Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

need to move Slimline dish


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bigdaddy51200

bigdaddy51200

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2009

Posted 11 December 2012 - 09:47 AM

It is currently mounted to the side of my house , I need to move it about 30 feet out and install in the ground on a pole . What all will need to do this ? What size pole will I need ?

Thanks for your help

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,821 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:20 AM

Here is a link for the tubing needed.
http://www.solidsign...DISH&c=Mounting Supplies&sku=639767551496

You should dig a hole 2 feet deep with a pole digger, put the pole in and fill around it with concrete. Make sure the pole is perfectly plum using a leve while it is setting up.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,066 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

Maybe 2 ft deep where you are jimmie57, but it should be at least as deep as the frost line. A post level is handy if you have one. There should be a bolt through the post or the bottom should be flattened to prevent it from spinning.

Attached Thumbnails

  • postlevel.jpg


#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,821 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:10 PM

Maybe 2 ft deep where you are jimmie57, but it should be at least as deep as the frost line. A post level is handy if you have one. There should be a bolt through the post or the bottom should be flattened to prevent it from spinning.


What is a frost line ? LOL. We get frost on the surface a couple of times per year here.

That level is a good one.

I picked the 2 feet because most of what I read says the cable should be in a PVC pipe that is buried 2 feet also.

The bolt thru the pipe and sticking out to keep if from turning is extra protection but I do not believe it would turn when it is planted in cement.
Can't hurt to do it.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 480 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 12 December 2012 - 01:01 AM

Studechip is right. If you don't go deep enough to get a goodly part of the concrete below the frost line in your area, after a few freeze-thaw cycles your formerly plumb pipe will try and walk itself right out of the ground. In cold areas of the US the frost line can be 5 feet deep or more.

A deeper and larger concrete block has obvious stability benefits as well.

#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,821 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 12 December 2012 - 06:54 AM

Studechip is right. If you don't go deep enough to get a goodly part of the concrete below the frost line in your area, after a few freeze-thaw cycles your formerly plumb pipe will try and walk itself right out of the ground. In cold areas of the US the frost line can be 5 feet deep or more.

A deeper and larger concrete block has obvious stability benefits as well.


Wow, 5 feet. That would use all but the last foot of the pole I linked to.
The only thing I know of that is longer than the 6 foot one listed is a muffler shop. Their stuff is tubing which is what you need since pipe is either 1-15/16" OD or 2-3/8" OD ( Outside Diameter ).
Been many many years since I had muffler work done so I do not know what different grades of metal is available that would be suitable for this application.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,066 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 12 December 2012 - 08:37 AM

Here in CT the frost line is 42". Some colder areas it's 48". In parts of Minnesota it's 60".

#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,821 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:01 AM

This map shows the Frost Line is 6 inches in the zip code he lists for his location.

http://www.satellite...58&d=1140473309

2 feet deep should be good for where he is located.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,066 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 12 December 2012 - 11:54 AM

I didn't see the location before. No doubt two feet is good then.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...