Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hate this HR34.


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,381 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:27 PM

FYI, the external HDD will not work on another receiver so you will lose those recordings too.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:29 PM

Wait, so the external HD is box dependent? Then I must have misunderstood an earlier thread somebody said that getting an external HD was smart so you don't lose recordings if the box fails and you have to get a replacement. THat makes no sense unless the only intent was to increase recording capacity.

Thanks for the explanation!
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#28 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:40 PM

Sorry to hear that you are having bad luck with your HR34, but I'm glad to see that they are resolving the issue. So far, so good for my unit, but when TWC first introduced their HD DVR in my area, I went through so many and after a while, I saw no need to have DVR until the hardware was reliable. After an year, I got their DVR service again and had the same box for at least 4 years.

Maybe you just got a lemon with the HR34.

#29 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:45 PM

Maybe another software update will fix these issues? Who knows. Right now I am just living with this box since the 5-tuner recording is huge for us. Shame though.
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#30 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:53 PM

Having 5 tuners is AWESOME. That is the main reason why I went with Directv, but I don't use Genie recommendation much at all. Do you?

#31 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:54 PM

Is that where "she" tells you "based on what you recorded, you might like 'this' show"???
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#32 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:07 PM

It will record shows that you might like base what is on your DVR already. You can turn it off. I have mine on, but I never watch any shows that Genie recommends.

#33 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

Yeah, I haven't turned it on either. I remember about 8-9 years ago when we had the D* Tivo box that we turned on that feature and were not impressed with the algorithm the box used. My wife recorded "Sex and the City" (the HBO show with Sarah Jessica Parker) and our box recoded about 15-20 softcore p0rn shows through the night. Of course this was before kids so no harm no foul. We got a nice laugh out of it :)
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#34 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:17 PM

If Genie recorded softcore, I would use it <laugh>.

#35 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:18 PM

Wait, so the external HD is box dependent? Then I must have misunderstood an earlier thread somebody said that getting an external HD was smart so you don't lose recordings if the box fails and you have to get a replacement. THat makes no sense unless the only intent was to increase recording capacity.
Thanks for the explanation!


The RID # of the DVR is encoded into the Header of each Recording whether it is an Internal Hard Drive or an External Hard Drive so all Recordings are Married to the DVR that Recorded them by the DVR's RID #.

Several of us here at DBSTALK have asked Directv thru this Forum to change that process and Allow it to be Married to the Customer's Account # but that has fallen on Deaf Ears so far. :nono2:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#36 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:25 PM

If you have an external drive, which drive will it will record on first? I have a WD 500gb My DVR that I used with TWC. Could I use it on the HR34 also?

#37 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:28 PM

If you have an external drive, which drive will it will record on first? I have a WD 500gb My DVR that I used with TWC. Could I use it on the HR34 also?


If the DVR Detects an External Hard Drive thru the eSATA Port then it will Boot up using the External Drive and completely Ignore the Fact that there is an Internal Drive even though there could be Recordings on it before the External Drive was added to the system.

If you want to look at Recordings on the Internal Drive simply disconnect the eSATA Cable and Reboot using the Internal Drive.

You can use that Drive as an External Drive but the DVR will Reformat it so all the existing Recordings on it will be Erased.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#38 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,381 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:29 PM

If you have an external drive, which drive will it will record on first? I have a WD 500gb My DVR that I used with TWC. Could I use it on the HR34 also?


It will only record on the external, it will format the drive when you connect it to the HR34 so no you can't share with another providers DVR.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#39 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:32 PM

So, when I add the external drive and reboot, I am assuming that I won't be loosing the shows that were already recorded on the internal?

#40 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:35 PM

So, when I add the external drive and reboot, I am assuming that I won't be loosing the shows that were already recorded on the internal?


Exactly, that is what I stated. You can go back and forth between the Internal and External Drives by doing what I stated.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#41 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:38 PM

Wouldn't it be more reliable to record on an external drive instead the internal, just in case if the external crashes, you won't have to get another DVR and just get another drive?

#42 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:40 PM

Wouldn't it be more reliable to record on an external drive instead the internal, just in case if the external crashes, you won't have to get another DVR and just get another drive?


