Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help Getting Internet Reconnected


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:24 AM

No need to apologize. You've helped me more than DTV tech support.

It has my receiver number and
Internet: Never connected

Which us not true. It was, it stopped working.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:27 AM

Okay, so you have two coax cables going to each DVR, correct?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#23 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:30 AM

Nope. Just 1.

#24 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,484 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:33 AM

Do you have a laptop or a way to use the same cable (cat5) that is connected to the receiver to your PC?

If so Connect it and can you surf the internet?

If Yes-

Then rj45 port on the Receiver is DOA
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#25 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:04 AM

Do you have a laptop or a way to use the same cable (cat5) that is connected to the receiver to your PC?

If so Connect it and can you surf the internet?

If Yes-

Then rj45 port on the Receiver is DOA


Always a possibility, but the chances of the Ethernet port going bad is pretty slim.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#26 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:07 AM

Nope. Just 1.


Can you hit the DASH button on the other DVR and see if it says anything about SWiM being connected?

Also, when the CCK is powered on, what lights are lit on it? The Power and Activity lights should be green.

Next, can you swap out the Ethernet cable from the CCK to the DVR with a different one?

Lastly, another way to test if the Ethernet port is bad (which I will admit is always a possibility, however, slim) on this receiver would be to connect the CCK to your other DVR. If you do that, disconnect the Ethernet cable from that DVR and reset the Network Settings. Then power up the CCK and connect the Ethernet cable from the CCK to the other DVR. You should get an on-screen prompt that a wireless adapter has been detected.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#27 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,484 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:16 AM

Always a possibility, but the chances of the Ethernet port going bad is pretty slim.

- Merg


Just another test
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#28 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:17 AM

When i hit the dash on the other unit it says internet connected. No mention of SWiM

The CCK has the following lights on: Power, WLan and Activity (which blinks periodically).

To change out the cables I'll have to wait until the kids are over. All of th sis in a wall unit and it is almost impossible to get to all of the connections. easily

Merg - - - thanks very much for your help.

#29 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:30 AM

Just another test


True. :)

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#30 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:31 AM

When i hit the dash on the other unit it says internet connected. No mention of SWiM

The CCK has the following lights on: Power, WLan and Activity (which blinks periodically).

To change out the cables I'll have to wait until the kids are over. All of th sis in a wall unit and it is almost impossible to get to all of the connections. easily

Merg - - - thanks very much for your help.


You do have use of both tuners on each DVR, correct? Basically, you can record one thing and watch a second thing.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#31 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:56 AM

Yes. Both tuners are functional.

#32 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:02 PM

Yes. Both tuners are functional.


Not quite sure why the receiver is not indicating that you have SWM connected then.

Anyways, your next best test is to move the CCK to the wired DVR and see if it works there. You can also see if you can run a long ethernet cable from your router to the currently wireless receiver and after resetting Network Settings seeing if the wireless receiver (now wired) will connect.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#33 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:18 PM

To be honest this technology passed be by a few years ago. It used to be single coax into a receiver and you were done. Now I have the Zinwell WB68 feeding all the rooms but to the best of my knowledge, that's all I have other than the dish.

Again, thanks for trying to help me out. It is much appreciated.

#34 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:34 PM

To be honest this technology passed be by a few years ago. It used to be single coax into a receiver and you were done. Now I have the Zinwell WB68 feeding all the rooms but to the best of my knowledge, that's all I have other than the dish.

Again, thanks for trying to help me out. It is much appreciated.


Okay, if you have a WB68, you are not on SWiM, which means that you need two coax cables to each DVR to have full functionality with the DVRs. How many cables are coming from the dish into your house?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#35 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 04:59 PM

OK . . .there are 4 cables going into the WB68 and 8 out. There is one cable going to each HR21. We can record 2 programs and watch a third recorded program at once. Not sure what dvr functions I'm missing?

#36 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:11 PM

Where do all the 8 cables go? With your setup, you should require 2 cables to each DVR to use both tuners at the same time. Do you have BBC adapters attached to the back of your DVRs?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#37 OFFLINE   cawras

cawras

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 28 December 2012 - 08:04 AM

The 8 cables go to various rooms in the house. When we had the house built we weren't sure where things were going to be so we had a few extra installed.

I do have bbc adapters on each of the receivers.

#38 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,621 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:15 PM

I do have bbc adapters on each of the receivers.

Then this isn't true:

There is one cable going to each HR21. We can record 2 programs and watch a third recorded program at once.


A.K.A VOS

#39 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:25 PM

My thoughts too... Hence, my additional questions to determine the setup.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#40 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,621 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:30 PM

BBC:

Posted Image

DECA installed on a SWiM system:

http://www.dbstalk.c...77&d=1279075740
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall