Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

swm16/swm8 power inserter


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:03 AM

Is the power inserter the same for the SWM-16 Multiswitch and the SWM-8 Multiswitch. both are 29 volts and there are not part # to tell them apart that I can find. Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:06 AM

The 29 volt should be fine.
It's the 21 volt that doesn't have the wattage.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:15 AM

Thanks All I have to do is replace the SWM 8 with the 16

#4 OFFLINE   jcthomas

jcthomas

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2004

Posted 01 August 2013 - 10:56 AM

VOS.  My 29 volt power inserter failed (blinking green led) for my SEM16 and DirecTv sent me the 21volt replacement.  Their tech department says that the 21volt will work "just fine".  From your reply above I gather that they are incorrect as the voltage and watage are too low.  Will the 21volt work untill I can find a 29 vlot part?

 

I just got off of the phone with DirecTV and they claim the do not use the 29 volt power inserter any more

 

Regards



#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 August 2013 - 11:39 AM

VOS.  My 29 volt power inserter failed (blinking green led) for my SEM16 and DirecTv sent me the 21volt replacement.  Their tech department says that the 21volt will work "just fine".  From your reply above I gather that they are incorrect as the voltage and watage are too low.  Will the 21volt work untill I can find a 29 vlot part?

 

I just got off of the phone with DirecTV and they claim the do not use the 29 volt power inserter any more

 

Regards

They got it half right.

It's the 21 volt they don't use anymore.

The new 29 volt now looks like the old 21 volt.

No one has ever had a 29 volt "not work", while some have had problems with the 21 volt.


A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   jcthomas

jcthomas

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2004

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:00 PM

Thank you VOS.  The  part that DirecTV sent to me as a replacement for my 29volt failed PI is a 21 volt/25.2W output according to the lable on the part.  Do you think itwould be ok to try until I can obtain the 29 volt/40.5W power inserter?

 

Regards.



#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:05 PM

double thread?

 

anyway - check the thread http://www.dbstalk.c...-2#entry3112350



#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:08 PM

They got it half right.
It's the 21 volt they don't use anymore.

not sure where this came from, but the 21v is used everyday for the SWM LNBs
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:10 PM

VOS. My 29 volt power inserter failed (blinking green led) for my SEM16 and DirecTv sent me the 21volt replacement. Their tech department says that the 21volt will work "just fine". From your reply above I gather that they are incorrect as the voltage and watage are too low. Will the 21volt work untill I can find a 29 vlot part?

I just got off of the phone with DirecTV and they claim the do not use the 29 volt power inserter any more

Regards

Blinking LED does not necessarily means the PI failed. there can be a short somewhere in the cable feeding the PI or a bad LNB as well. you can test the output of the PI with a multi meter or using the old school method, using your tongue
  • joeyz likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:35 PM

Blinking LED does not necessarily means the PI failed. there can be a short somewhere in the cable feeding the PI or a bad LNB as well. you can test the output of the PI with a multi meter or using the old school method, using your tongue

do I smell roast-beef ? :D



#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:41 PM

do I smell roast-beef ? :D

I do it sometimes when I forget which lines has the PI and do not want to go to my truck and get the meter. it feels just a little bit like a 9v battery
  • supermod38 and joeyz like this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall