Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S234/Joey S282 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 December 2012 - 02:11 AM

Just got this update! Things I've noticed so far :-

- MANUAL TIMERS!!!
- Slight UI updates
- When you highlight recording folders, it now indicates how many are unwatched
- When you highlight an event on the guide, if the title doesn't fit within the time block, it will now scroll so that you can read the entire title.
- (not tested yet) Probably can now record OTA channels that have no guide data, since there are now manual timers.
- Probably other things that I missed, kinda late and I mainly was looking for manual timers. I'll update this post later on.

Edited by 3HaloODST, 13 December 2012 - 04:44 PM.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 613 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 13 December 2012 - 05:10 AM

- MANUAL TIMERS!!!


Astonishing to me how some people bandy about words like "never." This feature can't exist because somebody on the Internet said "never" and we all know that if you read it on the Internet, it must be true. (And yes, the last sentence is self-referencing, so you cannot question it. Bwa-ha-ha.)

#3 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:00 AM

Astonishing to me how some people bandy about words like "never." This feature can't exist because somebody on the Internet said "never" and we all know that if you read it on the Internet, it must be true. (And yes, the last sentence is self-referencing, so you cannot question it. Bwa-ha-ha.)


I agree!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#4 OFFLINE   treecastle

treecastle

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
  • LocationEast Tennessee
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 13 December 2012 - 04:09 PM

I too got the update last night to S234 on my Hopper and S282 on the Joeys :)

DirecTV subscriber from 1996 to March 2012
DISH subscriber from March 2012 to May 2013

DirecTV subscriber since May 2013

 


#5 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:50 PM

Yeah last night Joey software was still at S278. Now at S282 :D .

Tried to change the title earlier, guess a mod needs to change it.

The good news is, rumor has it that this software will be rolling out quicker than S230 did :) .

Another great feature with S234, can now tune into the "Big Four" all at the same time using only one tuner! Don't even need PTAT enabled either!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,898 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:10 PM

Thread title fixed.

I was wondering why the Hopper got an update and not the Joey in the thread-starter post... was thinking there might be some mod work to fix the title eventually :)

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#7 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 14 December 2012 - 04:24 PM

Approximately 60% of the EHD icons or artwork showed up after S234. Wonder where the rest are?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#8 OFFLINE   rgranberry

rgranberry

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2012

Posted 16 December 2012 - 01:50 PM

Thanks for:
Nice button colors.
When watching PTAT, it now keeps track of show ends and % watched.
Closed Captions now work all the time. (Although, after 234 update, they wouldn’t work at all until did front panel reset; even power reset didn’t get them working.)
When using Daily Schedule, making changes no longer pops the list back to the beginning.
Dish Online seems to work a lot better. It reads info from hopper and sets timers fairly reliably. It still doesn’t read all the timers (only pulled up 20 of 26).

Continuing bug / annoyances:

When all three tuners are in use recording and you are watching a prerecorded program, when you are finished with the program you are watching and press Stop then Delete, you cannot delete that program, because the hopper will not switch the picture to one of the tuners that are recording; instead, the picture remains on the stopped program you were watching and therefore won't delete the program because it thinks it's still being used.

When watching a recorded program, selecting Pause, then Skip Fwd to advance a frame and then Play, causes sound to cut out for about 5 seconds and about the time the sound comes back the picture jumps ahead about 10 seconds. Can get around this by hitting Skip Back once before Play.

Skip Back does not go back one frame. (seems to be designed this way ??)

Would be nice if the Timer limit was greater than 96 so I can leave in timers for all 3 or 4 seasons of the broadcasting year and still set up one time timers for movies and sports.

The Skip Fwd problem that showed up with S213, where the picture does not keep up with rapid presses of Skip Fwd.

#9 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:00 PM

Speaking of colored buttons, I'm showing six "services in use" with 5 active and 1 available when I push the red button? It use to be 3, is this a bug or something new? I have 2 Hoppers and 2 Joeys.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#10 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,293 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:58 PM

Speaking of colored buttons, I'm showing six "services in use" with 5 active and 1 available when I push the red button? It use to be 3, is this a bug or something new? I have 2 Hoppers and 2 Joeys.

If four of them are PTAT channels it is not a bug. :)

One can now watch any of the PTAT channels while one of the PTAT channels is being watched or recorded, 24/7. So if someone using that Hopper (including via a Joey) is watching NBC then others using that hopper (including other Joeys) can watch other local networks without burning a second tuner.

I do not believe you can record off of two PTAT channels on one tuner outside of PTAT times (yet) but you can watch. :)

#11 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 December 2012 - 06:48 PM

If four of them are PTAT channels it is not a bug. :)

One can now watch any of the PTAT channels while one of the PTAT channels is being watched or recorded, 24/7. So if someone using that Hopper (including via a Joey) is watching NBC then others using that hopper (including other Joeys) can watch other local networks without burning a second tuner.

I do not believe you can record off of two PTAT channels on one tuner outside of PTAT times (yet) but you can watch. :)

Thank you.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#12 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 16 December 2012 - 07:42 PM

I tested it the other day, you can indeed record two separate channels from the "PTAT" tuner. However the weird thing is that then you can only record using one more tuner. So you can still only record 3 things at once. However you could watch up to 7 channels at once if you had enough Joeys.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#13 OFFLINE   TheGrove

TheGrove

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 17 December 2012 - 06:42 AM

Manual timers work nice! Thank you! I can now set an auto-tune timer for 2:45 am on the Weather Channel so the channel is up and buffered when I get out of the shower to get dressed for work.

