Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is hopper a dual tuner unit...........


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 335 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:10 PM

just wondering if there was some way to feed other tv's a different program with the hopper, like you can with the 722?

********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,154 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:52 PM

yes, its called a Joey
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,505 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:54 PM

The Hopper has 3 SAT tuners... and now supports an add-on USB OTA tuner for a fourth tuner of OTA all at the same time.

Other rooms are supported via Joeys that link to the Hopper and use its tuners.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#4 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 22 December 2012 - 10:36 PM

A key difference is that feeding a second TV with a Hopper is not free like it is with a 722. However, for the added cost of a Joey, at least you get HD and expandability beyond 2 TV's.

#5 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 589 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 05:25 AM

With the Slingbox adapter, you can watch a second tuner in a different location without an additional monthly fee.

#6 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 521 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:47 AM

just wondering if there was some way to feed other tv's a different program with the hopper, like you can with the 722?


The 722 feed to other TVs is SD. It is industry standard that if you want independent HD viewing on another TV, you are going to pay for another box (or a mirroring fee for an RVU TV).

#7 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 335 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 23 December 2012 - 03:23 PM

With the Slingbox adapter, you can watch a second tuner in a different location without an additional monthly fee.


how does this function? I have a tv upstairs that is seldom used. I would like to be able to acess the Dish programming, but it is not worth paying a monthly fee for tv that is used once or twice a year. Would the sling accomplish this? Is it wireless?

Edited by bnewt, 24 December 2012 - 03:29 PM.

********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#8 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 23 December 2012 - 03:56 PM

No, it allows you to view tuners and recording via smart phones and computers. It could work if the tv can be connected as a monitor.

#9 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 589 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:44 PM

The Slingbox adapter connects to your network-connected Hopper via a USB port. You can then access recordings or channels on your Hopper (note: not channels received OTA with the OTA USB adapter, nor recordings made by the OTA tuner) and watch them remotely using a smartphone, tablet, or computer. Note that the smartphone, tablet, or computer will require an Internet connection, and it really helps the speed if they're on the same local network. Then you surf to DishOnline or use the Dish Remote Access App, select your DVR and watch your recordings or live TV.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 December 2012 - 06:33 PM

Sling Catcher someone ?

#11 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:09 PM

I've attempted to use 3 "Sling Catchers" in the past and had no luck with any of them. In my opinion those were less than sub par and I'm glad that was scrapped.

#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 December 2012 - 12:46 AM

may I get one from you to test ?




spam firewall