Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Genie, version 0x05D4 - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
133 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   jonesron

jonesron

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2007

Posted 28 December 2012 - 04:57 PM

Sounds like a bad hard drive. How long have you had it?


I agree, that's what it sounded like to me. Directv CSR said it was likely an issue with the new firmware. I haven't had any other serious issues (a few minor issues of course) with the unit since it was installed last May. By the way all recorded programs, series passes, etc. were wiped out after yesterday's unexpected disc scan. I've not had any more lockups or other issues today. I hope this is a firmware issue and will be corrected by the next release.
Ron Jones

Blog: Projector Reviews

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,113 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 December 2012 - 05:20 PM

Ron-

I'd be inclined to run all tests you can now before you build up series links, recordings, etc.

Best of luck.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#53 OFFLINE   jonesron

jonesron

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2007

Posted 28 December 2012 - 08:11 PM

Ron-

I'd be inclined to run all tests you can now before you build up series links, recordings, etc.

Best of luck.


Anyone know how to force a disc scan on the HR34. I haven't seen anything in the user menus to do the scan. This unit is in a seasonal home where I live in the summer then just for a week, or so, around Christmas. So I'll only be here for a couple of more days. I guess I will have to resolve the issue when I return about 5 months from now.
Ron Jones

Blog: Projector Reviews

#54 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:10 AM

I've posted about this before:

1. With 0x05d4, just as with previous releases, if I manually tune to a station that is not on my favorites list and then tune to another station that is, if I then hit the PREV button to go back to the "non-favorites" channel, the HR34 does not go there. Instead it goes to the top listed channel on the LAST FOUR list which, for some reason, is not the non-favorite channel I was just tuned to. Somehow the LAST FOUR list does not store and list channels that are not on my (I say my because someone will say they don't have this problem) favorites list. My HR24 and 23 don't have this bug.

2. With 0x05d4, just as with previous releases, if I try to record a short partial, say 20 seconds or less, oftentimes when I try to play that partial back I only get a black screen. I did a side-by-side test this morning with my HR34 and HR24 recording the exact same 20 second partial. The HR24 played it back fine, the HR34 didn't. Here's what I found, however. If I don't delete the HR34 partial that, at first, won't play back and just let it sit on the hard drive and "incubate" for a while, sooner or later it will play back, that is if it's not too short. Forget it for partials that are six seconds or less even though the HR34 always adds, for some infernal reason, a lot more time to the partial well after you press the STOP button. I wish STOP meant STOP -- right then and there.

#55 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:16 AM

From my readings on this site I thought if I reset my HR34 by pressing the red button only once, the GUIDE listings for the future wouldn't disappear. Yesterday they did. Sometimes when I press the red button, the future GUIDE listings don't disappear. Is there a way to reboot my HR34 without losing the GUIDE? Thanks!

#56 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:33 AM

If I watch a recorded video, when when it gets to the end, I get: YES, DELETE on the top and NO, DON'T DELETE on the bottom. The NO, DON'T DELETE is the one highlighted. That is correct. However if I highlight a particular video I have saved that's on a LIST and press DELETE, the same dialog will appear but YES, DELETE is highlighted. In spite of the fact that you originally selected DELETE, I say that NO, DON'T DELETE should be the choice highlighted so you have to take an extra step to delete a particular video instead of making a bone-headed mistake because, for some reason, your mind is in Disneyland.

#57 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,149 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:02 AM

From my readings on this site I thought if I reset my HR34 by pressing the red button only once, the GUIDE listings for the future wouldn't disappear. Yesterday they did. Sometimes when I press the red button, the future GUIDE listings don't disappear. Is there a way to reboot my HR34 without losing the GUIDE? Thanks!


You should only be using the red button to reboot when the unit is completely locked up. Any other time you want to reboot you should use a Menu reboot. You'll find that in Menu > info and settings > reset > reboot receiver.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#58 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,113 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:50 AM

If I watch a recorded video, when when it gets to the end, I get: YES, DELETE on the top and NO, DON'T DELETE on the bottom. The NO, DON'T DELETE is the one highlighted. That is correct. However if I highlight a particular video I have saved that's on a LIST and press DELETE, the same dialog will appear but YES, DELETE is highlighted. In spite of the fact that you originally selected DELETE, I say that NO, DON'T DELETE should be the choice highlighted so you have to take an extra step to delete a particular video instead of making a bone-headed mistake because, for some reason, your mind is in Disneyland.


I believe the way it is now is the correct way; at least it's what I prefer. There is an extra step, the "Yes, Delete". The other way is two extra steps.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#59 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,113 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:53 AM

From my readings on this site I thought if I reset my HR34 by pressing the red button only once, the GUIDE listings for the future wouldn't disappear. Yesterday they did. Sometimes when I press the red button, the future GUIDE listings don't disappear. Is there a way to reboot my HR34 without losing the GUIDE? Thanks!


As Runner pointed out, the Menu reset is "a good thing." To flush the guide on purpose, you'd do two Menu resets within 30 minutes. I believe sometimes the Guides are flushed by DIRECTV® on purpose.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#60 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:03 AM

I believe the way it is now is the correct way; at least it's what I prefer. There is an extra step, the "Yes, Delete". The other way is two extra steps.


Laxguy I don't get your point. With my scheme the only extra step would be to use an arrow key to move the highlight from DON'T DELETE to DELETE. One step.

#61 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,113 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:52 AM

Laxguy I don't get your point. With my scheme the only extra step would be to use an arrow key to move the highlight from DON'T DELETE to DELETE. One step.


