Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S234/Joey S282 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   renpar61

renpar61

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2006

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:28 AM

As reported by someone else before, resuming play after pause or skip back results in stuttering and pixelation, making the show unwatchable. It happened the first time on an OTA channel and I didn't pay too much attention thinking it might have been weak signal from the antenna.
I am sure this started with the last software update.
I use this feature a lot, especially watching sports. Now I have to be careful not to pause anything because I would lose the content until I resume to Live TV, very annoying.
I tried the button reset, and also unplug the receiver for 1/2 hour. Problem still there.
On the other hand I don't have any problem on recorded shows as someone else does.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:40 AM

This may not exactly be a bug, but it's an unexpected aspect of a feature that's bothered me all along. I really hoped this would be "fixed" but it isn't yet.

When using timers to auto-save PTAT shows, the folder assignments on those timers are not heeded. That can't be right! This really hurts the folder functionality in my scenario.

Please, can somebody get this on a to-do list somewhere?

This bugs the heck out of me, too! What's the point of creating folders if any PTAT program ignores where I want to have the program saved?? Dish, are you working to resolve this issue?

#53 OFFLINE   doverton

doverton

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2004

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:24 AM

Since this didn't occur prior to the oftware update, please PM me your receiver number so I can submit a trouble report to our engineers. Thanks.


Did anything further happen with this? Its been a couple of weeks, hoped that I would find someone who "fixed" it. I have the exact same issue, the Hopper does a 5 second delay, the Joey, its happy as before.

5 Seconds.. doesn't sound like much, but it sure does drive me nuts.

#54 OFFLINE   DishTim

DishTim

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2006

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:08 PM

As reported by someone else before, resuming play after pause or skip back results in stuttering and pixelation, making the show unwatchable. It happened the first time on an OTA channel and I didn't pay too much attention thinking it might have been weak signal from the antenna.
I am sure this started with the last software update.
I use this feature a lot, especially watching sports. Now I have to be careful not to pause anything because I would lose the content until I resume to Live TV, very annoying.
I tried the button reset, and also unplug the receiver for 1/2 hour. Problem still there.
On the other hand I don't have any problem on recorded shows as someone else does.


I'm having the same problem.....when I resume after pause there is a lot of stuttering and pixelation. When I go back to live the problem goes away. Any ideas?
Dish Network Customer since 12/1996
1 Hopper and 1 Joey

#55 OFFLINE   bookwalk

bookwalk

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: May 10, 2005

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:58 PM

DishTim--Call DISH and insist they note this as a problem with the last software update. Try leaving the receiver unplugged for more than 1/2 hour. I also had to have the dual node replaced and the LNB. I also think the problem is reinforced by the hot receiver--so my husband bought 4 x 2" plastic pipe fittings to use as "feet" for both our hoppers--to raise at least 1-2" off the base and have plenty of air circulating on top and bottom.

Again, pull the plug for at least 1/2 hour if not more and cool the receiver off. Try a Check switch under PointDish and don't schedule any recordings after 1 am for a week or so, so it can "recover" reboot and "fix" itself.
I also have a USB OTA dongle and ethernet. I now have an external hard drive where I have backed up (transferred) most of the important recorded movies, in case the Hopper crashes for good and needs to be replaced, but I think it's a software problem, along with the heat.

I have not noticed the problem since, but I notice issues when rebooting and not getting guide updates--tonight I had to call as my Guide is not updated and I don't show the most recent Pay Perview VOD's.

Also, I deleted all recordings made since the issue first appeared, in case of a corrupted recording -- they said it could be "corrupting" the hard drive and causing the skips--so the recordings made the day you first saw the issue and all afterward should be deleted.
Pat

:hi:

#56 OFFLINE   rgranberry

rgranberry

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2012

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:13 AM

Just had my first experience with the problem everyone has been talking about. One of the channels removed itself from my list and couldn't put it back in, no matter the number of channels I tried adding at one time. Only thing I haven't tried is resets and power cycling. Come on Dish, how hard is writing a bugless program to keep track of a list of numbers?