Now if they would must make the PiP work better! Coming from a combination 722/622 world the PiP controls need help. First, it doesn't remember your settings. If I change the PiP to be side-by-side after the Hopper goes to sleep it resets back to upper right corner. Second, if you bring up the PiP the only way to turn it off is to bring the menu back on and select the close option. With the 622/722 you could bring the PiP up with the button and shut it off by clicking the same button.
2 Hoppers (2 - 2TB EHD)
1 Joey

#14 OFFLINE   RASCAL01

RASCAL01

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2006

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:52 PM

Thanks for:
Nice button colors.
When watching PTAT, it now keeps track of show ends and % watched.
Closed Captions now work all the time. (Although, after 234 update, they wouldn’t work at all until did front panel reset; even power reset didn’t get them working.)
When using Daily Schedule, making changes no longer pops the list back to the beginning.
Dish Online seems to work a lot better. It reads info from hopper and sets timers fairly reliably. It still doesn’t read all the timers (only pulled up 20 of 26).

Continuing bug / annoyances:

When all three tuners are in use recording and you are watching a prerecorded program, when you are finished with the program you are watching and press Stop then Delete, you cannot delete that program, because the hopper will not switch the picture to one of the tuners that are recording; instead, the picture remains on the stopped program you were watching and therefore won't delete the program because it thinks it's still being used.

When watching a recorded program, selecting Pause, then Skip Fwd to advance a frame and then Play, causes sound to cut out for about 5 seconds and about the time the sound comes back the picture jumps ahead about 10 seconds. Can get around this by hitting Skip Back once before Play.

Skip Back does not go back one frame. (seems to be designed this way ??)

Would be nice if the Timer limit was greater than 96 so I can leave in timers for all 3 or 4 seasons of the broadcasting year and still set up one time timers for movies and sports.

The Skip Fwd problem that showed up with S213, where the picture does not keep up with rapid presses of Skip Fwd.


I have the same issue...to delete just leave the DVR function and pick a tuner then go back into DVR and now you can delete the show.
RASCAL01
DISH 622, Hopper, Hopper2, Joey
TOSHIBA REGZA 55 LED/LCD 24O HZ
SONY AV 5.1 SOUROUND SOUND
SONY 3D BLUE RAY PLAYER

#15 OFFLINE   fwampler

fwampler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2005

Posted 18 December 2012 - 12:48 PM

Just got the update last night (12/17/12). In addition to what has already been mentioned, the sports finder page (blue button from live) changed a little with an addition or two and the sports finder itself has a much improved interface and selection button/method. Haven't used update much yet but will edit/add features as I find them if they are not already mentioned elsewhere.
Fred


#16 OFFLINE   nickz

nickz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2012

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:14 PM

I noticed my favorites list sticks now on the Hopper instead of reverting to "My Channels" every night. (Has always stuck on the Joey.)

#17 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,965 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

This is the first time I've had a missed recording(s) with the Hopper. :( It was on S230 when I checked on Monday but has been upgraded to 234 sometime since. Last night it missed 4 recordings it was scheduled for: PTAT, Late Night w/ Jimmy Fallon and 2 instances of "Justified". There were no other Timers scheduled and in all instances of the missed timers the daily schedule shows: "Completed by User: Living Room 1" but under that it says "Timer Started:" with the proper start time, then "Recording Started: N/A", "Timer Stopped:" with the correct end time and finally "Recording Stopped: N/A". It gets weirder in that the series timer for Justified should have recorded the three back-to-back episodes starting at 2:00, 3:00 and 4:00 AM. It missed the first and last one but actually recorded the middle one and that is reflected in the recording start and stop times. If this continues I'm going to be really unhappy. In all the years I've had DVRs with Dish I don't think I've ever missed a recording that wasn't due to operator error, signal loss.

#18 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:26 PM

I experienced this only once months ago with my Hopper. Have you unplugged the Hopper from the electrical outlet for 10 seconds to have the receiver reboot? If this continues, please PM me your receiver number so I can submit a trouble report to our engineering team. Please let me know. Thanks.

This is the first time I've had a missed recording(s) with the Hopper. :( It was on S230 when I checked on Monday but has been upgraded to 234 sometime since. Last night it missed 4 recordings it was scheduled for: PTAT, Late Night w/ Jimmy Fallon and 2 instances of "Justified". There were no other Timers scheduled and in all instances of the missed timers the daily schedule shows: "Completed by User: Living Room 1" but under that it says "Timer Started:" with the proper start time, then "Recording Started: N/A", "Timer Stopped:" with the correct end time and finally "Recording Stopped: N/A". It gets weirder in that the series timer for Justified should have recorded the three back-to-back episodes starting at 2:00, 3:00 and 4:00 AM. It missed the first and last one but actually recorded the middle one and that is reflected in the recording start and stop times. If this continues I'm going to be really unhappy. In all the years I've had DVRs with Dish I don't think I've ever missed a recording that wasn't due to operator error, signal loss.



#19 OFFLINE   Ramer84015

Ramer84015

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 20 December 2012 - 03:21 PM

I received the update to S234 on the Hopper and S282 on my 1 Joey last Monday. Since then, on my Joey, when I try to watch one of the PTAT channels while it's recording during prime time, the Joey will freeze, then resume, then freeze etc. The only work around I've been able to do is to watch what's already been recorded a minute of so after being live. This isn't happening on the Hopper, just the Joey. It's happened for the last 2 nights, but it's fine during the day. Did I get a bad update to the Joey and can it be fixed?

#20 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 402 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 20 December 2012 - 04:33 PM

Did you power cycle the Joey?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...