Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Genie, version 0x05D4 - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
133 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Drinyth

Drinyth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

Is this the release everyone's been waiting on to fix some of the H34/C31 gray screen issues?

I got it at 4:51 this morning. Receiver was on, but non responsive. Had to reboot twice.


It's probably to early to tell, but, so far I've not had a gray screen. And I've turned my C31 off and on a bunch of times.


Please report back if you do. I just saw that this got released today and haven't had time yet to play around with it and try things out.

This will probably be my best Christmas present if it really does fix the problem that we've been having!


No joy. I've already read of several reports of people having the C31 black/grey screen issue after the 0x5D4 update. I had it myself on my units tonight. :(

#27 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:46 AM

True to form, it is a real downgrade. Please bring back the SD GUI


So far I've not seen any improvement with 0x05d4.

1. For a lot of channel changes, it still shows that TO RECORD THIS EPISODE graphic. You must lose it before your remote responds to the next command. I say this graphic should not appear if you have RECORDING TIPS turned off, which I do.

2. The blue highlight still jumps off to the left of the screen when I scroll down through the guide. Very annoying.

3. Worst of all for me and my particular HR34, the FFWD > PLAY > AUTO-REWIND function still does not work properly. At first if did. In fact, it rewound way too far. Then it started to AUTO-BACKSPACE about the right amount of time. Now, most of the time anyway for me and my HR34, it hardly AUTO-REWINDS at all. Certainly not nearly enough to compensate for my cat-like reflexes.

4. Sometimes when I go into FFWD, especially speed setting 4, the picture just freezes.

5. So far, one (only one (ha ha)) lock-up. Had to hit the red button.

Finally, this is new to all of the HR34 releases, i.e. never happened before for me, the first time I recorded something with 0x05d4, when I hit the STOP button, no dialog box appeared. You know the box that says KEEP RECORDING, CHANGE RECORDING SETTINGS, and STOP. I had to hit (its all I know how to do) the RECORD button about twenty five times before the dialog box appeared.

#28 OFFLINE   Twister18

Twister18

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2004

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:58 AM

Is this the release everyone's been waiting on to fix some of the H34/C31 gray screen issues?

I got it at 4:51 this morning. Receiver was on, but non responsive. Had to reboot twice.

I had to reboot mine once. Said the resolution was not supported?

#29 OFFLINE   lansbury

lansbury

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:25 AM

I have mention in threads on other software versions a problem getting the "upgrade". My HR34 hangs at the first attempt to download the software at the searching for software screen with 0% downloaded. Takes a red button reset to start the box again. The second attempt at the upgrade has always gone successfully.

With this version the box is hanging every time at the searching for software screen. 3 times so far. I am having to reboot the box each time I turn it on.

#30 OFFLINE   apinkel

apinkel

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: May 28, 2004

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:40 PM

I've had AV sync issues twice now while playing back pre-recorded programs. I stop and restart playback and it clears up.

#31 OFFLINE   Strayshot

Strayshot

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:54 PM

*Still* can't see folders on the DVR via DirecTV2PC.

I keep seeing comments over on the DirecTV forums that they supposedly know about the issue and a fix is in place..... I guess that'll happen anout the same time as a nomad app for the android system.

#32 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 309 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:32 AM

Apparently I'm the only one in TV Land that cares but the bug that causes the small PIP to freeze if you accidentally tune the main window to the same channel.

After next week they will have a whole year to fix this because when the NFL goes away there isn't anything else that I will use PIP for.

J C

HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#33 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,878 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 December 2012 - 12:06 PM

Is this true if you are flipping between recorded versions of the games?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#34 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 309 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 25 December 2012 - 07:44 AM

Is this true if you are flipping between recorded versions of the games?


Don't know I have only experienced it during live broadcast.

J C

Edited by jcwest, 25 December 2012 - 07:44 AM.
spelling

HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#35 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 25 December 2012 - 07:56 AM

This version has been awful for my HR34, it is practically nonresponsive when I am trying to browse through my List. It is so bad I am thinking about swapping it out for one of my HR24's that I rarely use. Then I will try the HR34 again when a new version comes out. I have never had this much trouble with a version, and I have had the HR34 since last December when it came out.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#36 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,878 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 December 2012 - 11:07 AM

Don't know I have only experienced it during live broadcast.

J C


I guess I was subliminally suggesting you try same. Both as a test and as a temporary workaround.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#37 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 26 December 2012 - 06:59 AM

This version has been awful for my HR34, it is practically nonresponsive when I am trying to browse through my List. It is so bad I am thinking about swapping it out for one of my HR24's that I rarely use. Then I will try the HR34 again when a new version comes out. I have never had this much trouble with a version, and I have had the HR34 since last December when it came out.


Huzza! Huzza!