#57 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:17 AM

Just had my first experience with the problem everyone has been talking about. One of the channels removed itself from my list and couldn't put it back in, no matter the number of channels I tried adding at one time. Only thing I haven't tried is resets and power cycling. Come on Dish, how hard is writing a bugless program to keep track of a list of numbers?


Try adding the dropped channel to a new fav list and you should be able to add the other channels from the list as well.

#58 OFFLINE   fwampler

fwampler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2005

Posted 20 January 2013 - 08:42 AM

I found that the channel list holds only so many entries. After that it allows you to select more but it will not add them and gives you no feedback. I removed a less used channel and added the one I wanted (ESPN). Hope this helps.
Fred


#59 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 January 2013 - 12:37 PM

I have deep feeling [as SW/HW guy] the issue with Fav. lists is so obvious, and I don't get why they can't fix the bug; perhaps that imperative fever of switching SW team focus to new product, now it XiP913 [H2] ? Before 922 been abandoned in favor of XiP813 [H2k] ...

#60 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:58 AM

I have recently noticed that whenever I jump to one of the live PTAT channels, the picture quality suffers from bad pixelation and stutters quite a bit. I can solve this by skipping back 10 seconds, but if I skip forward to "Live" TV, the picture degrades back to stuttering with bad pixelation. I have also noticed that my Skip Forward function has been inconsistent. It sometimes skips ahead 30 seconds, sometimes 10 seconds, other times 5 seconds. What gives?? I did not experience any of these anomalies prior to the SW upgrade. Not very happy at the moment :mad:

#61 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:31 PM

most likely it's a result long stance of attempt to avoid using TiVo [best] technique to manage trick play - use look-up tables to I-Frames;
since dish lost the case, they make dreaded solution and using awful method of handling trick modes


but you can't avoid jumping on a rocks across a creek and do not become wet :(

#62 OFFLINE   Ramer84015

Ramer84015

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:41 PM

I have recently noticed that whenever I jump to one of the live PTAT channels, the picture quality suffers from bad pixelation and stutters quite a bit. I can solve this by skipping back 10 seconds, but if I skip forward to "Live" TV, the picture degrades back to stuttering with bad pixelation. I have also noticed that my Skip Forward function has been inconsistent. It sometimes skips ahead 30 seconds, sometimes 10 seconds, other times 5 seconds. What gives?? I did not experience any of these anomalies prior to the SW upgrade. Not very happy at the moment :mad:


Is this happening on the Hopper or the Joey? I too had this problem on the Joey after the update. I finally found the solution. I "was" selecting the PTAT channel by pressing the red button, then selecting the channel, causing the pixelation you mentioned. That was what I was doing prior to the last update. I've found, that on the Joey, if I just press the channel number or select it from the guide, it's still live, but no pixelation.

#63 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,238 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 21 January 2013 - 05:32 PM

Is this happening on the Hopper or the Joey? I too had this problem on the Joey after the update. I finally found the solution. I "was" selecting the PTAT channel by pressing the red button, then selecting the channel, causing the pixelation you mentioned. That was what I was doing prior to the last update. I've found, that on the Joey, if I just press the channel number or select it from the guide, it's still live, but no pixelation.

Does doing it that way burn an extra tuner?

#64 OFFLINE   Ramer84015

Ramer84015

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 05:47 PM

Does doing it that way burn an extra tuner?


Happily, no. I've checked with the red button and if a tuner was available before, it's still available. The Hopper can be on the PTAT tuner and the Joey as well. Before the upgrade, I used to use the red button to select the PTAT channel I wanted to watch on the Joey, but I would have the freezing/pixelation after the s/w update unless I either paused the Joey for a bit or watched it off the Hopper DVR. I've discovered that if I do forget and select the PTAT channel from the red button, I just press the channel number (2,4,5, or 13) for my area, the Joey will change to that channel (still on the same tuner) but the pixilation is gone. The DIRT team took my receiver info when I first reported the problem, so I'm hoping it's fixed in the next s/w release, but until then, this seems to work.

