Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

2 SWM16 with SWM-E2


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ewing453

ewing453

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2008

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:16 PM

image-3770697517.jpg

The directv installer told me his technical trainer said that two swm16 would burn out the E2 after a few weeks. I checked all the specs and the built in power supply has more than enough amperage. He said it would only work with swm8's.

It is working great now, I just need to add the diplexers to bridge the deca cloud. I have 18 tuners right now after the recent genie addition. The installer told me he would have to mount a second dish!! I convinced him to just leave the second swm and I would hook it up.

Anyone else using this configuration?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:25 PM

[ATTACH]30702[/ATTACH]

The directv installer told me his technical trainer said that two swm16 would burn out the E2 after a few weeks. I checked all the specs and the built in power supply has more than enough amperage. He said it would only work with swm8's.

It is working great now, I just need to add the diplexers to bridge the deca cloud. I have 18 tuners right now after the recent genie addition. The installer told me he would have to mount a second dish!! I convinced him to just leave the second swm and I would hook it up.

Anyone else using this configuration?

It wouldn't be the E2 that concerns me, but the two SWiM-16s as they're not going to get enough air across them to keep cool.

This is how it's done now:

Posted Image

http://www.solidsign...ku=609465599052
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Tisby

Tisby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2010

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:46 PM

I know you're not done connecting things as you said you still need diplexers, but I see several uncapped ports in that picture.

#4 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 12 December 2012 - 12:05 PM

I have the E-2 pictured in OP... used it with two SWM8s... worked great. Then updated to one SWM16. I have now added the HR34 to my SWM16, using all 16 tuners with all my receivers. I have another SWM16 in reserve (bought it at great price, $32). Now I want to change out my H21 and put in HR21, need one more tuner. Been wanting to try the E-2 with two SWM16s vs. parallel setup. I could let the H21 just pull a recording tuner from the Genie, but then I wouldn't have this challenge would I....lol.

VOS, I have compared heat for the SMW8 & the SWM16 and frankly, don't see much difference. So not so sure heat would be the failure point, but could be wrong on that.

Have always wondered if enough amperage would flow to two SWM16s from the E-2's one 24 volt power source, or should I use two power supplys even with E-2. Either way, still have analyze the bridge for two SMWs even with HR34. And yes, I will use the BSF on the Genie because I still ethernet WH.
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 December 2012 - 12:54 PM

I'd skip the SWME2 in this case and use Skywalker dual power passing splitters instead. There's no doubt that the SWME2 would work for the short run, I'm sure of it.

I've observed what seems to be a higher level of radiant heat from a SWM16 than SWM8 but this is simply an observation without detailed measurements.

Since you have the E2 already in place, I'd leave it and see if it gave you problems, and possibly pick up a few of those Skywalker splitters, they aren't too expensive to have around.

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 12 December 2012 - 01:00 PM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2012 - 12:58 PM

VOS, I have compared heat for the SMW8 & the SWM16 and frankly, don't see much difference. So not so sure heat would be the failure point, but could be wrong on that.

You might take your spare -16 and stack in on top of your working -16. Then see how warm the working -16 gets.
A working -16 can get almost too warm/hot to touch, where my SWM8 would barely feel warm to the touch.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,418 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:37 AM

When i wory about HOT components, i put a case fan in to keep it all COOL.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#8 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:59 AM

When i wory about HOT components, i put a case fan in to keep it all COOL.

Doctor j

You can use "active" cooling, or passive cooling, but cooling is a concern with the -16 more than with the SWM8.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 12:44 PM

You can use "active" cooling, or passive cooling, but cooling is a concern with the -16 more than with the SWM8.


okay, VOS and Stuart have convinced me not to use the E-2 Expander with my two SWM16's.... darn it... looked like a pretty clean set-up with just one power inserter.

I'll go with the parallel set-up and two power inserters.
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#10 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 12:50 PM

okay, VOS and Stuart have convinced me not to use the E-2 Expander with my two SWM16's.... darn it... looked like a pretty clean set-up with just one power inserter.

I'll go with the parallel set-up and two power inserters.

I posted the newer expander which doesn't stack the SWiM-16s, which could let you do what you wanted.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 01:15 PM

I posted the newer expander which doesn't stack the SWiM-16s, which could let you do what you wanted.


