Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

612 owners


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 December 2012 - 02:08 PM

612 users, are you happy with this model?
I need to upgrade due to a new tv and one option is to just add a 612.
The other option is to go the hopper route, but the OTA still seems shaky.
Any advice?

Edited by 722921, 08 December 2012 - 09:06 AM.

Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   altidude

altidude

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2010

Posted 07 December 2012 - 03:20 PM

I've had a 612 for about 1.5 years now and we're happy with it. It's been a solid performer for us. I don't use OTA on it though.

I'm staying with my current setup (722k, 612, 211k) over the Hopper/Joey solely for the dual OTA tuner on the 722k. I'll keep this setup for as long as I can. I'd need two Hoppers and one Joey and I just don't want to do that right now.

#3 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:40 PM

Well that's encouraging.
The 612 does have ota, right?
Basically a 622 with only one tv output (not tv1 and tv2) and less disk space?
Any counterpoints out there?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#4 OFFLINE   mike1977

mike1977

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2005

Posted 07 December 2012 - 11:14 PM

It sucks. Constantly have to reboot it because either sound goes out or the picture freezes.

#5 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:45 AM

I've had two for a couple years now and with the exception of one hard drive failure they have worked well. I too don't use the OTA tuner.

To mike1977, have you considered asking for a replacement instead of complaining?

#6 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,799 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:23 AM

The problem seems to be isolated to weak channels losing the signal for the OTA module on the hopper. If you are not watching them when they drop there is no problem. Certainly if I wanted a Hoppa this would not be a reason to not get it. Given sometime they will fix it.

As to the 612 - I have three and love them. If you take my suggestion you will rarely have a problem, in fact they may be more stable than a 722 now. You need to keep it cool. Put a fan that takes the warm air away from it or blows cooler air into it.

#7 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:26 AM

I've had two for a couple years now and with the exception of one hard drive failure they have worked well. I too don't use the OTA tuner.

To mike1977, have you considered asking for a replacement instead of complaining?


I agree with Klang except I do use OTA and it works well as long as you have enough signal from your antenna. I also agree with Klang on the comment to Mike1977 it isn't DISH'S fault if you don't replace a problem receiver.

#8 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:05 AM

Keep em coming.
I guess I could turn my 622 and get 2 612s for the same monthly cost?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#9 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 08 December 2012 - 10:25 AM

Keep em coming.
I guess I could turn my 622 and get 2 612s for the same monthly cost?

As an additional receiver the 622 is $17/mo. the 612 is only $10.

If you are going to replace the 622 and add a 612 you should come out $3 higher per mo.

Edited by boba, 08 December 2012 - 10:33 AM.


#10 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 08 December 2012 - 03:43 PM

Thanks for that info. Seems reasonable.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#11 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 08 December 2012 - 04:54 PM

As an additional receiver the 622 is $17/mo. the 612 is only $10.

If you are going to replace the 622 and add a 612 you should come out $3 higher per mo.


Not a bad deal for twice the tuners, twice the HDD space, and HD in two rooms.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#12 OFFLINE   Satnovice

Satnovice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2012

Posted 08 December 2012 - 05:21 PM

Hello, I just joined the forum today and I would like to know how to get around, especially how to start a new post, sorry I did not mean to interfere with this post.

#13 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 08 December 2012 - 06:09 PM

Not a bad deal for twice the tuners, twice the HDD space, and HD in two rooms.


I don't think it is really twice the hdd space, maybe even less than one 622?
But yeah, more tuners and independant HD in 2 rooms is a bonus.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#14 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 08 December 2012 - 06:55 PM

I don't think it is really twice the hdd space, maybe even less than one 622?
But yeah, more tuners and independant HD in 2 rooms is a bonus.


Both the 612 and 622 have 320GB hard drives. So two 612s would have twice the HDD space of a single 622 :) .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#15 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 09 December 2012 - 04:45 PM

Both the 612 and 622 have 320GB hard drives. So two 612s would have twice the HDD space of a single 622 :) .


Good to know, I thought the 622 had a 500GB, or is that the 722?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#16 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 10 December 2012 - 04:28 AM

The 722 has 500GB.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#17 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:17 AM

611 is 350gb I believe.

#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:29 AM

611 is 350gb I believe.


If you will open it you will find 320 GB drive.

#19 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:21 PM

yup 320gb, and putting in a 500gb will not increase recording time on the 612, but it will on the 622.

#20 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:56 PM

yup 320gb, and putting in a 500gb will not increase recording time on the 612, but it will on the 622.


That's a bummer - 612 is a descend of 622 ...




spam firewall