Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Both IR and RF simultaneously on. HR24?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StephenJC

StephenJC

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Feb 26, 2012

Posted 05 December 2012 - 11:41 AM

Can the HR24 remote sensor work in both IR and RF simultaneously? Or is it one or the other but not both?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,948 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 11:47 AM

One or the other, not both.

#3 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 08 December 2012 - 06:39 PM

Only the R15 series SD DVR will support IR and RF remotes at the same time without reconfiguration. Newer, advanced HD receivers don't. ;)

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#4 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,754 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:54 PM

Only the R15 series SD DVR will support IR and RF remotes at the same time without reconfiguration. Newer, advanced HD receivers don't. ;)


You can add THR22 HD tivo to the short list, to allow both IR & RF at the same time. Just like the R15/R16, if you don't enable it through the menu.


http://www.remotecen...ost.cgi?1125336

Edited by Edmund, 09 December 2012 - 03:39 AM.

  • mgavs likes this
aka Tivoburkee

#5 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:08 AM

Only the R15 series SD DVR will support IR and RF remotes at the same time without reconfiguration. Newer, advanced HD receivers don't. ;)


Why is that???

Why can't Directv allow IR and RF on their Newer DVRs?
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#6 OFFLINE   Hoggy

Hoggy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2008

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:48 AM

IP or RS232 can be used in conjunction with RF or IR

#7 ONLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:48 AM

Why is that???

Why can't Directv allow IR and RF on their Newer DVRs?

There's nothing that says they can't. They just haven't. Why? I've got no clue. :grin:

Mike

Edited by Mike Bertelson, 09 December 2012 - 09:56 AM.

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#8 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:32 PM

There's nothing that says they can't. They just haven't. Why? I've got no clue. :grin:

Mike


True. In fact, setting up an R15 to do both involves a clever procedure revealed-where else-right here on DBSTALK! I'm sure it was a software glitch that DirecTV didn't feel was worth correcting.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





spam firewall