Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

antenna


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   westview

westview

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:03 AM

My friend has Dish. He says he bought a box that connects to his tv that works as an antenna. He says he gets all the local channels and sub channels. Is this possible?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:29 AM

Yes it is possible. Rabbit Ears have been doing it for the last 30 years.

A lot depends on your circumstances,how far are you from the broadcast towers, are they VHF or UHF channels, what quality indoor antenna are you looking at using? Construction of the home makes a difference steel or concrete have more resistance to radio waves passing through than wood or glass.

#3 ONLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,974 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:56 AM

I love this answer. Having to explain rabbit ears.:)

#4 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:15 AM

I love this answer. Having to explain rabbit ears.:)

westview asked the question????????

#5 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:23 AM

To see what type of antenna you may need you can check:

tvfool.com or antennaweb.org

#6 ONLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,974 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 22 December 2012 - 09:56 AM

westview asked the question????????


I can imagine someday our grand children trying to explain DVRS.

#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,266 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 December 2012 - 03:19 PM

He might be talking about one of the converter tuner boxes. Yes, I know calling it an "antenna" is incorrect but it does help tune local channels and subchannels on TV sets that were not designed for ATSC OTA reception (digital television).

#8 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 611 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 22 December 2012 - 05:29 PM

Perhaps he's talking about a DISH box that accepts an OTA input...& not an optional add-on.

#9 OFFLINE   westview

westview

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:50 AM

He says he has no antenna. This works as antenna and brings in the local stations including the sub channels.

#10 ONLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:55 AM

Pictures and/or links ?
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#11 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 735 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:50 PM

Pictures and/or links ?

Sure.


image-3903367167.jpg
VHF Antenna


image-3027083678.jpg
UHF Antenna

image-1811681741.jpg
Amplifier & UHF/VHF combiner


OTA Module for a 722k:
http://www.solidsign...ku=753960010601



image-2306095720.jpg

OTA Locals integrated into the guide and no worries if a local is dropped. They do take away the guide data for dropped locals, but If they drop my Baltimore locals, I still will get guide data and good signals from the DC locals.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#12 ONLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 23 December 2012 - 05:05 PM

I was refering to the OP
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#13 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 735 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 23 December 2012 - 06:26 PM

I was refering to the OP


I happened to be up in my attic and wanted to try posting pictures from my iPhone. My VHF antenna must be really old (it came with the house), but with new coax, it still pulls in the channels.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#14 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 613 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:10 AM

He says he has no antenna. This works as antenna and brings in the local stations including the sub channels.


If I read your original post right, you're not asking about using a Dish receiver for a tuner, but rather the TV's internal tuner. The "box" you refer to is probably an indoor antenna.

Depending on your distance to the transmitting tower, your elevation, and obstacles that may be between you and the transmitter, it is possible to receive television signals with no subscription. Typically, this will include ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox and PBS in HD. If the stations multicast (broadcast more than one virtual channel on one physical channel), then it is also possible to receive all sub channels as well.

I would search Amazon for a Leaf Paper-Thin Antenna and try one out. If it doesn't work for you, you're out a few bucks return shipping.

#15 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 735 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:48 AM

Actually, you should go to antennaweb.com or tvfool.com. They will give you an idea of what kind of antenna you need to get the stations you want.

Also, I would assume that the OP would want to integrate OTA with his Dish receiver. It would allow him to record OTA on his DVR and seamlessly switch between OTA and satellite.

If you have a 722, there is already an OTA tuner included, you just need to plug in an antenna. If you have a 722k, see the link in my post above to the OTA module. If you have the Hopper, there is a USB dongle that you can buy to add OTA.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#16 OFFLINE   ls1dreams

ls1dreams

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2012

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:28 PM

How many channels do most people manage with a small indoor antenna?

#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,266 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:33 PM

How many channels do most people manage with a small indoor antenna?

Location location location. It all depends on where you are and where the towers are.

The indoor antenna adds a handicap to the challenge of receiving signals.

#18 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:23 AM

How many channels do most people manage with a small indoor antenna?


I live quite a distance from my local towers and very hilly terrain, I wouldn't get many if any by using an indoor antenna.

#19 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 881 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:22 AM

How many channels do most people manage with a small indoor antenna?

With a small indoor antenna I get one (1) channel.
With an attic antenna I get five or six depending on the weather.

Was that helpful?:grin:

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...