Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 vs HR34 better PQ?


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   KoRn

KoRn

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2008

Posted 21 December 2012 - 10:43 PM

Maybe I am having a placebo effect? But, to me. This new HR34 looks to have better pq then my HR24. Is this possible?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,552 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 21 December 2012 - 10:49 PM

Just Feel Good Feeling -Enjoy :lol:
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#3 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 848 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 21 December 2012 - 10:50 PM

Probably Placebo unless your HR24 is a HR24-500

#4 OFFLINE   KoRn

KoRn

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2008

Posted 21 December 2012 - 10:55 PM

My HR24 is a -500. Something wrong with that version pq wise?

#5 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 21 December 2012 - 11:31 PM

My HR24 is a -500. Something wrong with that version pq wise?


It uses RGB colorspace instead of YCrCb colorspace the rest of the DVRs use. Depending on your TV, it could look better, worse, or no difference at all.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#6 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,818 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 22 December 2012 - 07:35 AM

Every new generation of HD DVRs has the potential to include newer electronic components inside, including graphics chips.

It's fair to say that as the HR24's and HR34's were released...they reflected some of the more current technology and have the potential to present HD as well as older models.

That said, it still comes down to what actual HDTV you happen to connect up to the HD DVR as well.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#7 OFFLINE   jsclarke

jsclarke

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:00 AM

So I'm not the only one that's thought this! Exchanging my HR24-500 with an HR34- going to a Samsung UN60D6500- the colors seem to "pop"- really does seem to look better...

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:23 AM

So I'm not the only one that's thought this! Exchanging my HR24-500 with an HR34- going to a Samsung UN60D6500- the colors seem to "pop"- really does seem to look better...


To accept subjective opinion as real fact, we will need a lot of expensive professional equipment to proof it.

#9 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 848 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:28 AM

My HR24 is a -500. Something wrong with that version pq wise?


The HR24-500 uses RGB colorspace while YPbPr is the standard and what virtually every TV expects to see.

RGB 4:4:4 is 8 bit and YPbPr 4:2:2 is normally 10 bit, but can be 12 bit.

As thus, the YPbPr would have more detail (2 more bit of data 10 v 8).

So in that case, the HR34-700 at 10 bit YPbPr should look better than 8 bit RGB in the HR24-500.

#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,644 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:40 AM

So I'm not the only one that's thought this! Exchanging my HR24-500 with an HR34- going to a Samsung UN60D6500- the colors seem to "pop"- really does seem to look better...


Are you looking side by side with same source, lighting, and identical monitors? I recall thinking a software update over a year ago did the same.....

In any event, you can make almost whatever pop by adjusting the Sammy's color controls.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,888 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:24 AM

It uses RGB colorspace instead of YCrCb colorspace the rest of the DVRs use. Depending on your TV, it could look better, worse, or no difference at all.


I see absolutely no difference between the 500s and 100s as far as PQ goes, but I've only got plasma TVs.

Rich

#12 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,888 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:25 AM

To accept subjective opinion as real fact, we will need a lot of expensive professional equipment to proof it.


Eyeballs not enough? Where the devil have you been?

Rich

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:34 AM

I see absolutely no difference between the 500s and 100s as far as PQ goes, but I've only got plasma TVs.

Rich

It comes down to how the TV handles the different signals.
I had to read about the -500 being RGB to know there was a difference.
My Sony doesn't need any change in adjustments between RGB & YPbPr.
I haven't tried this with my Vizio, but would guess I'd need to make changes.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,983 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:36 AM

A cool test would be to have both the 34 and 24 hooked up to the same TV on the same channel. One could be in HDMI 1 and other HDMI 2.

Then have another person who doesn't know which HR is in 1 or 2 say if they see any difference when switching inputs. Not exactly side by side but could rule out placebo effect.

And then just to be sure, try it again and swap inputs 1 and 2 to rule out cables and inputs difference.

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:38 AM

A cool test would be to have both the 34 and 24 hooked up to the same TV on the same channel. One could be in HDMI 1 and other HDMI 2.

That's the way I have mine, though I haven't bothered to ask someone else to check.
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 December 2012 - 11:14 AM

Eyeballs not enough? Where the devil have you been?

Rich


If it's artificial kind with professional camera inside ;)

#17 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,888 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 11:29 AM

It comes down to how the TV handles the different signals.
I had to read about the -500 being RGB to know there was a difference.
My Sony doesn't need any change in adjustments between RGB & YPbPr.
I haven't tried this with my Vizio, but would guess I'd need to make changes.


Guess my plasmas just plain put out a good picture. I just checked side by side a 24-100 and a 24-500 on a 1080p set and I don't see any difference at all.

I switched back and forth several times and saw no difference at all.

Rich

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:01 PM

Guess my plasmas just plain put out a good picture. I just checked side by side a 24-100 and a 24-500 on a 1080p set and I don't see any difference at all.

I switched back and forth several times and saw no difference at all.

Rich

That's the same as with my Sony. Sure it may put out a good picture, but part of it is that the TV adjusts to the type of input signal it receives.
TVs that you can connect a computer to recognize the difference in type of input.
A.K.A VOS

#19 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,888 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:15 PM

That's the same as with my Sony. Sure it may put out a good picture, but part of it is that the TV adjusts to the type of input signal it receives.
TVs that you can connect a computer to recognize the difference in type of input.


Ah! So that's why my TV kinda jumps from a crappy picture to a good one when I plug my laptop into it?

Rich

#20 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:47 PM

To accept subjective opinion as real fact, we will need a lot of expensive professional equipment to proof it.


Agreed! :D
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations




Protected By... spam firewall...And...