Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Whole Home/External Device Help Needed


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 06 December 2012 - 05:10 PM

Just got an HR34 to replace one of my HR21s and I'm having a few minor issues. I wanted to check if the DTV app on my iPad would now show the 34 but on the Now Watching column it said that external devices were currently blocked from seeing the current channel/show. I went into the Whole Home settings and under External Device - External Access is set to Allow but Current Program is set to Block. If I click on that, Block is the only option offered. Under the other settings I can block or allow but not on that one. Is this a malfunction or something that's addressed in a more current update? Having just activated the receiver it does not have the current software.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:39 PM

Restarted the receiver and received the new software. Now I can change the Current Program from block to allow but the app on my iPad is not getting the program info. It just says updating. It shows the current program on the other receiver though.

#3 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 933 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 06 December 2012 - 09:11 PM

Allow up to 24 hours for complete functionality of any web connected apps, on demand, Utube, pandora, Ipad app, etc.......

#4 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 06 December 2012 - 09:17 PM

Allow up to 24 hours for complete functionality of any web connected apps, on demand, Utube, pandora, Ipad app, etc.......


Will do. Thanks.

#5 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 08 December 2012 - 10:33 AM

The ipad app correctly lists the 34 when all are on my home network, however the "Currently Watching" column only displays the channel that the 34 is tuned to when the device is on ( out of standby ). If I turn it off ( or standby, whichever is the correct term ) the "Currently Watching" column just shows updating but never gets the channel. As soon as I turn the 34 on the app then will capture the channel. My other dvr an HR21 which is also on the network in another room always shows the channel it's tuned to whether on or off. The dvr that the 34 replaced, another 21, would also always display the current channel in the app whether on or off.

With the 34 is this a known or expected behavior?

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:41 PM

The ipad app correctly lists the 34 when all are on my home network, however the "Currently Watching" column only displays the channel that the 34 is tuned to when the device is on ( out of standby ). If I turn it off ( or standby, whichever is the correct term ) the "Currently Watching" column just shows updating but never gets the channel. As soon as I turn the 34 on the app then will capture the channel. My other dvr an HR21 which is also on the network in another room always shows the channel it's tuned to whether on or off. The dvr that the 34 replaced, another 21, would also always display the current channel in the app whether on or off.

With the 34 is this a known or expected behavior?


I've had that issue with the HR34 as well. I can't remember if I've seen it fixed or not.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:58 PM

It's consistent behavior. If the dvr is on that column will show the channel, if it's not only an updating message shows. It's not a major issue for me, just nice to see what channel I left it on. Plus it seems to be pretty useless if you have to remember to leave it on if later you plan on using the app. I hope setting something to record by the iPad or iphone app doesn't require the dvr to be on.

#8 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 933 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 10 December 2012 - 07:53 PM

I think this is a common issue like the HR34 losing its buffer when turned off it also does not show on the ipad the channel watching. Does on mine also.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...