Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DVR died... thinking of doing some upgrades...


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   CHaynes112

CHaynes112

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2009

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:03 PM

Greetings,

Ok, the HR-21 is my son's room died. I was thinking this would be a good time to consider an upgrade (equipment in signature). I was told I could get the HR-21 replaced at no charge. I was also available to get a free upgrade from one of the D12-500s to a HD receiver. I could then upgrade another D12 to an HD receiver for $99. So basically, I would have 2 x HD DVRs and 2 x HD receivers... I don't really care about the 5th receiver (another D12) as it's connected to an old CRT TV (SD) in a guest bedroom. While the above setup would get all my main rooms on HD, it doesn't really seem like they are giving me any "deals". When I asked about the Genie... I was told it would be $299 (which included a client for one room) and if I wanted to upgrade the other two rooms, it would be $99 each... so $497 :lol: Any comments?

Also, I currently have the non-supported Ethernet Whole Home DVR service. It currently connects my two DVRs and allows them to share content, but NOT tuners. I have heard rumors that a future software upgrade would allow one DVR to steal a tuner if needed (like a HD non-DVR can). is this true? Also, if I do the above upgrade... will both new HD receivers be able to connect to my Whole Home DVR system via Ethernet? Can EACH hd receiver access EACH current hd-dvr?

-Thanks

AU9 - SL5S - SWS-8

HR24-100 [0x0851]

HR23-700 [0x0851]
3 x D12-500 [0x126D]


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 986 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 11 December 2012 - 02:08 PM

Obviously we all have a different definition of "deal". They are offering you a free upgrade on one of your receivers and you dont see that as a deal?

since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
HR24-500 -- Samsung UN32EH5000FXZA

 

#3 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 11 December 2012 - 03:39 PM

Also, if I do the above upgrade... will both new HD receivers be able to connect to my Whole Home DVR system via Ethernet? Can EACH hd receiver access EACH current hd-dvr?



As long as you do not receive an H25(no ethernet port), yes.

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,295 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:13 PM

An HD non receiver doesn't really steal a tuner, it can just set something to record. A C31 can essentially steal a tuner from an Hr34 when watching live TV.

#5 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:27 PM

An HD non receiver doesn't really steal a tuner, it can just set something to record. A C31 can essentially steal a tuner from an Hr34 when watching live TV.


Yep. C31 use the HR34's tuners atleast 1 all the time.
H25's don't. Only if you set a recording will it tie up one of the Hr34's tuners.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#6 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:30 PM

Greetings,

Ok, the HR-21 is my son's room died. I was thinking this would be a good time to consider an upgrade (equipment in signature). I was told I could get the HR-21 replaced at no charge. I was also available to get a free upgrade from one of the D12-500s to a HD receiver. I could then upgrade another D12 to an HD receiver for $99. So basically, I would have 2 x HD DVRs and 2 x HD receivers... I don't really care about the 5th receiver (another D12) as it's connected to an old CRT TV (SD) in a guest bedroom. While the above setup would get all my main rooms on HD, it doesn't really seem like they are giving me any "deals". When I asked about the Genie... I was told it would be $299 (which included a client for one room) and if I wanted to upgrade the other two rooms, it would be $99 each... so $497 :lol: Any comments?

Also, I currently have the non-supported Ethernet Whole Home DVR service. It currently connects my two DVRs and allows them to share content, but NOT tuners. I have heard rumors that a future software upgrade would allow one DVR to steal a tuner if needed (like a HD non-DVR can). is this true? Also, if I do the above upgrade... will both new HD receivers be able to connect to my Whole Home DVR system via Ethernet? Can EACH hd receiver access EACH current hd-dvr?

-Thanks

Bottom line if your not under contract I would demand a better deal, Or start weighing your options.

I would pay $99 for the HR34 and still want the H25 for free, and they can keep the C31.

Thats a fair deal for a 24 month commitment IMO.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,600 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:35 PM

Yep. C31 use the HR34's tuners atleast 1 all the time.
H25's don't. Only if you set a recording will it tie up one of the Hr34's tuners.

I assume that if the C31 is tuned off that it doesn't use a tuner on the HR34.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#8 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:41 PM

I assume that if the C31 is tuned off that it doesn't use a tuner on the HR34.

Correct or if its just streaming a recording.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#9 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,295 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:42 PM

C31 only uses a tuner when turned on and on live TV (or in the buffer). If it's being used to watch something recorded, or recording, it doesn't.

#10 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:47 PM

C31 only uses a tuner when turned on and on live TV (or in the buffer). If it's being used to watch something recorded, or recording, it doesn't.

If your recording it uses a Tuner off the HR34. What else would it be using to gather content to record to the harddrive?

If C31 has a recording set, then a tuner is being used.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#11 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:49 PM

C31 only uses a tuner when turned on and on live TV (or in the buffer). If it's being used to watch something recorded, or recording, it doesn't.

If your recording it uses a Tuner off the HR34. What else would it be using to gather content to record to the harddrive?

If that was the case you would be able to record 100 things at once.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#12 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:51 PM

If your recording it uses a Tuner off the HR34. What else would it be using to gather content to record to the harddrive?

If C31 has a recording set, then a tuner is being used.


