Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New customer genie questions


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nydennis

nydennis

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2008

Posted 15 December 2012 - 09:31 PM

Returned to DTV after a few years. Had the genie installed today with 3 additional clients. The installer told me a few things and one of which was false so figured I'd ask here.

He mentioned that if I'm watching live tv on all 3 clients and the sever that I couldn't record more then 1 show. If I was watching 2 clients live tv I could only record 3 shows at a time. Is this true?


He also said I couldn't rewind live tv in the other rooms but I showed hom I could.

Is there normally a 3-5 second delay switching channels on the clients?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   TMan

TMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2007

Posted 15 December 2012 - 09:56 PM

He also said I couldn't rewind live tv in the other rooms but I showed hom I could.


Quite the well-informed ambassador you had there.

That channel change speed is comparable to mine.
October 2012 DirecTV subscriber - HR34(Genie)/C31/C31 - AU9-S-SWM Five LNB - Premier

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,932 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:01 PM

When a c31 is watching live TV or is in the buffer, it's using a tuner from the HR34, so if all three clients are watching live, then the tuners wouldn't be available to record something else on the HR34. Not sure if that's the case if they were watching the same thing.

There are both benefits and downsides to using a c31 or receivers.

#4 OFFLINE   nydennis

nydennis

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2008

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:09 PM

Quite the well-informed ambassador you had there.

That channel change speed is comparable to mine.


Thanks just checking

When a c31 is watching live TV or is in the buffer, it's using a tuner from the HR34, so if all three clients are watching live, then the tuners wouldn't be available to record something else on the HR34. Not sure if that's the case if they were watching the same thing.


Thanks I figured it might be something like that. I haven't had a chance to record anything to see how it works just yet. I wish the clients changed the channel faster but I can live with it.

#5 OFFLINE   Dahammer

Dahammer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:17 PM

He mentioned that if I'm watching live tv on all 3 clients and the sever that I couldn't record more then 1 show.

True. 3 clients live + Genie live = 4 tuners in use, so only 1 left to record.

If I was watching 2 clients live tv I could only record 3 shows at a time. Is this true?

True. Again, the Genie has 5 tuners.

But if you are recording something that you are also watching live, then that only uses 1 tuner.

Is there normally a 3-5 second delay switching channels on the clients?


Yep.




spam firewall