#38 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,543 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 26 December 2012 - 02:21 PM

This version has been awful for my HR34, it is practically nonresponsive when I am trying to browse through my List. It is so bad I am thinking about swapping it out for one of my HR24's that I rarely use. Then I will try the HR34 again when a new version comes out. I have never had this much trouble with a version, and I have had the HR34 since last December when it came out.

Make sure two features - Native and Scrolling are turned off. Especially Scrolling.

And for the record, the software for the HR34 hast been crappy since day one. And all they do, is it just keep adding on to bad code.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#39 OFFLINE   philiphotog

philiphotog

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2012

Posted 26 December 2012 - 03:07 PM

Yup. Same issues. Locked up black screen with just the clock in top right corner. Took three days to lock after a red button reset.
On the plus side, response times seem quicker when accessing the guide and list. It took three to four days for a reset instead of every other day. Time will tell if this is a continuous bug.
However, a new issue at least on my DVR since this update is rewinding and forwarding a live program when recording. No response at all, just the bong. The only way to clear is turn off on the c-31.

#40 OFFLINE   Madhatter01

Madhatter01

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 26 December 2012 - 06:29 PM

When I bring up the guide, it's very laggy scrolling. The hr34 is over all laggy coming from the hr24.

#41 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 309 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:10 AM

One thing I noticed running 05d4 is that coming out of standby the current channel has buffer in tact. Don't remember this happening in previous versions.

My HR34 is performing well under this release, I am not experiencing delays as others have mentioned.

J C

HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#42 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:42 AM

When I bring up the guide, it's very laggy scrolling. The hr34 is over all laggy coming from the hr24.

If you had experienced an HR21 you wouldn't be complaining at all. This 34 that I've only had for about 3 weeks has been such an improvement for me that its quirks are easy to tolerate. Also, I haven't checked yet, if as the last poster mentioned, the buffer is there when coming out of standby that would be a big improvement with this software.

#43 OFFLINE   Strog

Strog

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2011

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:48 AM

While I don't have any major issues that most have, the one improvement I noticed is the network\internet connection between my router and the HR34 doesn't drop anymore when HR34 goes into standby.

#44 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 248 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:29 PM

Well the newest update, 0x5d4 rolled in a few days ago.... Locking up issue from a pause still not working. Had it. Called DTV, tech ran me thru the normal stuff, which I stated i have done at least 75+ times since owning this unit, yet i did it anyway to entertain the situation. Paused back to the future, pressed play it did not start up, Buffer recording it, yet rewind and play would yield no play results. Tried another random channel same results. Been a month plus now of this issue and increasing. Always takes a channel change then back to resume live.

Told tech new update I got was supposed to fix this, yet it did not. At the end he said the engineers are aware of this issue and to expect another update by weeks end and perhaps more next week. He claims they are not replacing Genies for lockups etc, as many are calling in with the same situations and more and sending a replacement would be a course of futility.

So there it is, a 1 year unit plus (Ive had it for 2 months) and we are beta testers. I asked about the last update and he kinda said it was to test to see if the fix would stop the issues, a hot fix if you will.... It did not and to expect more updates. I'm just about ready to flip out on DTV for this. I'm not a beta tester and reply was we are aware of the issue.... Conversation ended. I'm tired of this ****. I love the extra tuners, but how much more can a person take... Damn..

Edited by Datagg, 27 December 2012 - 12:35 PM.


#45 OFFLINE   jonesron

jonesron

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:25 PM

My HR34 locked up twice today - totally unresponsive to the remote. I had to do a hard reset and the 1st time I did the reset the DVR starting booting up then the message on the screen indicated it needed to scan the hard disc. After several hours it reported it had found more than 16,000 errors and had only fixed 65. It never moved past this screen reporting the results. I then pulled the power plug and it booted up, but very slowing (took about 10 min. longer than normal). When it did come up everything seemed to be work, but all 80 or so season passes were lost. A couple of hours later it locked up again and rebooted normally after a hard reset. I suspect the new firmware contributed to this odd behavior.
Ron Jones

Blog: Projector Reviews

#46 OFFLINE   philiphotog

philiphotog

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2012

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:34 PM

Sounds like a bad hard drive. How long have you had it?

#47 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 248 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:45 PM

Sounds like a bad hard drive. How long have you had it?


DTV are denying HD issues and its a software issue. Everything points to a bad HD yet DTV wont agree and said there engineers are aware of it. So the saga continues..

#48 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,285 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

I don't think software would report 16,000 errors that weren't there. I might be temped to call and say it won't turn on...

#49 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,878 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 December 2012 - 09:33 PM

I don't think software would report 16,000 errors that weren't there. I might be temped to call and say it won't turn on...


And yet run the Hard Drive repair bits overnight perhaps?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#50 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 248 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:21 PM

I for one did a surface scan 2 or 3 times..No issues found, yet freezing screen and pausing not starting back up when play pressed issues.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...