I think dpeters was just saying it does not steal a tuner to watch what is being recorded. The tuner is in use by the HR34 already and watching what is being recorded does not take yet another tuner.

#13 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:57 PM

I think dpeters was just saying it does not steal a tuner to watch what is being recorded. The tuner is in use by the HR34 already and watching what is being recorded does not take yet another tuner.

Understand that, But you set a recording, there goes a tuner, you have 4 left

If I set 5 recording at the same time off a C31, your only watching those 5 shows throughout your system, cause you have all 5 tuner tied up.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#14 OFFLINE   CHaynes112

CHaynes112

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2009

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:04 PM

As long as you do not receive an H25(no ethernet port), yes.


If one or both of the HD non-DVRs are H25s... then what would be needed to get WHDVR working with all 4 boxes?

AU9 - SL5S - SWS-8

HR24-100 [0x0851]

HR23-700 [0x0851]
3 x D12-500 [0x126D]


#15 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:08 PM

If one or both of the HD non-DVRs are H25s... then what would be needed to get WHDVR working with all 4 boxes?


Deca Swim if you want internet.
http://www.dbstalk.c...13&d=1339096760
Otherwise just Swim 8 or 16 system

Edited by damondlt, 11 December 2012 - 05:22 PM.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#16 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:18 PM

If one or both of the HD non-DVRs are H25s... then what would be needed to get WHDVR working with all 4 boxes?


The D* supported whole home dvr.

#17 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,295 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:40 PM

Understand that, But you set a recording, there goes a tuner, you have 4 left

If I set 5 recording at the same time off a C31, your only watching those 5 shows throughout your system, cause you have all 5 tuner tied up.


I don't count setting a recording off as stealing a tuner. Turning a C31 on to live TV, that is stealing a tuner.

#18 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:43 PM

I don't count setting a recording off as stealing a tuner. Turning a C31 on to live TV, that is stealing a tuner.

You will when you go to sit down and your child decided to set 5 recordings and you can't watch live tv.;)

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#19 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:56 PM

If one or both of the HD non-DVRs are H25s... then what would be needed to get WHDVR working with all 4 boxes?


Standard whole house service. The internet will be spread to the other receivers through the coax cable that also carries the program signals.
It's a fine system; I have been very happy with mine, which includes an H25 and two HRs for a total of eight tuners.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#20 OFFLINE   dudester

dudester

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:24 PM

Did the 21 die or did you just lose the picture. My hdmi just went out after the new software update and I had to switch back to component cables.

#21 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:32 PM

Did the 21 die or did you just lose the picture. My hdmi just went out after the new software update and I had to switch back to component cables.


Replies might best be directed to the thread that dudester started here.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#22 OFFLINE   CHaynes112

CHaynes112

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2009

Posted 12 December 2012 - 02:48 AM

Replies might best be directed to the thread that dudester started here.


No, it is unrelated to that. The unit tries to boot, but gets stuck at Checking Receiver for hours. Then finally it starts the detailed diagnostics and fails at Hard Disk and gives an error code.

AU9 - SL5S - SWS-8

HR24-100 [0x0851]

HR23-700 [0x0851]
3 x D12-500 [0x126D]


#23 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:39 AM

No, it is unrelated to that. The unit tries to boot, but gets stuck at Checking Receiver for hours. Then finally it starts the detailed diagnostics and fails at Hard Disk and gives an error code.


Was suggesting only that dudester's issues be confined to the thread he started.

You are focussed on upgrading, no?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#24 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,326 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 12 December 2012 - 11:42 AM

If one or both of the HD non-DVRs are H25s... then what would be needed to get WHDVR working with all 4 boxes?


You would need a SWM system that does the networking over the coax cable. Either a SWM enabled LNB on your dish or connect a non SWM LNB to a SWM8 (or SWM16) multiswitch.

You would also need a Cinema Connection Kit if you wanted the be able to stream On Demand, view Youtube, use Pandora, basically any internet specific functions.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#25 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,326 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 12 December 2012 - 11:47 AM

Standard whole house service. The internet will be spread to the other receivers through the coax cable that also carries the program signals.
It's a fine system; I have been very happy with mine, which includes an H25 and two HRs for a total of eight tuners.


I can second this. I have four HR2X DVRs on a SWM system with Whole Home enabled and I can honestly say I don't miss not having an HR34. I have eight tuners with recording capability and the content is shared across all of my SWM connected boxes. The only negative is I cannot kick off a recording on a remote DVR. I can only start a recording on the box in the room where I am sitting but so far that hasn't been a problem. I have series links spread out all across the Living Room, Family Room and two bedrooms.

I still have three legacy receivers that I am probably going to upgrade to H2X boxes just to get the whole system on Whole Home where all recordings are available on all sets. The only thing really holding me back is that two of those legacy units are R10 DirecTivos connected to SD sets in the kitchen and the dining room and I don't want to lose the trick play. My wife is the Queen of "what did they say" and I am constantly rewinding live TV and turning up the volume so she can catch what she missed.

If I upgrade those R10s to H2X boxes I will gain Whole Home capability but lose trick play. I'm not entirely sure which is more valuable to our viewing habits.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa




Protected By... spam firewall...And...