   i3rown

i3rown

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:24 PM

Oh Ok, so that extra DECA I have behind the HR22 going to the splitter is simply a way to get the internet access to the rest of the boxes.
Thanks


Just plug the Ethernet cable that is plugged into the broadband deca into the back of the hr34 and eliminate the swm splitter ... Tuners are tuners you get 8 with your currently configuration the hr34 will use 5.

#6 OFFLINE   rynorama

rynorama

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:43 PM

Thanks Guys
HR34-700 on a 73" Mitsubishi 1080P
HR22-100 on a 23" Acer Monitor (3 input w/Dual monitor and Home server on KVM )
R22-100 on a 42" Vizio 1080P
R22 on a 32" Sylvania 1080i
R22 on a 32" Sanyo 1080i
H24 on a 26" Westinghouse 1080i
Plus 3 D12's on other TVs




spam firewall