Yes you did. $69.99. It's just $$...lol
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#12 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 01:23 PM

Yes you did. $69.99. It's just $$...lol

Four Skywalker 2-ways are cheap. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 13 December 2012 - 01:32 PM

Four Skywalker 2-ways are cheap. ;)


The fact that I already have two SWM16's complete with two power inserters and (4) 2-way splitters already... I'll just go with the parallel set-up...

...now on to integrating the HR34 into my ethernet only WH or transitioning over to DECA ... along with one or two diplexes along the way because of just one coax...

don't worry VOS, I've been reading your other threads... see you over there, I'm sure.... isn't this fun!
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#14 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 559 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 14 December 2012 - 10:32 PM

I picked up a SWM32 for a little over $150 and the 24v power inserter for $25. Have a Sonora unit that will power the lnbs so no need for the 18v power inserter. Figure I can sell off my 2 SWM-16s with power supplies to recoup most of that. Simply need a few splitters to make the units work with DECA. Seemed cleaner than dealing with a bunch more splitters and 2 SWM-16s w/ power supplies.

#15 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:03 AM

From what understand, a swm32 is way different from two swm16s. You'll have to treat as four separate 8 port banks in every phase of setup.

You need a new different thread than This one
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#16 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 15 December 2012 - 11:33 PM

I was just sent this for an mdu project. First board of four in this building.

I see no heat issues that would arise from an E2, the swm 16's are over an inch apart, dont see how that would effect cooling, esp when they are indoors at 70 degress constant.

Posted Image
Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#17 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 December 2012 - 01:20 AM

I see no heat issues that would arise from an E2, the swm 16's are over an inch apart, dont see how that would effect cooling, esp when they are indoors at 70 degress constant.

All I'll say is "good luck".
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 18 December 2012 - 12:17 PM

Aside from the heat issues, are we sure there should be no problems with adequate voltage, amperage for using the E-2 Expander with (2) SWM16s, or even (1) SWM8 + (1) SWM16?

If I were to configure a SWM8 and SWM16 together with the E-2 Expander pictured above, would messages like 775 and 771A (communications with the dish) indicate power inserter voltage issues? Just wondering if SWM8 + SWM16 might have different requirements from 2 SWM8s connected to the E-2. Keep in mind the single power supply for the Expander is one 24-volt brick.

It took about 24 hours for the problem to present itself. I double checked all the connections and ground. If this is the issue, could one use the Expander as a just splitter for the SWMs? and then use separate power supplies for each SMW? I would think either configuration would work.

More importantly, if the SWMs cannot get adequate power, then Expander configuration is not going to work.

Again, heat issues may well be another major issue. I would say to VOS and to Stuart, I concur with added heat generated by the SWM16. I have stacked the SWM8 and the SWM16 and the heat comparison is very obvious. SWM16 is much hotter. Not sure if the 1" spacing between the stacked SWMs is enough...

The 775 messages and the 771A messages are coming from one receiver on the SWM16/DECA side of the set-up, not the SWM8 side. If I have other issues, I will start another thread for sure...

(VOS, the reason I am using a SWM8: My plan is a hybrid Whole Home network - I am using the SWM8 to diplex three receivers (6 tuners) to which I cannot get a second line. Using ethernet with those receivers - right now I am using Eagle 2100LX diplexers - I know they don't power pass 2MHz on satellite leg, I have NAS diplexers ordered -

My other receivers (11 tuners) have separate coax for off-air and are connected to the SMW16 using DECA (HR34 serves as BB DECA for those receivers).

Two separate SWM systems bridged at the router. All receivers sync, all receivers see each other, all receivers MRV.)

But I digress...This part really deserves another thread, and is somewhat off topic here...

Edited by hidefman, 18 December 2012 - 01:02 PM.

5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#19 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,389 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 December 2012 - 12:57 PM

I'm not sure the 24 volt "brick" has the wattage.
A SWiM-16 has problems with a 36 watt PI.
A.K.A VOS

#20 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 18 December 2012 - 01:18 PM

I'm not sure the 24 volt "brick" has the wattage.
A SWiM-16 has problems with a 36 watt PI.


Yep. I am thinking the same thing. I am going to use the two 29 volts power inserters for each SWM. (Listed at 43.5W)

On the SWM16, I will use the power port.

On the SWM8, do you recommend using the SWM1/PWR port? or the legacy 3 port for connecting the power inserter? I can use either, as I can connect my three receivers (6tuners) to SWM2 port via green label splitter.
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.




spam firewall