Then you hit Select; two steps. The other way you hit Select only, no?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#62 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:33 AM

Then you hit Select; two steps. The other way you hit Select only, no?


Yes. but I said EXTRA step. Moving the highlight from DON'T DELETE to DELETE is only one step, the extra step.

Edited by jibberyerkibber, 30 December 2012 - 07:47 AM.
Add


#63 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:04 AM

All that delete complexity can be solved easily with a deleted items folder.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#64 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,113 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:44 AM

Yes. but I said EXTRA step. Moving the highlight from DON'T DELETE to DELETE is only one step, the extra step.


Yes, it all depends on one's view/starting point. I see the first confirm as an extra step; the having to arrow to another choice is a second extra step.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#65 OFFLINE   augisdad

augisdad

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
  • LocationKC area
Joined: Sep 29, 2011

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:33 AM

Was watching TV live yesterday morning and paused it @ 9:04. Came back to "live" TV early evening - still had the Frozen screen paused @ 9:04, but buffer was in the 5pm range. Was unable to play any of the buffer until I got it up to the time when I switched to live TV (around 6:15). Tried rewinding to beginning of buffer, but nothing played - screen would show whatever screenshot was last being displayed when rewinding.
HR20-100 since 2008 w/27" Sony SDTV
HR34 since 4/3/2012 w/47" Mitsubishi HDTV
HMC since 4/3/2012

#66 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 595 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:29 PM

Congratulations DTV... another POS software release! :nono2:

One step forward (HR34/C31 whole home and Youtube working) and 2 steps backward (freezes? crashes? really?!!!).

Latest freeze here crashed the HR34. Assuming these POS report home... may DTV receive so many that they are overloaded.

While I welcome features finally working I don't think it's a move in the right direction when the most basic things FAIL.

:mad::mad::mad:

#67 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:27 PM

I hate to post this and jinx myself, but this seems like the most stable release in quite some time. My PIP and swap are working great, with no lockups so far.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#68 OFFLINE   narcolept

narcolept

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 355 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:08 PM

So far I've not seen any improvement with 0x05d4.

3. Worst of all for me and my particular HR34, the FFWD > PLAY > AUTO-REWIND function still does not work properly. At first if did. In fact, it rewound way too far. Then it started to AUTO-BACKSPACE about the right amount of time. Now, most of the time anyway for me and my HR34, it hardly AUTO-REWINDS at all. Certainly not nearly enough to compensate for my cat-like reflexes.

4. Sometimes when I go into FFWD, especially speed setting 4, the picture just freezes.


same

#69 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:34 AM

All that delete complexity can be solved easily with a deleted items folder.


The biggest what I call "crime" DTV commits against its customers: not having a method to recover deleted files. How about for this for starters: you delete a file, then the next message on the screen says "DO YOU WANT TO RECOVER THE DELETED FILE. YES/NO/"

#70 OFFLINE   TMan

TMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2007

Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:09 AM

The biggest what I call "crime" DTV commits against its customers: not having a method to recover deleted files. How about for this for starters: you delete a file, then the next message on the screen says "DO YOU WANT TO RECOVER THE DELETED FILE. YES/NO/"

If not a double prompt, a "Deleted Items" folder would be nice.

My old TiVo has such a folder, where recently-deleted programs would stay for several hours. Very handy on several occasions.

Edited by TMan, 31 December 2012 - 09:53 AM.

October 2012 DirecTV subscriber - HR34(Genie)/C31/C31 - AU9-S-SWM Five LNB - Premier

#71 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:52 AM

All that delete complexity can be solved easily with a deleted items folder.


After all my years with Dish, they finally added a deleted recordings folder to the Hopper, keeps them for 2 days.

#72 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:46 AM

The biggest crime to me is that after a year plus they still cant get the genie to work as intended. Close second is the loss of timers. My god let the remote hold the info or even better let us save them for easy re-download from your website. Last but not least hire a new set of firmware designers, a group that deals with customer support that actually listens to requests and get more people that speak English naturally and not some oxy moron who only replies with the emotion only a teleprompter can deliver.

Happy New Year

#73 OFFLINE   KK in CT

KK in CT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2010

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:19 AM

The biggest crime to me is that after a year plus they still cant get the genie to work as intended. Close second is the loss of timers. My god let the remote hold the info or even better let us save them for easy re-download from your website. Last but not least hire a new set of firmware designers, a group that deals with customer support that actually listens to requests and get more people that speak English naturally and not some oxy moron who only replies with the emotion only a teleprompter can deliver.

Happy New Year


I agree that is very disappointing. Perhaps they don't have the right people (skill set wise) working on it. There must be some programmer out there that could resolve some of the issues people continue to put up with.

#74 OFFLINE   parshooter75

parshooter75

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2012

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:56 PM

I am new as a DTV subsciber, but have been in the A/V industry for about 7 years as an AMX/Crestron programmer. DTV is my favorite for integration due to the availability of the SHEF protocol, however I am not happy now that I have the HR34 and 3 clients installed in my home as of 10 days ago. I frequently have to reboot the clients due to the "grey" screen issue, inability to reliably stream a movie, and not able at this time to control the C31 via SHEF commands. Much of this can be overlooked but the grey screen issue is pretty serious from an integration point of view. I see that this is a known issue, is there a fix in the works? Will the C31's ever be able to process SHEF commands?

#75 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 595 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:01 PM

I agree that is very disappointing. Perhaps they don't have the right people (skill set wise) working on it. There must be some programmer out there that could resolve some of the issues people continue to put up with.


That would require management to have half a brain.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...