Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need help with LNB


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Cowboy15

Cowboy15

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2012

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:19 PM

If you want to skip story go to bottom and read up.

Every year my brothers and father head out to west Texas on the 26th of Dec to hunt. We stay till the morning hunt of the 31st and come back. Every year it’s a crapshoot on what bowl game we may or may not get to see when we are at the “bunk” house. (We love our football and this year we decided to bring a satellite system. We’ll set it up and leave it for future hunts. Then we’ll just bring the receiver with us. Last week I jumped on line and found a big slimline dish and stand and bought it. I've set up dishes before and figured I could do it again. The problem is I didn't know the dish didn't come with a lnb. Nor did I know there were so many types and kinds. Can some one tell me if and what kind of lnb I need? I'd like it to be HD type and maybe not have to supply power. Does the LNB decide what “system” you are on? I will have only 1 tv/receiver. I have a HR24-200 HD DVD that we will take back and forth with us. The dish is a SLSPF?? If that’s right. Sorry to be such a rook. I tried reading past threads, It just made me more confused. SWM8 and 16s multi switches, power inserter head spinning. Room turning…..:confused: it seemed like a good idea at the time.


Any help would be great. Any poking fun is fine to I guess….

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,043 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 17 December 2012 - 06:14 PM

Welcome to dbstalk!

You want a non swm type lnb. It doesn't use the power inserter. It will have four outputs on it. You only need to connect two of them to the dvr, or just one if you will only be using it as a receiver and don't care about the second tuner.

#3 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,611 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 17 December 2012 - 07:18 PM

Press the dash button on your receiver that is hooked up now.
If it says SWM detected, I would get a SL3 SWM LNB and a power inserter.
When you do this the receiver will automatically pick the dish type and multi switch type so that all you have to do is aim the dish. This also allows you to have 2 tuners with just the one cable.
When you get back home, all you have to do is reinstall it and plug in the power.

If you do not have SWM at home then get the non SWM LNB as previously posted.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 ONLINE   b52pooh

b52pooh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
  • LocationSouthern Oregon
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:46 PM

In addition, if you desire to get HD channels, with the non-SWM lnb, you will also need two b-band converters. Connect them to the satellite in jacks on the receiver. By the way, here is the bowl schedule. Most are on one of the ESPN channels. Only a few will be on local ABC, CBS, or Fox channels.

College Football Bowl Schedule Time (ET) Channel
Nevada vs. Arizona (12/15) 1:00PM 206
Toledo vs. Utah State (12/15) 4:30PM 206
Brigham Young vs. San Diego State (12/20) 8:00PM 206
UCF vs. Ball State (12/21) 7:30PM 206
East Carolina vs. Louisiana-Lafayette (12/22) 12:00PM 206
Washington vs. Boise State (12/22) 3:30PM 206
Fresno State vs. Southern Methodist (12/24) 8:00PM 206
Western Kentucky vs. Central Michigan (12/26) 7:30PM 206
San Jose State vs. Bowling Green (12/27) 3:00PM 206
Cincinnati vs. Duke (12/27) 6:30PM 206
Baylor vs. (12/27) 9:45PM 206
Ohio vs. Louisiana-Monroe (12/28) 2:00PM 206
Rutgers vs. Virginia Tech (12/28) 5:30PM 206
Minnesota vs. Texas Tech (12/28) 9:00PM 206
Rice vs. Air Force (12/29) 11:45AM 206
West Virginia vs. Syracuse (12/29) 3:15PM 206
Navy vs. Arizona State (12/29) 4:00PM 209
Texas vs. Oregon State (12/29) 6:45PM 206
TCU vs. Michigan State (12/29) 10:15PM 206
North Carolina State vs. Vanderbilt (12/31) 12:00PM 206
USC vs. Georgia Tech (12/31) 2:00PM CBS
Iowa State vs. Tulsa (12/31) 3:30PM 206
LSU vs. Clemson (12/31) 7:30PM 206
Mississippi State vs. Northwestern (1/1) 12:00PM 209
Purdue vs. Oklahoma State (1/1) 12:00PM 208
Georgia vs. Nebraska (1/1) 1:00PM ABC
South Carolina vs. Michigan (1/1) 1:00PM 206
Wisconsin vs. Stanford (1/1) 5:00PM 206
Northern Illinois vs. Florida State (1/1) 8:30PM 206
Louisville vs. Florida (1/2) 8:30PM 206
Oregon vs. Kansas State (1/3) 8:30PM 206
Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma (1/4) 8:00PM FOX
Pittsburgh vs. Ole Miss (1/5) 1:00PM 206
Kent State vs. Arkansas State (1/6) 9:00PM 206
Notre Dame vs. Alabama (1/7) 8:30PM 206

#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,168 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 December 2012 - 06:21 PM

Press the dash button on your receiver that is hooked up now.
If it says SWM detected, I would get a SL3 SWM LNB and a power inserter.
When you do this the receiver will automatically pick the dish type and multi switch type so that all you have to do is aim the dish. This also allows you to have 2 tuners with just the one cable.
When you get back home, all you have to do is reinstall it and plug in the power.

If you do not have SWM at home then get the non SWM LNB as previously posted.


+1

Yes, I'd recommend this procedure since its been reported more than once now by others that the DIRECTV receivers and DVRs many times have difficulty switching back and forth from SWiM to legacy (non-SWiM) mode.

Particularly when in SWiM mode they tend to want to stay there and it can take some effort in constant rebooting to get them into legacy mode.

#6 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,439 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 19 December 2012 - 03:54 PM

+1

Yes, I'd recommend this procedure since its been reported more than once now by others that the DIRECTV receivers and DVRs many times have difficulty switching back and forth from SWiM to legacy (non-SWiM) mode.

Particularly when in SWiM mode they tend to want to stay there and it can take some effort in constant rebooting to get them into legacy mode.


I have a lot of tailgate experience and agree that trying to keep the same type (SWM or Legacy/Non SWM) home/away system is best.
Usually no problem going from legacy to SWM but almost always an issue now SWM back to legacy.

Best way to make the swap SWM back to Legacy is "repeat guided setup" and change Dish Type to 18" round and Multiswitch to Multiswitch (the only other choice besides SWM).
Reboot, takes 10 minutes or more. When complete, repeat guided setup again and now Change Dish Type to appropriate SL-3 or Sl-5 and Multiswitch to Multiswitch . Will reboot again for 10+ minutes but should be good to go after that.
BBC needed for legacy (except HR-23 ? maybe) and not for SWM. A pain to remember all the combinations so BACK to original recommendation and KEEP home and away systems the same. One reboot and no guided setup needed then!!

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...