No, because if your Internal Drive crashes then you could just plug in an External Drive and continue on. :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#43 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:41 PM

You have a point there also <hee,hee>.

#44 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:45 PM

We are now seeing External Power Supply Units on the HR44 which was one of the 2 Big Problems a DVR could experience and the other being the death of the Hard Drive so if they could just make that Plug n Play as in a Modular Swappable Drive then if the Drive died you could just plug in another Drive and keep on going (yes, you would lose your Recordings but you wouldn't have to send back your DVR for a Replacement). :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#45 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,693 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:29 PM

Wait, so the external HD is box dependent? Then I must have misunderstood an earlier thread somebody said that getting an external HD was smart so you don't lose recordings if the box fails and you have to get a replacement. THat makes no sense unless the only intent was to increase recording capacity.

Thanks for the explanation!

Sadly, that is the case, but more capacity is still a primary reason even if you could swap them.

My solution is clunky, which is to have 4 DVRs instead or 2, and to double-record everything.

But then my solution also works pretty well. :)
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#46 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,693 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

...If you want to look at Recordings on the Internal Drive simply disconnect the eSATA Cable and Reboot using the Internal Drive...

I would recommend against disconnecting the eSATA cable, which has connectors that are rated for only a few connections over their lifetime (IOW, no one expected us to be doing that).

It is easy to move from internal to x drive; just do a menu restart and have the drive up and running and connected. It will then mount the x drive.

To go the other way, do a menu restart and simply drop the power on the x drive at the point the reboot starts. It will then mount the internal drive. No fussing with cables at all needed.

Now if there were just some way to get it to mount both drives at once.:nono:
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#47 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:37 PM

Sadly, that is the case, but more capacity is still a primary reason even if you could swap them.

My solution is clunky, which is to have 4 DVRs instead or 2, and to double-record everything.

But then my solution also works pretty well. :)


I have 3 DVRs whose Sole Purpose in Life is to Backup my other 4 DVRs so if and when I lose a Hard Drive or a Power Supply I will still have my Recordings on another DVR!!! :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#48 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:38 PM

I would recommend against disconnecting the eSATA cable, which has connectors that are rated for only a few connections over their lifetime (IOW, no one expected us to be doing that).

It is easy to move from internal to x drive; just do a menu restart and have the drive up and running and connected. It will then mount the x drive.

To go the other way, do a menu restart and simply drop the power on the x drive at the point the reboot starts. It will then mount the internal drive. No fussing with cables at all needed.

Now if there were just some way to get it to mount both drives at once.:nono:


Excellent Post.

I was just pointing out that you could go back and forth but I definitely don't do that nor would I urge anyone to do it but it is possible. :)
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#49 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:10 PM

I have 3 DVRs whose Sole Purpose in Life is to Backup my other 4 DVRs so if and when I lose a Hard Drive or a Power Supply I will still have my Recordings on another DVR!!! :D


You guys watch a lot of tv :).

How often does your drives crashes to have backups?

#50 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,693 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 26 January 2013 - 06:20 PM

You guys watch a lot of tv :).

How often does your drives crashes to have backups?

Not necessarily; recent measurements say folks watch over 54 hours per week on average, up to 75 in African-American households. I find that shocking; I may have the tube on in the background a lot (mostly also on mute), but I only seriously watch about 15-20 hours a week.

Oddly, I watch less now that I have HD and a giant screen. I think that TV today is so much more immersive that a little goes a long way. I could watch a 32" SD set from way across the room all day long back in the day, but today a couple shows in glorious HD up close, and I'm out, and I credit the increased immersiveness of the experience as to why. Rather than the increased quality and screen size making me want more, ironically it makes me want (need) less. I also think that pre-VCR and pre-DVR some of us might have been conditioned to watch 3 hours of prime time all at once, because that was the only opportunity to see those shows. PT was 3.5 hours back in the 70's.

No, Toobs, the point of multiple DVRs and double-recording is not to watch a lot of TV; it is to ensure that you get to watch what you want to. I can lose an entire season of Fringe due to a bad HDD, but oh, look...there's a backup copy of every ep sitting right next to it on another DVR.

Edited by TomCat, 26 January 2013 - 06:30 PM.

It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...