#65 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:14 PM

Is this happening on the Hopper or the Joey? I too had this problem on the Joey after the update. I finally found the solution. I "was" selecting the PTAT channel by pressing the red button, then selecting the channel, causing the pixelation you mentioned. That was what I was doing prior to the last update. I've found, that on the Joey, if I just press the channel number or select it from the guide, it's still live, but no pixelation.

Thanks, Ramer84015. I have been selecting the PTAT channels by using the red button. I am already past PTAT tonight, but will try your suggestion tomorrow.

#66 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:39 PM

Wanted to report back that I, too, experience no pixelation or stuttering when I press the channel number or select from the guide. Still get it when I press the red function key and then choose the channel.

#67 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 09:12 AM

I also experience stuttering on my Joeys if I use the red button to select a PTAT channel during PTAT recording hours. If I select the channel normally everything works OK.

2H/1J


#68 OFFLINE   kirko

kirko

    New Member

  • Banned User
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2013

Posted 26 January 2013 - 07:26 PM

The only thing weird that happened to me was 5 minutes after I had the joey hooked up and went on guide, it made a weird buzzing noise for about 2 minutes?...Is that normal?

#69 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:49 PM

No thats not normal

#70 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:58 PM

The only thing weird that happened to me was 5 minutes after I had the joey hooked up and went on guide, it made a weird buzzing noise for about 2 minutes?...Is that normal?


call CSR, complain and replace it, it's broken

#71 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 01 February 2013 - 09:32 AM

Thanks, Ramer84015. I have been selecting the PTAT channels by using the red button. I am already past PTAT tonight, but will try your suggestion tomorrow.


Just an update, I have no pixelation when I type the PTAT channel into my remote. Pixelation does still occur if I use the red function button to select the PTAT channel.

#72 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,353 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:56 PM

Just an update, I have no pixelation when I type the PTAT channel into my remote. Pixelation does still occur if I use the red function button to select the PTAT channel.


That sounds like perhaps the difference between watching the LiL as a live channel vs watching a recording-in-progress.

My best guess is that when you directly tune to a LiL, you get a non-buffered feed... but when you select from the red-button screen, you are probably watching the buffered recording-in-progress feed.

I'm not sure why both wouldn't work equally well... but that would seem to me to be where the glitch is... with watching the recording-in-progress.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#73 OFFLINE   Poco Askew

Poco Askew

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 15 February 2013 - 07:50 AM

I searched for this issue but didn't see it.
Frequently when I skip forward at the beginning of a recorded program, the jump forward ends up as 25% of the recording, rather than 30 seconds. If I stop and start the program over, it will then skip correctly in 30 sec. jumps. This started recently (perhaps a week, or less), although we've only had a Hopper for about a month.
Anyone else see this?
.

Do you ever feel you're not a big fish in a small pond, or even
a small fish in a big pond, but rather a small fish in a big fish?


#74 OFFLINE   Stutz342

Stutz342

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2004

Posted 16 February 2013 - 09:36 AM

...Frequently when I skip forward at the beginning of a recorded program, the jump forward ends up as 25% of the recording, rather than 30 seconds....


I have seen that as well. It's always the first use of skip on playback of a recording after having finished watching some other recording. I don't know what combination of circumstances makes it happen, but I watch a variety of PTAT and non-PTAT, auto-hop and non-autohop recordings, and it happens to me probably 1 in 10 times.

#75 OFFLINE   Poco Askew

Poco Askew

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:57 AM

I have seen that as well. It's always the first use of skip on playback of a recording after having finished watching some other recording. I don't know what combination of circumstances makes it happen, but I watch a variety of PTAT and non-PTAT, auto-hop and non-autohop recordings, and it happens to me probably 1 in 10 times.

I haven't figured out what combo makes it happen either. But it started just recently for me (about a week) and is happening almost constantly now - maybe 75% of the time. You are correct that it is only the first time I jump forward at the beginning. After stopping and restarting, it has never happened. It is also jumping me all the way to 50% through the program in many cases. A real PITA.
.

Do you ever feel you're not a big fish in a small pond, or even
a small fish in a big pond, but rather a small fish in a big fish?





Protected By... spam firewall...And...